We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eighty8 Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great hostel. The location is a bit of a walk to the main tourist drag but only 10 or so minutes so no big deal. Pretty good food, friendly staff, and terrific vibe. I also stayed at mad monkey and while mad monkey had better food in my opinion, this place has a more chilled out relax vibe as opposed to the party beer pong vibe of mad monkey. And great beds. Dorm beds are almost queen size, awesome. Paint and bathrooms could use an update but still clean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burma85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 738 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed in a deluxe 6 bed dorm with ensuite. No hot water at all during my stay, wifi only available in bar area & was often too slow to be usable. Power points in dorm rooms were inaccessible and of the 4 plugs, only 2 actually worked. Breakfast is not included though you can buy it there. Not many good places to eat around the hostel - had to go to Riverside area for better options (15 minute walk). Laundry was great though and I appreciated the wide bed in my dorm as well as the lockers. Next time I will stay in Riverside area as that's where all the restaurants, bars & shops are.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Negatives:
- beds were very hard
- not great location... 20 min walk to night markets/food etc
- room wasn't too clean
- room was very noisy at night

Positive
- felt safe
- good selection of food
- lockers in room provided but found it hard to attach padlocks

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ally_Smith1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Great place rooms were nice and cheap food and drink was good. The pool is nice one of the best places to stay in Phnom Penh. I really enjoyed this place would go back in a heartbeat. The staff was really friendly and very helpful.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank kodiakfoodcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

This place is like a 5 star backpackers! Has an amazing pool and bar. The wi-Fi is ridiculously fast. The beds are big however the bathrooms are slightly average and hot water isn't always available. However, these are very minor criticisms hence I would definitely recommend the place!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Go M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

The Good:
- The building itself. Very beautiful and French, and the downstairs area with the bar and pool is really nice.
- Very comfortable bed.
- Very quiet air conditioning.

The Bad (or needs improvement):
- Bar prices for food and drinks very expensive and the food is extremely average.
- wifi only in the downstairs area and even then very bad signal. This really irritated me because it was cost so relatively little to get a couple of repeaters and it would improve everyone's experience SO MUCH.
- One night our room inexplicably lost power (and our room only, we saw lights on in the rest of the hotel). We both woke up pretty much drowning in sweat due to no AC/fan and couldn't sleep at all. Couldn't read either because no lights, couldn't use the internet or anything because no wireless upstairs. We had to spend two hours downstairs with our feet in the pool at 4am getting eaten by mozzies just to escape the heat. When we asked the staff at reception about it they giggled and shrugged their shoulders. Luckily it didn't happen again.
- the ensuite bathrooms are stupidly designed. No door, you just close it with curtains which don't fully close. Also the shower is one of those ones without a seperate compartment in the bathroom, which would be fine if the plug hole wasn't on the opposite side of the room...so every time you shower there will be water literally all over the floor.
- the location is good but not great. A lot of below commenters said that they needed to take tuk Tuks everywhere. I wouldn't say it's that far away from the main city; if you have a map and don't mind walking it's only 15-20 minutes but it is in quite a non-touristy area, and at night a little creepy so I wouldn't want to walk if I were staying alone either.

Overall it's a pretty good place, but some very minor improvements such as to the wireless, or some extra English training for the staff would go a longggggg way.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank clinky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

One of the best hostels I've stayed in so far, by the looks of it alone. Great bar and lobby area with a pool. Rooms are clean. For some dorm rooms, you have to walk up a lot of stairs. Wi-Fi is great. The staff are polite and helpful. It is a far walk from the backpackers area though. I was traveling on a tight budget so this was a major thing as I didn't want to take tuktuks every time I leave. Tuktuks are cheap anyway so if this is not a factor, then I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.8 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#84 of 278 in Phnom Penh
377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Billabong Hostel
Billabong Hostel
#3 of 252 in Phnom Penh
1,066 reviews
0.9 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 252 in Phnom Penh
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Top Banana Guesthouse
Top Banana Guesthouse
#7 of 252 in Phnom Penh
409 reviews
1.9 mi away
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Envoy Hostel and Tours
#6 of 252 in Phnom Penh
161 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lovely Jubbly Villa
Lovely Jubbly Villa
#25 of 252 in Phnom Penh
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eighty8 Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighty8 Backpackers

Address: 88 Street | Street 88, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 252 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $10 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hostel in the city complete with a swimming pool and including an amazing FREE breakfast buffet for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eighty8 Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
88 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing