We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in phnom penh!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in phnom penh!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I have visited phnom penh twice, and this was the 4th hostel I've stayed in, and definitely the best!!! Slightly pricey menu etc, but great accommodation, clean and spacious, and the staff are fantastic!! Great fun and helpful too!! Will definitely go back next time I'm there!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your awesome review - thanks again. It was awesome to have you here, we wish you the very best on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    386
    134
    47
    26
See reviews for
15
242
427
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

For our first night in Phnom Penh, the rooms, restaurant, and bar were all a great way to start our trip. The ~10-20 page booklet provided about Phnom Penh and Cambodia was an EXCELLENT primer.

Hostel is easy to find among Tuk Tuk drivers but a little far from the Royal Palace and where we decided to spend our time. So be prepared to spend money on Tuk Tuks if your of the same preference. As a bonus, because of Mad Monkey's popularity, we never had a problem getting to and from this location.

Check-in was easy and straightforward. Glad to know that we were contributing to the livelihood of people that came from under privileged backgrounds.However, I found the morning staff to be excellent, but evening staff to be a little less helpful and even confusing to speak to.

Rooms were decently priced and clean. My group booked two evenings in a double and weren't disappointed. Towels and hot water in a clean bathroom. This hostel is split into two locations, one has the restaurant and rooftop bar, the other has the checkin area, patio, pool table and lounge. We stayed in the location where you check in. No evening noise here.

I stayed at only two places in Phnom Penh, the Mad Monkey being first. I realized after I left the Mad Monkey, that the second establishment suited my group better. If you're looking for a great place to get cheap drinks and party the night away, book here. (you can always ask for a room not in the restaurant location and be ok).

Room Tip: Seems like all dorms were in the restaurant building where the party goes till 11. All smaller rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to meeting you again soon, you were an awesome guest and you will always be welcome here. Thanks so much for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

After traveling through asia for four months, coming across the mad Monkey, walking into their restaurant and being greeted by the happiest and welcoming staff I have ever met and the service they provide is amazing, lockers under the dorm beds, great food. Very professional Hostel and I recommend eating the Chicken Wrapped in Bacon. OMG! Amazing. After having a dinner downstairs, you can head up to the rooftop sunset bar where drinks are reasonably priced. There is a Kiwi white guy behind the bar that is always willing to take you out after the bar shuts. Beerpong + Cocktail Teapot + Bazooka = an amazing night

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemthomas91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your awesome review - thanks again. It was awesome to have you here, we wish you the very best on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

I have to say the the room at Mad Monkey was nice and clean and although the bed was riddled with bad springs it was a comfortable space. Be prepared to have the young backpacker crowd drinking up until last call at the upstairs bar and playing beer pong raucously. What really got to me at the end of the day was that they booked us a bus to Battambang and charged us $9 and when we got to the bus departure point the sign clearly said 22,000r or and $5.25. I don't mind paying a slight convenience fee for booking with a hostel but nearly doubling in price is absurd. Makes me wonder about some of their other practices like the signs telling you how much you should give a tuk tuk driver that sits outside their lobby. Overall clean place but be prepared to party late with the badly tattooed masses.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thanks for your review. We do listen to unhappy customers, we are a party hostel - it does state that everywhere to be 100% transparent. The tour issue I have sent you an email to define exactly what the problem was, if you were overcharged for any reason we will ensure you get the money back. 95% of our guests have an awesome time here, we are pleased you did enjoy your stay in general, we have listened to your feedback and I will ensure we implement improvements. Kind Regards

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is absolutely the place to go if you want to meet people and party all night long. If you are looking to relax and get a good night's sleep, it probably it best to find somewhere quieter.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and many of them have a good sense of humour. The restaurant is fairly good if a little pricey, but there isn't much of an alternative in the area.

The party takes place every night in the sunset bar, with groups playing beer pong and other drinking games.The people who come here are up for a party, which means it's always lively, and heavy. The party in the hostel stops at 11 and then people who want to continue move along to the next place.

Overall, would definitely recommend if you like to party.

Room Tip: Try and get in the side that doesn't have the bar as it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear customer,

Thanks for your review, we make it very clear everywhere that we are a party hostel, when you have a lot of young people from 18 to 35 meeting up then ideally they want to meet each other, have fun, get a little loose and friendly with each other and have an awesome time. We are pleased you had an awesome time. Thanks for your review.

Love you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWB
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

The staff was awesome and always willing to help you. The dorm was clean and with A.C./hot water. However the jungle dorm gets loud at night bc right next to bar. But i was going out anyways. The sunset bar tenders had no idea of what the specials were for night. On one occasion there were flyers down stairs saying "Saturday night party" free beer at 7 untill keg was empty. There was no free beer. Next night $2.50 long islands. Got charged $3.50. But after being told and convincing with the flyer, they gave me a free beer. They should know. When the bar closes they take you to this next bar that is very over priced and frankly quite boring. "Banana Top" Food and drinks are over priced at the hostel and its not worth the price. The worst hostel I have stayed in while in Cambodia.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank juschill1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
I am sorry unlike most of our guests you didn't have an awesome time. We have listened to everything you have said in your review, thanks again - Sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. Sometimes you cant get it 100% correct, I can only assure you that we will implement changes based on your recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
327 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

One thing I love about Cambodia is all the socially conscious businesses that donate a portion of their profits to various charities. The Mad Monkey is one such socially responsible establishment, which is why I decided to stay at both their hostels in Phnom Penh and Siem Reap. If by booking somewhere you can do some good, I figured that I couldn't really go wrong.

Due to the vagaries of traveling around Cambodia, I was forced to stay three time at the Mad Monkey in Phnom Penh in two weeks and I can vouch for the fact that it's a terrific hostel!

The location is not perfect, but it is close to one of the popular bar districts and there are plenty of restaurants, coffee shops, etc, within walking distance. A tuk-tuk to/from the bus station, the riverfront, and some of the local tourist attractions should set you back about 2$ or 3$ per trip.

The Mad Monkey has its own restaurant, which is very nice in and of itself and the staff is great. Menu options are many and varied, most of it Western. It's a bit more expensive than what you can get elsewhere around the hostel, but the food is tasty and the portions are generous. Especially the breakfast options.

During my first stay, I booked a Deluxe private room (room 5). It's vast, comfortable, with a queen-size bed, a work desk, and a beautiful bathroom. The second time around, I was in a standard private room (room 4). This one was much smaller in size, with an ordinary bathroom. For my last stay, I booked another standard private room (room 7), which was much bigger than room 4 and even had an actual bath in the bathroom. However, this last room was located right next to the rooftop sunset bar, so it is quite noisy for the better part of the day and night.

Unlike its sister hostel in Siem Reap, where management doesn't give a damn about the quality of sleep of their guests, at the Mad Monkey in Phnom Penh it is possible to get a good night's sleep. In Phnom Penh, the sunset bar closes its doors at 11:00pm and revelers are taken by tuk-tuk free of charge to a nearby bar to continue the party. Which allows guests who would like to sleep to do so, while ensuring that party people can continue to have fun for the rest of the night. If that's not respect, I don't know what is. So by the time 11:30pm rolls by, usually things have become quiet enough.

The staff was friendly and helpful. They were always there to answer your questions, or book a tour of a bus ticket for you. Again, the Mad Monkey does a lot for its employees, providing education, health insurance, above average income, etc. They also have their own tuk-tuk drivers, which means that you never have to negotiate and fear that you'll get screwed.

All in all, if you are looking for a hostel with a cool vibe, a great atmosphere, and nice staff, then the Mad Monkey is definitely where you should book!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, it really is appreciated and we would like to thank you again for staying with us. Have an awesome trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.8 mi away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#6 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.9 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.0 mi away
Billabong Hotel & Hostel
Billabong Hotel & Hostel
#3 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lovely Jubbly Villa
Lovely Jubbly Villa
#19 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Envoy Hostel and Tours
#5 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Top Banana Guesthouse
Top Banana Guesthouse
#8 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Property: Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
Address: Street 302, Building 26, Phnom Penh BKK1, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mad Monkey Phnom Penh - the original Mad Monkey! This is the best place to meet people and experience Phnom Penh. We can help you arrange tours, travel, visas, you name it. We're also the perfect home base for your adventures. Relax by our refreshing swimming pool (a must in the Cambodian heat) and enjoy our poolside bar. Eat a filling and delicious meal in our restaurant with new backpacker friends from around the world. Upstairs in our Rooftop Bar we have new events on every night of the week. We can't wait to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mad Monkey Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing