We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good backpacker with very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eighty8 Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed one night at the Eighty8 and enjoyed our time there. The room was clean, it's size was ok, the AC was working. We didn't like that the bathroom had only a curtain to separate it from the bedroom. A proper door would have been nice. The location of the backpacker is ok, but it's still a 15min walk to the city centre. There are Tuk-Tuks available at the front of the hotel. The breakfast was good and the view with the pool in front very relaxing. We only think that the standard double room was a little overprized in comparison to other accomodations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 749 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Great location, fabulous food, cocktails were delicious, bunk beds were massive and comfy, I was THE perfect temperature all night (which hasn't happened ever) during my stay in SEPT Asia.

Also there was a pool! and you get a towel! I started to wonder if I'd checked myself into a hotel, but remembered the bill - such amazing value.

Go here! Now!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
4  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Bunk beds were basically doubles in terms of width, there was a swimming pool with a frisbee, it cost 6 dollars a night, staff were very friendly, even lent me a dollar to pay the taxi man. Top hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxBrimelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very welcoming receptionists, they were so friendly considering we checked out at 12 but didn't have a bus until midnight that day. They let us use showers, towels, facilities etc all day. Rooms are nice, very wide beds, clean enough. The best part is the open bar/lounge/pool area. Prices could be cheaper but it's not the end of the world. Would recommend this to all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJFHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This one was recommended to me by other travellers and I have recommended it ever since I've been there, this was by far the best hostel I've been in. Bed-soooo comfortable, all very clean, the pool (only hostel with one in town) the staff is fantastic and so helpful. Also good place to meet people and walking distance from the night market. Really enjoyed my time here.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank monito_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Dorms oriented, private rooms is really overpriced and by the way Internet is working only in a lobby and it is not so good. Swimming pool is tiny. City view in one of the windows is to the wall of the nearest house. If u are looking for a good private room, better look another place.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Perfilyev-Ilya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2014

Is this a genuine review from an actual guest, as we are struggling to find your details? However, it is hardly a balanced review, not sure what or where you are comparing us to, but we simply do not agree. We are a social hostel with a swimming pool, great bar and restaurant serving quality food & drinks, with a cool chill-out area. Our facilities for the price are some of the best in PP. Good luck and safe travels whoever you are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The vibe at 88 is pretty good. This is helped by a great bar/hangout spot with a pool and music. Drinks were fairly cheap, however you could get better food elsewhere. This said, the breakfasts were great. Large bowls of fruit, yoghurt and muesli, or you could get bacon and eggs etc.
My first impressions when I got to 88 were slightly tainted as there was a bit of confusion with our rooms. This said, these things happen, and they were really friendly and apologetic for this. Generally the staff were quite friendly and helpful.
We stayed in a double room with en suite. We've had better rooms for the price ($24 i think). The lights were really bright strip lights which meant it was either dark or blindingly bright. The en suite was also separated from the main room by a curtain which wasn't the best. The shower was also not very powerful or particularly good. This said, the AC worked, and the beds aren't too bad.
Location wise we found 88 to be a bit out of it. Its only a 15 minute walk to where there seemed to be more life (restaurants/bars etc), however I think if we went back, we'd try and find somewhere a bit more in the thick of it. It wasn't quite good enough to make it worth the walk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.8 mi away
Billabong Hostel
Billabong Hostel
#3 of 257 in Phnom Penh
1,080 reviews
0.9 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 257 in Phnom Penh
257 reviews
1.9 mi away
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Envoy Hostel and Tours
#6 of 257 in Phnom Penh
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Top Banana Guesthouse
Top Banana Guesthouse
#7 of 257 in Phnom Penh
413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aura Thematic Hostel
Aura Thematic Hostel
#23 of 257 in Phnom Penh
214 reviews
1.3 mi away
Base Villa
Base Villa
#10 of 257 in Phnom Penh
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eighty8 Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighty8 Backpackers

Address: 88 Street | Street 88, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 257 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $11 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hostel in the city complete with a swimming pool and including an amazing FREE breakfast buffet for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eighty8 Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
88 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing