We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay but very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We only stayed one night but straight away you could tell they have a great group (front of house and kitchen). Both our meals were nice cocktails were great, prices for food and the rooms are more than fair though the rooms are basic, we will definitely look to stay again when we're back in PP in a couple of wks

Stayed: April 2012
Thank magoo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Manager at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you for your review, it really helps us and is much appreciated. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at The Mad Monkey and we are looking forward to hosting you again. Have a great time on your travels! Love from the team at The Mad Monkey! xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,430 - 1,436 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had this spot recommended to us by friends. We managed to book online before turning up and it seemed well known amongst tuk-tuk drivers. The lobby/restaurant/bar area had a great vibe and the staff were so sweet and friendly. Our room was quite small with no window. The bathroom was sufficient but smelt pretty funky.

When we checked out the price we paid was more than online as we stayed an extra night.

Food was good and wel priced. Would stay again but check on prices before hand.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacjosh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Manager at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you for your review, it really helps us and is much appreciated. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at The Mad Monkey and we are looking forward to hosting you again. Have a great time on your travels! Love from the team at The Mad Monkey! xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

What an awesome place to stay, you feel really welcome from the minut you walk in. The staff was really friendly and not in a fake way! The restaurant had a good menu, with a bit of everything, we ate there everyday as the food was really good and also the price. Also you feel safe walking outside at night, as this is a good neighbour hood.:-)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lineussing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Manager at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you for your review, it really helps us and is much appreciated. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at The Mad Monkey and we are looking forward to hosting you again. Have a great time on your travels! Love from the team at The Mad Monkey! xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at mad monkey guesthouse for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. On arrival we were met by the manager and staff, and offered top service. The staff was so helpfull and charming. Carried our luggage (not typical for a hostel), the room was nice and pretty basic, but very clean.
After settling in the room, we went to the resturant. And I have to say, this is the best food i have had on my 3 month trip. Delicious, big portions, and very delicat. Affordable to.
My best stay. Please try out the place, i wish them the best.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andersmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you for your review, it really helps us and is much appreciated. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at The Mad Monkey and we are looking forward to hosting you again. Have a great time on your travels! Love from the team at The Mad Monkey! xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This really was a great place. We ended up staying here twice during our time in Cambodia, both times our rooms were nice and big, and the ensuite bathroom was clean. The only slight issue with the rooms was that they were a bit dimly lit. The restaurant area was very nice, and comfortable to hang out in. One of the best things about the hostel was the food – it was a bit more expensive than what we had been used to but it really was delicious (they also had a good supply of HP sauce at the ready). Because of this we didn’t mind that it was a bit away from the main backpacker area because the best food was right here. There were several tuk tuks that worked with the hostel always waiting outside that could take us around the city or to the killing fields etc and their prices were fixed and advertised within the guesthouse. We had no problem at all booking bus tickets through the hostel. The staff were great and welcomed us back like old friends when we turned up for the second time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Manager at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you for your review, it really helps us and is much appreciated. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at The Mad Monkey and we are looking forward to hosting you again. Have a great time on your travels! Love from the team at The Mad Monkey! xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

From the moment we walked in and were met by the most amazing staff in Cambodia we knew we were onto something good.After being checked in by the ever vivacious Tina,we were shown to our room.We had chosen to stay in a 6 bed dorm and upon entering found it to be spotless.The beds were big and comfy and the sheets were crisp and clean.We dumped our packs and headed back to the bar where the staff were actually interested in what we had planned for our visit and were more than willing to help anyway they could.
Sam Orn,one of the tuk tuk drivers out front,was straight up with his prices for a trip to S21 and The killing Fields and his english was good (unlike the driver that picked us up at the airport).We organised a time for him to pick us up in the morning and when we came down for breakfast he was there patiently waiting for us.
That night we decided to have a few beers and a feed at the hostel,The beer was ice cold and cheap enough and the food,although it took a little time,was fantastic.Tom,one of the owners,walked past and introduced himself and after talking with him for a while we asked if he could organise a car for us to take us to Siem Reap.Not a problem.The next night we shared a few beers and laughs with Alex,one of the other owners,who made us feel very welcome in the chilled atmosphere of the bar.The free wifi through out the building enabled us to keep our family and friends up to date of our travels.
Great atmosphere,awesome staff,cold beer and fantastic food make this hostel one of the best I've stayed at in my travels through Asia. I personally think you would be hard pressed to find a better place to stay for this price in Phnom Penh.
A big thank you to all the staff at The Mad Monkey for making our stay in Phnom Penh so memorable and enjoyable.Will hopefully be seeing you again in June.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Manager at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you for your review, it really helps us and is much appreciated. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at The Mad Monkey and we are looking forward to hosting you again. Have a great time on your travels! Love from the team at The Mad Monkey! xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed for two nights at The Mad Mobkey and really glad we did because the staff were excellent and helped us so much with our Vietnam visa and travel plans, as well as hiring a very cheap motorbike for the day. The hostel has a very cool bar/cafe where you can eat/drink, and though it's not the cheapest it has a great vibe. The location seemed like it was in the middle of nowhere but you can walk to a main street where there are more restaurants etc. Cool murals on the wall too!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FleeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Manager at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you for your review, it really helps us and is much appreciated. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at The Mad Monkey and we are looking forward to hosting you again. Have a great time on your travels! Love from the team at The Mad Monkey! xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.9 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 257 in Phnom Penh
257 reviews
1 mi away
Billabong Hostel
Billabong Hostel
#3 of 257 in Phnom Penh
1,080 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#5 of 257 in Phnom Penh
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Top Banana Guesthouse
Top Banana Guesthouse
#7 of 257 in Phnom Penh
413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Base Villa
Base Villa
#10 of 257 in Phnom Penh
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Envoy Hostel and Tours
#6 of 257 in Phnom Penh
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Address: Street 302, Building 26, Phnom Penh BKK1, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 257 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $11 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mad Monkey Phnom Penh - the original Mad Monkey! This is the best place to meet people and experience Phnom Penh. We can help you arrange tours, travel, visas, you name it. We're also the perfect home base for your adventures. Relax by our refreshing swimming pool (a must in the Cambodian heat) and enjoy our poolside bar. Eat a filling and delicious meal in our restaurant with new backpacker friends from around the world. Upstairs in our Rooftop Bar we have new events on every night of the week. We can't wait to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mad Monkey Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing