We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some nice touches and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel
Ranked #92 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The entrance to this hotel is not so easily found and it is actually doesn't front onto the street but is inside behind the street-front buildings. However there is a lovely courtyard that keeps it bright and the decor is attractive and calming. The rooms are quite lovely, and they are spacious. The bathrooms are very unique!
The service is good, but we arrived back after heading out for dinner at around 11pm and the doors were locked, we were not notified beforehand. There was a guard there who was sleeping but we managed to wake him up and get in.
The location is also good, just a short walk away from a busy area full of shops and restaurants.
Overall it was a comfortable stay for the one night spent in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 267 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were booked into Monsoon Hotel but there was an issue with our booking they had overbooked us as they had not gone onto the booking site to remove room(this obviously seems to be a problem with the hotels and booking agencies). So they organised for us to have a room at their sister Hotel Frangapani Fine Arts.They transported us with one of their staff from Monsoon to Frangipani arts. This was an upgrade and the room was very very good. Decore in room and resturant and bar area was very nice.Breakfast was also very good.They also give you a voucher to use at their other Frangipani hotel down the roads pool and Happyhour sunset rooftop bar. Which we took advantage of and was very nice way to spend our last night in Cambodia.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Dear tripadvisor, I swear all I am writting are truth. Or you will do things just like the hotel staff said, they can delete any comments when THEY THINK it's not ture.
1, The staffs are not attentive to customer's need. We have made phone calls and sent servarl mails to request for a pick up service, which is not for free. Hotel offered 2 tuktuk to pick up as 4 in USD6. But finally, no one waiting for us in the bus station. When we tried to call the reception to confirm, no one answer the call until it cut automatically for 2 times. The third time a man pick up the call, and he seems know nothing and need checking for another 10 mintues, then said "The tuktuk driver went to another location, you may take a tuktuk by yourselves". It's our first time to Phnom Penh and this hotel, we know nothing about the location except the address, and don't know how to tell the drivers as the people this is not good in English. That's why we prefer to pay and request for a pick up. Finally when we express our very unsatisfy, the man agree to pay the tuktuk fee for us which actually USD1.00 for us 4 people.
2, We booked 2 rooms. But one of the rooms has no hot water at night time. When we called the reception, they said they will send someone to check it. But after my friend finished his shower, the man came. After a few mintues checking, he said everything was alright. And we trust him. What suprised us is when my friend tried to take a shower the coming morning, it still no hot water. When we complain to the reception for this repeated problem. They only said will check. My friends is very angry about the attitude of the staff who handle their complain. As he said he don't afraid what we comments on their hotel, as they have a right to delete our comments. Finally after a long time arguing, the man provide us a 10% off for that room.
3, The hotel locate in a narror stree surrounding by the stone carve shops, So everytime we come out in day time, there's dusty everywhere and we should cover our mouth.
4, The power of the hotel might be cut as they mention was a power control under government's direction. I am not sure it's ture or not.
Finally comments, the people here have some integrity problem. I will not come here espically this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celia X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was one of those trips where everything which could go wrong went wrong.From the enterance to the hotel which is hardly visible,to wrong of the room(there is a construction going on one side which makes this no views at all hotel), to the lights in room,to the washroom which klets the water slope down to the bedroom,to the soap which is actually the size of Thai 10 bahts coin to the rooftop bar-everything unfortunately for the hotel did not work.The plus was the staff-who were very friendly from front officeto coffee shop to the sky bar.Location is great next to Royal Palace and just waklking distance to the magnifient river(Tonle Sap).Must havebeen one of those "bad days"for the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Room is beautifully decorated in Khmer style and it is very quite at all times. However, all of the rooms including mine seemed to have no views. So just get a lower level room if you don't want to walk up the stairs. Staff were very kind but nothing special about breakfast. The hotel is located within a walking distance to the riverfront. Price was reasonable for its class and I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent 2 nights here, first time in Cambodia. The hotel states they are supportive of good working conditions and staff here get sick and annual leave. They also claim most of their furniture is bought fairtrade from villages and they state in their hotel policy they are against sex toursim and don't allow this in their hotel (woo hoo!). It was also a GORGEOUS room, great balcony to have a beer after a hot day sightseeing and 5 minutes walk to the riverfront. Only negative would be the large slippery bath-shower - may be an issue for some, we made sure we were super careful!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leccy_26_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We actually booked to stay at the Frangipani 60 hotel, however they made -a mistake with our booking.

We were delighted that they sent us to their sister hotel which was an upgrade at no extra charge. They were also very apologetic for their mistake.

The hotel is very clean, with spacious rooms which are really nice and cool. The rooms are really funky as well with lots of wood and wicker. The hotel staff were very eager to help us with travel arrangements and a visit to the killing fields as well.

Breakfast was also really nice, with a good choice on the menu.

Good location with bars and restaurants in walking distance and markets a short tuk tuk ride away.

Would definitely make a return visit here after a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank egyptvirgin186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.8 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.3 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#11 of 281 in Phnom Penh
317 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#21 of 281 in Phnom Penh
1,705 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 281 in Phnom Penh
2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel

Address: 178 # 43 Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh, Pearl of Asia in 1920s and the Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh. Ideally situated at the heart of Phnom Penh City and just few minute walk from the riverfront, along Sisovath Quay and the banks of the Tonle Sap, Mekong and Bassac rivers, this leading Phnom Penh boutique hotel is within easy reach of tourist attractions and Phnom Penh landmarks like Royal University of Fine Arts, the National Artefacts Museum, the resplendent Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda and the quaint streets dotted with charming cafe, designer shops, and art galleries of Phnom Penh. This charming accommodation has a long been a favorite in Phnom Penh for both business and leisure travelers and also makes an ideal base for sight-seeing tours of Wat Phnom, Independent Monument, Toul Sleng Genocide Museum, Russian Market, dazzling sunset boat cruises along the Mekong River and other touristic and lively areas. All well decorated and comfortable guest rooms with their large spaces and furniture as well as standard amenities at the Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel would give you a comfort and feel of home away from the home. The Room is well equipped with modern amenities and you can choose from 3 different categories of rooms – twin junior suite room, double junior suite room and double suite room. The Fine Arts Restaurant on the ground floor offer fine Royal Khmer and French cuisines and offer a large selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing