We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phnom Penh, Balcony Life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Velkommen Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 318 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Phnom Penh, Balcony Life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our first time in Phnom Penh, a city unlike many others I've visited, the balcony provided a great place to watch daily life take place on the streets, tourist, tuktuk drivers, market sellers, homeless people, prostitutes going about their lives. A good watch. The hotel was clean, pleasant, no lift so if you're on the 5th floor good luck, our room was very large and well fitted, the food was pretty poor but there are plenty of other places to eat nearby. In terms of the staff most of the girls seemed more interested in flirting with the older men than attending to some of the other customers, but generally were decent none the less, despite messing around and loosing our bus tickets...
Overall though good value for money and I would say a good area to start exploring Phnom Penh for the first time. Oh also the hotel tuktuk drivers are very friendly and patient.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    134
    43
    15
    7
See reviews for
18
126
80
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Rooms are good. Had a booking error and didn't have our room available, upgraded us with out a question. Breakfast is good. Very friendly staff. Quiet rooms(We were not street facing) location is good can walk to central market, grand palace. Would go back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hostel was comfy and clean. My room had six beds, a bathroom, and lockers. Great air conditioning. There was also enough washrooms and showers through out the hostel that you where never left waiting for one to be free. Women at the front desk was super nice and very helpful. I think I paid $4 a night. Close to the markets, stores, and night spots.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewLegere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the cheapest room which was quite small but good for the price ($16). The room was clean and the aircon worked good. The only negative thing was that the bathroom smelled bad but we just kept the door closed and that seemed to help. There is no lift but a few stairs is good for the excercise!

The breakfast downstairs was good and cheap. The tuktuk drivers they use are also very good and speak excellent English. You can't beat the location, within walking distance to the central market and many restaurants.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onelife14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice rooms in a nice hostel. Good staff. Breakfast not included in price but we paid for it and was nice.
Walking distance to the main sights.

No lift though and we were on the 6th floor! (budget double)

Room Tip: Budget double was nice and a fair bit cheaper but on the 6th floor so lots of walking!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mcladley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We paid $16 for a double room, and god aircon tv and hot water. Bit of a hike up the stairs but that's fine. Some interesting older men hanging around the bar with Cambodian teenagers but that's just how it is in Phnom Penh. Overall great price and services, good English and location, breakfasts are cheap here so don't go elsewhere for them! Bathroom had bit of a smell especially one day for some reason but I have just put it down to them not having pipes to let the smells escape.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

During a short visit to Phnom Penh, Velkommen Inn Guesthouse was a pleasant experience. The room was comfortable and the staff was friendly and accomodating. In the evening the bar created a friendly atmosphere for the guests. I will defininitely come back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eirik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#27 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#53 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#65 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Europe Guest House
Europe Guest House
#2 of 318 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velkommen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velkommen Guesthouse

Property: Velkommen Guesthouse
Address: #18 St 144, Riverside | Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 318 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Velkommen Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velkommen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velkommen Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing