We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, false advertising, rice is paid per scoop (?!)”

Olympic Khmer-Thai Restaurant
Ranked #339 of 1,444 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Restaurant details
Phnom Penh
1 review
“Average food, false advertising, rice is paid per scoop (?!)”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Four colleagues and I went there for lunch. Each one of us ordered a dish. The food tasted good. But for the price ($5 USD per dish), it was not exceptional. When it came time to pay the bill, we faced two issues:

False advertising - One dish we ordered was $7 and not $5 as listed in the menu.

Ride is paid per scoop - 'extra charges' showed up on the bill which were described for each scoop of rice we ate ($0.50 per scoop). However, we were not notified about this 'rice charge' before. Most restaurants give the rice as complimentary or you're made aware to pay per plate/bowl of rice. Charging customers $0.50 per scoop of rice and not telling them beforehand is absurd.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Pen, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Normal”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Nice seat, kind staff, but not good cuisines.
It'd be better go for lunch.
felt expensive when compared taste of foods.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gcnb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and a festive atmosphere”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

When I wanted to take our staff out for lunch, they picked this place which I was glad to learn. I think the food is very nice, although not as good as Malis', but it is certainly a lot less expensive. This place is not fancy but has a nice homey and festive atmosphere. The number of seating available is quite huge with many different types of rooms. You need to be prepared to sit on the floor (Thai, not Khmer, style) when you eat which may not be so comfortable for some. I went with Khmer staff and had decent service (can't comment if going there on our own without the wonderful Khmer assistance). There were 8 of us and they did a nice job accommodating a group of our size.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatFoodisHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good service, great Khmer food, you must try”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our family love the service there. The staffs are friendly, the food are good and the price is acceptable. I would recommend Khmer food called SAMLOR KORKO and BOK KAPISS. Be sure to taste these dishes at this restaurant when you have a chance to visit Phnom Penh.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sochivyheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is one of my favorite spots to eat Cambodian and Thai food!! I like to order fried pork ribs with sauce.. Its a must to go spot!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SKONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympic Khmer-Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Olympic Khmer-Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing