We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
Nearby Hotels
$78
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$207
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
$174
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$77
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Mekong Hotel(Phnom Penh)
$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pavilion(Phnom Penh)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TeaHouse(Phnom Penh)
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue Lime(Phnom Penh)
$40
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$30
$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,685)
Filter reviews
1,685 results
Traveler rating
1,034
420
146
55
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,034
420
146
55
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barpub crawlprivate roombeer pongdrinking gamesfree beerbar closesa great place to meettuk tukbed dormshared bathroomkilling fieldswestern foodair conclean roomsstayed here for nightstop floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,468 - 1,473 of 1,685 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in the dorm of The Mad Monkey for 2 days. The dorms are lovely! each bed has its own plug and light and ours had a balcony. Other rooms were being done up and the bed wasn't too bad! The staff were great and helped me no matter how many questions i repeated, needed help on, they sorted my bus to Siem Reap and told me how to get to places. It was really lovely how they stretched the theme of 'monkey' throughout the whole hostel making it seem one big household rather than a hotel. I didn't have a padlock (needed!) but evenso this hostel gave a really safe feeling and others and I felt really safe and left are bags on our beds!

At the time of my visit the King had just died, so everything was basically closed. But even so the vibe was great and the hostel was in walking distance to just about anything! including the independence monument, S21, royal palace, national museum etc. The food is also amazing if like me you've lived off Asian food too long. If Asian food is still your thing though there are plenty of shops nearby and the night market was $2 dollars away!

I did find it a little hard to make friends there with other travellers as a lot of people tend to live there for a couple of months. This was good in a way as you stay with people that really know the city, but in another way you can't expect to make plans to go somewhere else, but that could happen anywhere i guess!

I did the quadbike tour, really recommend it for sight seeing the outer regions of Phnom phen:)

Overall the Mad Monkey is deffo worth a visit! and im sure if there wasn't a royal complication the bar would have been a lot more lively! (Siem Reap was booked out when i was there!)

Recommended!

:)

Room Tip: lie on the bed before you pick it! (some mattresses can be springed out!).
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonomara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

In 7 years of backpacking i have never stayed in such a place as the mad monkey...
heres why...

the staff: Friendly, more than helpful, always smiling, funny and a great knowledge of the city
the food: better mashed potato than my nan of 80 years can make (she has mashers elbow) a wide selection of fairly priced yet excellently presented western and local cuisine, the restaurant is comfortable and the bar well stocked
cleanliness: more than just spit spot! the place is immaculate, the cleaners change bed sheets every day with a nicely folded fresh towel, you could eat off the floors though morals may not let you, i did!
location: central, walking distance from everything worth doing, a short tuk tuk to the riverside $2 cost, in a beautiful safe and secure street with night time security guard,
Rooms: i stayed at the MM PP for 4 months, during that time ive slept in most the rooms, the bar and the office (drunk) the rooms are spacious, light and airy, A/C fans hot showers some even have bath tubs. fairly priced for what you get! room 5 is beautifully decorated with wall art and a clean minimalistic industrial design, IDEAL FOR COUPLES otherwise any room would suffice
Bar: great choice of well mixed cocktails that get you pretty drunk, It closes at 11 so as to not upset the neighbours or guests, they have LOVE bar in town on street 51 voted top cocktail bar in PP (try the nutty job)
Owners : friendly helpful caring and really take care of the staff, good lads from england, they donate lots of money for 'a new day' which is an organisation helping less advantaged cambodians from all backgrounds,

the staff in general are well paid, get health care even hourly pay, they enjoy working there. when you meet them youll see what i mean.

im looking forward to getting back there next year

every day i came in i was greeted with a friendly hello how are you, they know you by name within a day and make you feel at home

i seriously would have to rack my brain to find a minor fault with the place

it even has fantastic wall art in the corridors

bus tickets can be booked at reception, as can visa's and local tours do the cycle tour round the city!

to be fair theres too much good to mention...... go there yourself and you will see!!!

THANK YOU TO THE ENTIRE MONKEY FAMILY!!!

YOU MADE MY CAMBODIAN EXPERIENCE!!!

L

Room Tip: ROOM 5 is newly furnished BOOK it
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leechippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in one of the private double rooms, it was clean, cheap and incredibly comfortable. The food and wine was the best we've had in a long time and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The owners of mad monkey went out of their way to make our stay a good one! I never get round to writing reviews normally but this one I couldn't forget, this was the best value for money we've had and I couldn't recommend it more highly 

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyDCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I loved the Mad Monkey! Great food, crazy staff, lovely dorms. I met a lot of nice people during my stay. The rooftop bar is great. They booked a really good bus for me as well, couldn't be happier. Location was all right, a bit far from the center but still walking distance to the palace.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank agnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Friendly staff, good food and service. Air conditioner wasn't great though and the room was above the bar so could be noisy. Location was OK. Great place to meet fellow travelers........................................

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJoH184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews