We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel with Amazing Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel
Ranked #81 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel with Amazing Service!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We actually booked to stay at the Frangipani 60 hotel, however they made -a mistake with our booking.

We were delighted that they sent us to their sister hotel which was an upgrade at no extra charge. They were also very apologetic for their mistake.

The hotel is very clean, with spacious rooms which are really nice and cool. The rooms are really funky as well with lots of wood and wicker. The hotel staff were very eager to help us with travel arrangements and a visit to the killing fields as well.

Breakfast was also really nice, with a good choice on the menu.

Good location with bars and restaurants in walking distance and markets a short tuk tuk ride away.

Would definitely make a return visit here after a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank egyptvirgin186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    108
    38
    17
    10
See reviews for
35
98
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

A bit disappointed when we arrived to find hotel in alley,but it was a hidden gem of a boutique hotel! Staff were friendly, helpful and spoke very good English. Hotel design contemporary and quirky! Our deluxe room was spacious and well furnished. Bathroom had a large stone bath and was well equipped. Breakfast excellent in pleasant outdoor courtyard. It was very near main tourist attractions but being off main road meant we had a very quiet nights sleep. Would definitely go again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HebdenBridgeJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights here and I have only positive things to say. I had a delux room and it was outstanding! The staff was very helpfull, the breakfast included and great. Don't be tricked by the very humble hotel sign :-)
You can use the roof top pool at the sister hotel for free!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank MereteML L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

There are so many things wrong with this place - I would say I don't know where to start, but I'd be lying.

Cons:

- The biggest problem was that we didn't have a drop of hot water for the three days we stayed there. At 21h30 on the first night, we actually had no water at all and, when we complained, front desk sent a maintenance guy to check on the problem. He got the cold water flowing and we figured we needed a while for the water to heat. We called back at 22h15 when there was no water coming out of the hot side. Front desk sent maintenance up again. At 22h45, we complained again, to no avail. At 23h00, we called the front desk again and said we just wanted a hot shower and asked to be moved to another room or, at the very least, be allowed into an unoccupied room to take a shower. THEN, the manager (through front desk staff) informed us that, actually, the whole hotel didn't have hot water and there was nothing he could do. I thought this was a bald-faced lie - surely front desk and maintenance would have known if this was the case?! And it should've been fixed by the next day. So, three days of cold showers - fun.

- There were stains on our bedding - I thought they were blood, but DH thought they were rust. Either way, unacceptable. Picture included.

- The toilet was stained, a problem that could probably have been solved with a simple coat of bleach.

- There was a faint sewage smell permeating throughout the room, masked by a lemongrass diffuser / candle.

- There were hairballs in the bathroom, that remained there for the duration of our stay. Picture included.

- There is very loud and jarring music that starts up at about 07h00 every morning - it comes from next door, but surely the hotel can do something about this? Offer an incentive to the neighbours for the benefit if the guests?

- The ongoing construction is noisy and dusty and not conducive to a peaceful stay.

- The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and difficult for tuk-tuk drivers to find. It's made all the worse by the fact that it's on the wrong side of the street and far away from where you expect number 43 to be.

- There are no porters and no lifts, so staying on the second floor was trying, at best.

- The staff speak limited English, so can't address out-of-the-ordinary problems. This is to be expected in a non-English country, but is frustrating at an expensive place that claims to be a four-star property.

- We booked an airport taxi through the front desk the day before our departure. Surprise surprise, when we were ready to leave, the taxi wasn't there and front desk made a frantic call to get one in, all the while pretending there was no problem.

Pros:

- Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdzN_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
273 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Backyard garden boutique hotel.
Our second floor suite was spacious and airy, but the furnishing was incomplete with only one night table and lamp. Light switch was only by the door. The style is modest as the amenities too. Hair dryer in the bathroom missed adapter.
Sheets and towels were used partly broken so we did not get a clean impression, though housekeeping was most effective.
Lovely table-served breakfast with free alternatives in a fill-in formula.
Absolutely one of the loveliest staff one can imagine, always smiling and helpful with enthusiasm of the youth.
At least two constructions were going on around and only the nights were quiet.
Garden needs professional gardening, died trees in the middle of the patio are not very enchanting.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have view, but balconies are with suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PepiFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed in a few hotels in Cambodia and this was by far the best. It is small and personal and the staff were amazing. It is not one of the big flashy hotels and it doesn't have a pool but it doesn't need it as its a calm and quiet relaxing hotel, a hidden gem away from the noisy streets. On arriving the receptionist noticed I had a cold and asked if he could call a doctor for me, if I need them to get me some medicine etc. They helped us in every way they could, be it getting a cheap price for a tuk tuk or helping us book future accommodation in other cities. Their sister hotel is up the road and is bigger and more flashy and has a pool you can use, it's an ok hotel but this one is better..more of a Cambodia vibe. The interior decoration was highly maintained, the beds large and clean, the bath was huge, yes there is no door to the bathroom but it didn't affect us and it felt private enough as the bathroom was always round the corner to the beds. We had an amazing dinner in the courtyard, their food was superb and their breakfast was the best we had in the entire 3 weeks of backpacking South East Asia. The street it is on is dark but not dangerous, it is right next to the Palace and a 5 minute walk to the river so right in the heart of things, just on a quiet street. We stayed for one night on our way to Siem Reap and on our return to the city we re-booked for a further 3 nights as we thought it was that good.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, we tried 2 different twin rooms and they were both quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. It was good, apart from a blocked toilet which they fixed straight away. The location is excellent, the room was very quiet, the breakfasts varied and good and the staff very helpful.i would recommend this hotel to friends.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gilli68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Saravoan Royal Palace Hotel
Saravoan Royal Palace Hotel
#32 of 267 in Phnom Penh
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Palais Boutique Hotel
Le Grand Palais Boutique Hotel
#55 of 267 in Phnom Penh
211 reviews
1.8 mi away
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
#20 of 267 in Phnom Penh
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel

Property: Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel
Address: # 43 Street 178 (Near Royal Palace), Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh, Pearl of Asia in 1920s and the Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh. Ideally situated at the heart of Phnom Penh City and just few minute walk from the riverfront, along Sisovath Quay and the banks of the Tonle Sap, Mekong and Bassac rivers, this leading Phnom Penh boutique hotel is within easy reach of tourist attractions and Phnom Penh landmarks like Royal University of Fine Arts, the National Artefacts Museum, the resplendent Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda and the quaint streets dotted with charming cafe, designer shops, and art galleries of Phnom Penh. This charming accommodation has a long been a favorite in Phnom Penh for both business and leisure travelers and also makes an ideal base for sight-seeing tours of Wat Phnom, Independent Monument, Toul Sleng Genocide Museum, Russian Market, dazzling sunset boat cruises along the Mekong River and other touristic and lively areas. All well decorated and comfortable guest rooms with their large spaces and furniture as well as standard amenities at the Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel would give you a comfort and feel of home away from the home. The Room is well equipped with modern amenities and you can choose from 3 different categories of rooms – twin junior suite room, double junior suite room and double suite room. The Fine Arts Restaurant on the ground floor offer fine Royal Khmer and French cuisines and offer a large selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing