We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cambodia's Best New Hostel 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2011

"Cambodia's Best New Hostel 2011" is not an official title, but the Mad Monkey is a strong contender. When I visited, I was shocked to find out that it had only been up and running 6 weeks.

The hostel is run by three friends from England, whom instantly make you feel like one of their pals. Relaxed and hospitable; willing to go the extra mile, demonstrating extremely good customer service.

The Mad monkey is is a smoothly run, clean, spacious and very friendly hostel with a quality atmosphere. The Mad Monkey manages to located itself within walking distance (or a cheap tuk-tuk if you're feeling lazy) of the buzz n clubs; while managing to keep itself in a quieter, more tranquil section of the city.

The design of the rooms, restaurant and bar is modern but comfortable, the food is delish, and the single beds are closer to that of double. The roof top bar hadn't been opened yet, but I took a sneak peek and it will definitely live up to the style the rest of the establishment has.

This is definitely a place to look out for. I've no doubt it'll be a top pick in lonely planet!!!

PS. Good prices!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yankeato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are looking forward to seeing you again! In 90% of cases its the guest that defines how much of a great time they have here and you were an awesome guest! Thanks so much - please do come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,489 - 1,495 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

Phnom Penh definitely has a new backpackers scene since the closure of Lakeside and that is the area of BKK1 near the Independence Monument. Street 278 has all the nightlife, while just a few blocks away on Street 302 is The Mad Monkey, brand new hostel, restaurant, and TWO bars. It has big rooms, nice comfy beds, even in the dorm (bunk beds! no mattresses on the floor), and great Western and Khmer food. The owners are suuuper friendly and will answer all your questions, though they are super busy, you just gotta stop 'em and have a friendly chat. The Khmer staff is one of my favorite things about the Mad Monkey, sooo friendly and funny. Can't wait for the upstairs bar to be completed along with a common room with a TV, I am definitely extending my stay to see it and party in the Sunset Bar on the top floor.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ericaangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Manager at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Thanks for the awesome review! We miss you! Love from Cambodia !

The Mad Monkey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Great place to stay in the capital whether on a budget as a backpacker like us or not. Clean room with hot shower and comfortable bed and i didnt get bitten once by a mosquito wich here is an achievment. As for the staff, i cant fault them. The guys that run the place are always around for help or tips and even carried our bags to our room and the locals that work there are possibly the smiliest people ive ever layed my eyes on.
Most days we had food here and everything is amazing! Breakfast try the fruit and home made muesli with yoghurt and honey or a Bacon and egg roll.

Room Tip: We stayed in both, dorm that slept 6 and a double room and there both great. The dorms are best i ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukeburgon1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

It was awesome to have you here and we really hope you come back to party with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed at the mad monkey a few weeks ago and had a great time. The room was clean, the staff were super friendly and the food was great. We were a bit disappointed however that they advertise the price of the rooms as including breakfast, but when we asked about it they looked at us like we were crazy. They also had a lot of promo deals advertised within the restaurant that were never followed through with. Other than that though, a nice place to stay and I would recommend it.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
Thank spop70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam293925, Manager at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thanks for your review guys it was awesome to have you here and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay!

Thanks for your feedback, we now make it clear on our website that the room rates do not include breakfast and that any offers promoted outside are also available to people staying in the rooms. I think you were here the first week after we opened so thanks for understanding whilst we got our team up to speed.

We hope you arrived back home safe! Thanks for staying with us!

Much Love

TEAM MONKEY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We arrived at MM having been unable to get a room at the better known Top Banana hostel, however we were far from disappointed.
The hostel has only been open 2 and a half weeks but seem like so much longer. The rooms were clean and spacious with a comfy double bed and large ensuite wet room.
The communal area/restaurant was lively, modern and clean and served outstanding food, both breakfast and dinner.
The staff were exceptional and the rates were equally brilliant. The complimentary wine and cheese party with the owner and chef in the restaurant/bar was a particular highlight, along with the 50cent happy hour beers.
Our only problem was that we only had 2 nights here - we'd highly recommend Mad Monkey.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andysmith96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevevaile, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear guest - it was truly awesome to have you as our guest. We wish you the very best of luck and happy travels around Asia. Our staff really loved you and your awesome sense of humor. Guests like you are one of the reasons we love doing this job. We love you - have an awesome journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I have been travelling across the far east for a little over a year now and a friend recommended that i stayed at the mad monkey whilst in Phnom Penh. Although the mad monkey has only just opened I have to say that this hostel beats any other accomodation i have stayed in hands down. If you want a warm and friendly welcome then this is then this is the place to go. Staff couldnt have been more helpfull and went out of their way to ensure that my stay was comfortable. My rooms was imaculate and furnished to a very high standard (i was told that all furnishings were locally sourced). The restaurant and bar had a great atmosphere, serving excellent food and even better cocktails, many a good night was had socialising with fellow travellers, locals and the mad monkey staff. If I ever make it back Phnom Penh I know where ill be staying. Faultless!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissB077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank neverstopexploring25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten M, Manager at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.9 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 257 in Phnom Penh
257 reviews
1 mi away
Billabong Hostel
Billabong Hostel
#3 of 257 in Phnom Penh
1,080 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#5 of 257 in Phnom Penh
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Top Banana Guesthouse
Top Banana Guesthouse
#7 of 257 in Phnom Penh
413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Base Villa
Base Villa
#10 of 257 in Phnom Penh
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Envoy Hostel and Tours
#6 of 257 in Phnom Penh
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Address: Street 302, Building 26, Phnom Penh BKK1, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 257 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $11 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mad Monkey Phnom Penh - the original Mad Monkey! This is the best place to meet people and experience Phnom Penh. We can help you arrange tours, travel, visas, you name it. We're also the perfect home base for your adventures. Relax by our refreshing swimming pool (a must in the Cambodian heat) and enjoy our poolside bar. Eat a filling and delicious meal in our restaurant with new backpacker friends from around the world. Upstairs in our Rooftop Bar we have new events on every night of the week. We can't wait to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mad Monkey Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing