We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Ice Cream, Mixed Outcome with Baked Goods”
Review of The Blue Pumpkin

The Blue Pumpkin
Ranked #1 of 38 Coffee & Tea in Phnom Penh
Price range: $0 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Blue Pumpkin is a bakery, pastry, snack, sandwich, ice cream, coffee shop, restaurant, and lounge.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing Ice Cream, Mixed Outcome with Baked Goods”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I had seen Blue Pumpkin outlets in Siem Reap, but didn't go for food until I hit Phnom Penh. The ice cream I got was AMAZING. It was "mint & chocolate" in a real cone (not that generic US mass-produced Styrofoam-tasting cones). The chocolate in the ice cream was in many small slivers instead of a few big chunks, making each bite delicious and filled with easily melting chocolate. We stayed in the restaurant for our cones. The restaurant is very modern minimalist – all white, no embellishments, smooth lines. The AC was good and we enjoyed the clean ambiance. We also got one cookie and two muffins for the road. The cookie and one muffin were off, as the cookie tasted more like a bad cake and the muffin had too much baking soda in it. The other muffin was delicious. You may pay up for the goods, but you are paying for the nice establishments.

Good: Amazing ice cream with real cone, one apple walnut raisin muffin
Bad: peanut cookie was bland cakey and oatmeal muffin had too much baking soda in it

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ABD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePumpkinCambodia, Manager at The Blue Pumpkin, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time writing such a good review about us. We are glad that you had a good experience with Blue Pumpkin.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Blue Pumpkin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    327
    141
    47
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yumm Yumm Yumm delicious deserts”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Had the blue berry cheese cake, Creme Brulee, lemon tart, and macaroon, all of them very quite delicious, the place was nice , well maintained, friendly staff, a definite stop in Phnom Penh for deserts.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashok010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePumpkinCambodia, Manager at The Blue Pumpkin, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time writing such a good review about us. We are glad that you had a good experience with Blue Pumpkin.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Blue Pumpkin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable seating, aircon, good shakes”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I've been to Blue Pumpkin about 10 times.

What I like:
cold aircon
good service
shakes are always good
decent ice cream
comfortable seating

What I don't like:
food is average
prices are a little high

I would recommend going here if you want to escape the heat and enjoy a cold shake or some ice cream. I wouldn't recommend it as a place to eat a meal, as the food is overpriced for what you get.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank southeastAsiaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePumpkinCambodia, Manager at The Blue Pumpkin, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time writing such a good review about us. We are glad that you had a good experience with Blue Pumpkin.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Blue Pumpkin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Patchy, slow service and food that wasn't worth the wait or high price”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

The decor is refreshingly contemporary and the view of the river and riverside promenade is great. I ordered a banana shake, which arrived soon after. It was refreshing and served in a large glass. Then perhaps 15 or so minutes later, my french fries arrived. A small serve and with lots of black bits still in the potato. I asked when the quiche would arrive and was told just a minute. Perhaps 20 or so minutes later, the slice of quiche arrived. It had cracks in it and the sides looked as though this quiche had been around for awhile. When was this made? Everything we serve is made today was the reply. The quiche tasted like glug, with a few what tasted like pickled chopped cucumbers mixed in. The crust was soggy. If this had an egg in it I would be most surprised. Perhaps it was held together with cornflour and water to form a sauce. It had to be the worst meal I had during my recent two week stay in Cambodia and it was by Cambodian standards, very expensive. This offshoot of the original Blue Pumpkin in Siem Riep is developing quite a reputation for the wrong reasons. I asked several of my expat friends who live in Phnom Penh what they thought of it and their response was none too positive. I'd suggest trying the Siem Riep Blue Pumpkin to experience what made the restaurant get such good reviews when it opened some years back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoannaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePumpkinCambodia, Manager at The Blue Pumpkin, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are deeply sorry that your last experience was not up to our casual Blue Pumpkin standard. We will be sure to past this to the team to ensure that you next visit will be enjoyable.

We are so sorry about our product that make you feel a bit expensive because we always import all the best ingredient from outside that a bit expensive than other ingredient.

We are sincerely apologize for any unintentional mistake.
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,

Blue Pumpkin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanthaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Recommended - salad then coffee and icecream”
Reviewed June 3, 2011

New since my last visit to PP, lovely location with fantastic views across the promenade to the Tonle Sap river upstairs area has huge couches, nice table seating and a wonderful range of icecreams to choose from.
Well-priced salads - and the meals are quite big, and good coffee.
Downstairs also sells icecreams and has abakery selction of breads/rolls for sale
We went there three times in out week in PP, highly recommended, and the balcony is a good spot for photos too. Very friendly/polite staff.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank songsee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePumpkinCambodia, Manager at The Blue Pumpkin, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time writing such a good review about us. We are glad that you had a good experience with Blue Pumpkin.

we are now working on making new menu with more variety of healthy and yummy dishes in hopping that they will suit your appetite more.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Blue Pumpkin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Pumpkin also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to The Blue Pumpkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing