We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, good food, good trips!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eighty8 Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Great Place, good food, good trips!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We are a group of 6people who stayed here for 6weeks during our internship in Phnom Penh. We stayed in private rooms.

We can not complaine about this place at all. Rooms were clean and with private bathroom. Staff cleaned every day and changed the sheets on a regular basis.

Food was good and cocktails superbe! I would recommend this hostel for everybody staying in Phnom penh.

Trips organised from the hostel, bustickets, visa's, everything was taking care off with good efficiency!
The place to be!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnpersyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for the feedback, we enjoyed all of you staying at the hostel :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    213
    88
    29
    26
See reviews for
15
150
172
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

88 backpackers in Phnom Penh was the first hostel I ever visited and it has set the mark high. There wasn't loads of bars or restaurants close by, but they're all a short and very cheap Tuk-Tuk away at the river's edge. The hostel is situated off the main road and is only a short distance away from the genocide museum and the killing fields by Tuk-Tuk. The hostel has very good facilities: Free wifi, a swimming pool, warm showers with clean bathrooms to each hostel room, free pool table, television (usually showing football) and a very cheap bar with food served as well. The staff are all friendly and helpful and they have a good grasp of English. There is a good vibe to the hostel and the bar area is sociable in the evenings. I have stayed there on two separate occasions upon visiting Phnom Penh and would you the hostel without hesitation again and again. Well worth checking out if you're in Cambodia as it is very cheap and service is good!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davebrannen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Perfect, thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This place is really nice, clean, modern, friendly and the staff are happy to help organising tours, buses and whatever else. They have a restaurant, pool and pool table which is nice for those days when you don't want to leave the hotel and the food is generally really nice. The only thing I didn't like was that there's no door between the bathroom and bedroom, only a thin curtain. The other thing is that I forgot my sunglasses on the bed the day we left, they were Marc Jacobs and very expensive so I was really hoping to get them back seeing as I knew 100% that they'd been left on the bed but a few days later when we went back to ask about them they said that nothing was found. Now I know that it's my own fault for having forgotten them but it just frustrated me that their cleaning staff had most definitely taken them, just makes me lose trust in them. Other than that, a lovely stayi

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug250891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for the feedback.

Our cleaning staff are very honest and bring to the managment stuff like Iphones, Ipads, computers, clothes constantly. We have never had an issue with customers having forgot stuff. I would go even further and point out that they will have no idea as to the value of Marc Jacobs...

Sorry about that, safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic hostel! Downstairs there is a really good bar, lots of chill out places, a good pool table and a swimming pool! The bar has good prices and also serves great food!

The 8 bed dorms are really nice the bunk beds are really comfy and are big. The shower in the dorm was boiling which is a real luxury in a lot of SE Asia.

Only fault with the hostel is there isn't much of a party scene which I couldn't understand as there's happy hours and drink deals and always good music playing. But this isn't a problem as there are good clubs a small tuk tuk journey away.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mad-m0nk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
thanks for the great feedback :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great hostel. The location is a bit of a walk to the main tourist drag but only 10 or so minutes so no big deal. Pretty good food, friendly staff, and terrific vibe. I also stayed at mad monkey and while mad monkey had better food in my opinion, this place has a more chilled out relax vibe as opposed to the party beer pong vibe of mad monkey. And great beds. Dorm beds are almost queen size, awesome. Paint and bathrooms could use an update but still clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burma85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed in a deluxe 6 bed dorm with ensuite. No hot water at all during my stay, wifi only available in bar area & was often too slow to be usable. Power points in dorm rooms were inaccessible and of the 4 plugs, only 2 actually worked. Breakfast is not included though you can buy it there. Not many good places to eat around the hostel - had to go to Riverside area for better options (15 minute walk). Laundry was great though and I appreciated the wide bed in my dorm as well as the lockers. Next time I will stay in Riverside area as that's where all the restaurants, bars & shops are.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Negatives:
- beds were very hard
- not great location... 20 min walk to night markets/food etc
- room wasn't too clean
- room was very noisy at night

Positive
- felt safe
- good selection of food
- lockers in room provided but found it hard to attach padlocks

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ally_Smith1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,139 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,466 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#17 of 267 in Phnom Penh
551 reviews
0.8 mi away
Billabong Hostel
Billabong Hostel
#3 of 237 in Phnom Penh
1,015 reviews
0.9 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 237 in Phnom Penh
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eighty8 Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighty8 Backpackers

Property: Eighty8 Backpackers
Address: 88 Street | Street 88, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hostel in the city complete with a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Eighty8 Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
88 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing