We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ice cream, the ice cream, the ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Blue Pumpkin

The Blue Pumpkin
Ranked #1 of 75 Coffee & Tea in Phnom Penh
Price range: $0 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Blue Pumpkin is a bakery, pastry, snack, sandwich, ice cream, coffee shop, restaurant, and lounge.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“The ice cream, the ice cream, the ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

A few days ago, I first experienced the Blue Pumpkin's new 4 spices ice cream: ginger, pepper, star anise, and cinnamon. Words cannot do justice to it. Ditto the various other local flavors, ranging from durian to kaffir lime. Their more conventional flavors - like chocolate mint, rum and raisin, and strawberry - are ok but not great. But if you are visiting Cambodia why would you want to try them anyway? The baked goods at the Blue Pumpkin look delicious, but somehow I never make it past the ice cream. There are a number of different BP restaurants in Phnom Penh and Siem Reap, but my favorite is the one on the Riverside in PP. If you don't get round to visiting during your stay, don't worry. There are Blue Pumpkins in the departure areas at both Phnom Penh and Siem Reap airports.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePumpkinCambodia, Manager at The Blue Pumpkin, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time writing such a good review about us. We are glad that you had a good experience with Blue Pumpkin.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Blue Pumpkin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    323
    140
    47
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“An oasis of high quality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Few other places in Cambodia (without spending a lot more...) are as consistently high quality and enjoyable as Blue Pumpkin. Their menus have a great range of Khmer and international foods. Excellent baked goods and their ice cream is always worth stopping off for on a hot day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 3030orthereabouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePumpkinCambodia, Manager at The Blue Pumpkin, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time writing such a good review about us. We are glad that you had a good experience with Blue Pumpkin.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Blue Pumpkin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I highly recommend the pumpkin soup. Smooth, creamy (but not heavy) with chunks of crunch prawns (menu says lobster, but I think crayfish or prawns). Accompanied by a few pieces of garlic bread. They also offer great sandwiches, quiche, cakes and pastry. There are 2 outlets - 1 at Monument bookstore and the other at Sisowat Quay. They offer good set meal deals too. I liked the pineapple fruit shake. The mango fruit shake is also popular but I found that a bit too thick.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spitfireSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePumpkinCambodia, Manager at The Blue Pumpkin, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time writing such a good review about us. We are glad that you had a good experience with Blue Pumpkin.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Blue Pumpkin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great venue to relax and take a break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great ice cream, great flavours, and great lounge area and free wifi. Great to just chill and refresh. Great quality ice cream.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank VMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePumpkinCambodia, Manager at The Blue Pumpkin, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time writing such a good review about us. We are glad that you had a good experience with Blue Pumpkin.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Blue Pumpkin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh and design”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Funky little Cafe located in the back of a huge book store.

I was shopping around when I discover it. Took a Cappuccino and a croissant. Not expensive, quality ok (i have to admit it was not the best I ever had). But the elegance of the pure white design and the quietness make you feel out of Phnom Penh.

Stop by!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePumpkinCambodia, Manager at The Blue Pumpkin, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time writing such a good review about us. We are glad that you had a good experience with Blue Pumpkin.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Blue Pumpkin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Pumpkin also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to The Blue Pumpkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing