We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Had a room just a few steps away from the bar. While it was very convenient, it can get a little rowdy at night if you go to bed early.

Big double bed + private bathroom, Equipped with A/C, water heater. Clean and comfortable. Decent WiFi connection even in room.

Good food & beer. Very helpful staff. Overall, I would love to stay there again if I'm going Cambodia next time. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Boom Boom :-) It was fantastic to have you here, you enjoy your next adventure and we shall see you again soon we hope :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    386
    134
    47
    26
See reviews for
15
242
427
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here and after reading the previous reviews I was expecting a little more. I think the place has become to big for it's boots. It's a good place to go if you are a young traveller and not comfortable stepping out of the 'backpacker scene'. But I reckon most travellers would find it wanting in more then just tacky pub crawls and a place where you don't have to venture out of the building for food and a beer.

The food is a bit overpriced and although the staff were friendly, they weren't overly helpful. We asked where a restaurant was - it was literally around the corner and in many popular guide books - but it felt like the staff acted like they didn't know where it was and were very dismissive (most likely to get us to spend our money at their restaurant).
The rooftop bar is nice to have but we found it to not much of an atmosphere.

Good for a brief stay; it's clean, it has all the amenities you'd need and easy for young travellers, but not the best I've been.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryzer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for the positive elements of your review. The "Tacky Pubcrawls" as posted all around the hostel actually fund a total of 7 children to attend School. The Mad Monkey does not make money from this, it funds education for kids from desperately poor backgrounds. Obviously with your extreme amount of travel to all four of your existing destinations you were probably caught up in your per-conceptions rather than reality and hence thought of it as "Tacky". Also we should point out that it is certainly not as tacky as trying to bring back prostitutes to the room. Keep it "Real" and thanks again for the positive elements of your review.

Regards

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

It's secure, facilities are great, especially the old mansion wing with great big beds and marble interior. English owners and seem to be helping locals out with secure jobs.

The restaurant I thought was a little overpriced in comparison to the other local restaurants that had higher quality for cheaper. I would say almost double on some dishes esp the western ones. I would say try to get out there and sample the local restaurants which many are excellent, try friends near the river for a wow experience and still good value. Having said that it's well set up with wifi and convenient.

The hostel is also a bit out of the way from the sights so bear in mind the tuk tuks add up which that money could be spent on accommodation near the river unless you just stay and eat at mad monkey the whole time which what people there seemed to do.

Still it's safe secure and the staff are friendly so it's still a good place esp if you're a nervous solo traveller.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stereo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
It was great to have you and your party as our guests, thank you so much for choosing us as your hostel - you were an awesome guest, we hope we see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

After staying at the mad monkey in siem reap (which was amazing!!) we werent sure if phnom penh mm would be as good however we had an amazing time! The staff are so nice and friendly, you can tell they love their job. The rooftop bar is great with perfect views of the sunset. Its really cheap ad closes at 11pm but the staff arranged a free tuk tuk for an after party about 10 mins away, they even came out with us and we spent the night with them which was fun... the hangover the next day was not so fun! The food is absolutely beautiful, really good quality for the price you pay, we ate there alot. The big mac burger and wraps are unreal. Overall, both mad monkeys are the best places we have stayed in after travelling se asia for 2 month. Thanks for making our trip in Cambodia the best. And ending this part of our travells on a high for us! Everyone should stay in these hostels.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dom_and_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest - I am so pleased you found time to write this awesome review - thanks again for staying here and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future we hope :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Arrived at the hostel in the afternoon and was greeted by very friendly and helpful receptionists. Check-in was easy and one of the staff members followed us to our room.

The room was simple but had all the necessities that were stated on the website. No complaints about the room.(Note that this was a private double room and not one of the dorms. I have no idea how the dorms look like and have not experienced them).

As there isn't really that much to do in Phnom Penh during the night (and I was there during the end of raining season) I mostly spent my two nights at mad monkey's own bar. Alcohol is cheap and the mood of the bar is really nice, whether you want to meet new people over a game of beer pong or just chill by the bar.

If you want to go to a place like Royal Palace, the tuk-tuk might be better since walking to the palace might take you about fifteen minutes and some running through outrageous traffic. Tuk-tuks offer good prices after some TINY amounts of haggling. Please, don't be excessive on the haggling. The people are just trying to get by and I know, from my own experiences with these drivers, that every cent counts for them.

I urge everyone to try out the restaurant at least once. The food isn't that much more expensive than a local restaurant and it's really tasty. I really enjoyed the chicken fried with ginger.

If I come back to Phnom Penh, I will definitely come back to Mad Monkey.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miran90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for a really cool review! We had a great time hanging out with you here - thanks for taking the time to jot down your positive comments! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Mad Monkey is definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed in. The rooms were clean, as were the facilities, and the food amazing. The best bit though was by far the staff, who were such beautiful people - always so friendly and a lot of fun! The hostel also has a great bar area with a pool table, perfect to meet other travellers over a glass of Cambodia.

Room Tip: We had booked a private room with ensuite but ended up sharing a bathroom. No big deal for us, but m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsKatiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Well we were delighted to host you! We love cool guests that enjoy their stay here - 95% of our guests have a great time so i am ecstatic that you are in the majority! Have a fab trip around Asia ! Take care and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Mad Monkey for 3 days in October 2013. Located a bit away from the hustle and bustle down on the river front, however it is still accommodation with a lot of life - targets younger backpacks looking for a good social time. Travelled alone and stayed in a double room with shared bathroom - typical toilet/shower combo you find in cheaper accom. throughout Asia. Room was cleaned daily (towel replaced, bed made), however it was located up a steep flight of stairs above the "rooftop" bar. Don't let this deter you as the bar called last drinks at 10.30 and was cleared out by 11pm, when everyone started the nightly pub crawl. You can walk to all the major attractions in Phnom Penh from Mad Monkey, all but the "Killing Fields". Staff at check-in and the restaurant below the accommodation are all really friendly, bubbly, willing to help and have great English. The food selection is reasonable for off-street dining and is well priced. There are a few good restaurants/cafes nearby - have a look at the Lonely Planet. Would I stay again - definitely. The bar is a great place to trade travel stories and plan your next destination. The check-in staff can also book you on a selection of tours or buses for your onward journey.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank CTGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
What a gem of a review! I think you put 3 stars by mistake :-) Good people have a good time here and you were a fantastic guest! Thanks again and we really hope you enjoy your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.8 mi away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#6 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.9 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.0 mi away
Billabong Hotel & Hostel
Billabong Hotel & Hostel
#3 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lovely Jubbly Villa
Lovely Jubbly Villa
#19 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Envoy Hostel and Tours
#5 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Top Banana Guesthouse
Top Banana Guesthouse
#8 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Property: Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
Address: Street 302, Building 26, Phnom Penh BKK1, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mad Monkey Phnom Penh - the original Mad Monkey! This is the best place to meet people and experience Phnom Penh. We can help you arrange tours, travel, visas, you name it. We're also the perfect home base for your adventures. Relax by our refreshing swimming pool (a must in the Cambodian heat) and enjoy our poolside bar. Eat a filling and delicious meal in our restaurant with new backpacker friends from around the world. Upstairs in our Rooftop Bar we have new events on every night of the week. We can't wait to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mad Monkey Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing