We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel
Ranked #81 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had high expectations from this hotel going by the reviews and it easily met/exceeded our expectations

Positives
- Nice location. Walking distance to the Palace, River Front and the National Museum
- Big spacious rooms. Rooms and entire property is very very nicely done up. Huge bath tub in a big bathroom!
- Great staff. Everyone was always smiling and welcoming. We reached much ahead of the check-in time but were given a room without an issue.
- Nice Breakfast and a very cozy restaurant. We used room service as well which was very prompt and nice

Negatives

Actually its very difficult to find faults with this property. I have still tried!
-They do not have a lift, so if you are on third floor(like we were) and do not like climbing stairs, it could be an issue. Although we did not mind it, even though we were with our 8 months old daughter.
-Its a smallish property. Although rooms are big but otherwise property is smallish

Verdict
GO FOR IT!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank himanshu08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    108
    38
    17
    10
See reviews for
35
98
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
395 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel is in walking distance to the kings’ palace and the river side district with many art galleries, restaurants and bars. The hotel is difficult to find as it is situated in a alley.
The hotel is built by connecting three houses linked with stairs. I got a room on the third floor. The rooms in the upper floors are difficult to reach. The hotel is unsuitable for physically challenged people. There is no lift.
My room on the top floor was very hot. It was clean but already coming into years. The bath room is separated from the living quarter by a curtain. Very unpractical is to place the toilet paper in a basket and not on a holder in reachable distance. The aircon is too weak; as there is no door between the room and the bathroom, the whole surface has to be cooled. There is no cupboard or shelves. I lived literally out of my suitcase during my 4 days of stay. Wi-Fi connection is free but breaks down every few minutes. In the room are placed a flat screen TV with some English language programs, a safe, a fridge and a tea kettle.
The view from the room on iron bars and barbed wire reminded me more on the S21 camp than on a Fine Arts Villa. I preferred to keep the curtains shut. Breakfast is served in the garden. Guests are asked to fill an order form. The choice is limited to 4 sorts of egg, 4 different fruits and 4 breads incl. Toast and croissants. The ham and bacon is of mediocre quality coming from a tin and has a sugary taste. The coffee was brewes freshly with an espresso machine. Plan 30-45 minutes for breakfast, as the service is extremly slow.
My recommendation for a stay is with certain restrictions; but for the price of USD 50.-, I could not expect to find Haven on Earth.

Room Tip: Far away from the stairs and on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Dear All

I was staying - with my friend - twice at the Frangipani in Phnom Phen. The hotel is a "bijoux" and absolutely great located. We had a wonderful time there. Breakfast is a delight. But the best thing is the Staff: The reception, the cleaners, the waiters and Mr. Kemara (the best driver in Sout East Asia - ask for him, when you have plans) are super.

Thanks, it was great, daniel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My flight arrived early in Phnom Penh and the hotel was full so there was no way i could check in early.

The staff went all the way out to extend their warm welcome and eagerly and ready to pleased you anytime.

The room is big and clean. They upgraded me to suite room that comes with a balcony. I love the bathtub, huge bathtub.

The Museum is just stone throw away and the palace just short walking distance.

Overall, I am happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zermatt, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My feelings about the Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel are very mixed. Who ever planed the place did a nice job, but the running of it is a different matter. For the rates they are asking I would expect some more professionalism. Towels and bed sheets without stains would have been nice, and leaving the dirty dishes from last nights room service behind after making up the room is really odd. Also the air-condition wasn't up to the challenge really, but I thought like this I get used to the outside heat better. On check out the credit card machine did not work - that can happen, and I was lucky I had enough cash on me but the bus was waiting, so I don't know what would have happened otherwise. So what did I like about the place, well first and foremost its location. For tourist activities it could not be better, and I admire what they have done with the limited space and materials at hand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anvigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel was one of the best accommodations we have experienced during a four month long trip thru Europe, Eastern Europe, and Southeast Asia.

Located a few blocks from the riverfront and the Palace, its entrance is down an down an 8 foot wide alley, off a main street. This gives the building privacy from the street.

When booking our room online, we specifically requested a top floor, in a quiet section of the hotel away from the stairs. We also asked that the room be non-smoking and that there not be any musty or perfumed odors. We were delighted to find that the staff had fully honored each of our requests. During our stay, all staff were welcoming, pleasant and helpful.

We booked a double suite room, thinking it would offer the space needed for us to handle some business details while there. We had enough room to spread out our gear, relax, read, and work independently on our computers. We could move around and not be in each other’s way. The room was extremely clean and very quiet.

The construction is poured concrete on the floor and walls with a portion of the walls being floor-to-ceiling brick accent which we found to be quite attractive. An unusually nice bathroom had a concrete tub/shower combination. There was ample hot water. Everything about our room was comfortable.

The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast with Asian and American choices and everything we ate was quite good.

Room Tip: We requested and received a top floor away from any noise. We paid extra for a suite and were not so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTBillJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

After stayed 2 nights still miss this hotel and will go back to stay again, all staff are fiendly and helpful even security at the entrance. The room is very nice, large and make me oversleep all night. Wifi connection was well working and do my work even on holiday. Hotel located at a great place easy to go all attraction places in Phnom Penh, Royal Palace, River...I would like to recommand this hotel if you go Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Junior Suite room is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Saravoan Royal Palace Hotel
Saravoan Royal Palace Hotel
#31 of 267 in Phnom Penh
66 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,623 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
#46 of 267 in Phnom Penh
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel

Property: Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel
Address: # 43 Street 178 (Near Royal Palace), Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh, Pearl of Asia in 1920s and the Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh. Ideally situated at the heart of Phnom Penh City and just few minute walk from the riverfront, along Sisovath Quay and the banks of the Tonle Sap, Mekong and Bassac rivers, this leading Phnom Penh boutique hotel is within easy reach of tourist attractions and Phnom Penh landmarks like Royal University of Fine Arts, the National Artefacts Museum, the resplendent Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda and the quaint streets dotted with charming cafe, designer shops, and art galleries of Phnom Penh. This charming accommodation has a long been a favorite in Phnom Penh for both business and leisure travelers and also makes an ideal base for sight-seeing tours of Wat Phnom, Independent Monument, Toul Sleng Genocide Museum, Russian Market, dazzling sunset boat cruises along the Mekong River and other touristic and lively areas. All well decorated and comfortable guest rooms with their large spaces and furniture as well as standard amenities at the Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel would give you a comfort and feel of home away from the home. The Room is well equipped with modern amenities and you can choose from 3 different categories of rooms – twin junior suite room, double junior suite room and double suite room. The Fine Arts Restaurant on the ground floor offer fine Royal Khmer and French cuisines and offer a large selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Frangipani Fine Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing