We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guesthouse in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Velkommen Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 317 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Nice guesthouse in excellent location”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The guesthouse is close to the river and sights of interest. There is also a market close by, where you can get all kinds of things. We got our Cambodian sim card there which was handy. The rooms are clean, though not all rooms have a window. The staff is very friendly and everyone speaks excellent English. We especially liked to hang out at the bar, where you can meet other international travelers. So, definitely a good place to stay for budget travellers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyTran3885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    136
    43
    15
    8
See reviews for
18
127
81
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Before booking i read a lot of nice reviews here on tripadvisor so I decided to make a reseravtion for this guesthouse via email and I received a prompt answer with good news... the room in that I wanted to live for 3 nights is free. I booked a standard double room with private bathroom and aircon for 16,- US$ per night.
The Guesthouse is located downtown central and within eyeshot to the river!
The room and bathroom are very clean, the bed is very comfortable and was lovingly arranged, the staff is very nice and friendly.
The only little... very little thing I'm dissattisfied with is the Wi-Fi. My room is at the end of the floor and I think that's the reason for the unconstant connection but not reason enough to give not the 5 points!!!
Result: Amazing guesthouse that I would recommend ever and ever again!!!... a MUST-LIVE-IN when you're in Phnom Penh!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I first chose to book a room at Velkommen Guesthouse because of the good reviews here and it was definitely a right decision to make. We went to Phnom Penh by sleeper bus from Siem Reap and arrived at 6.30 in the morning. Now the check in time at Velkommen Guesthouse is at 12.00 but they let us check in early :) The British manager, Gavin, was also a very nice guy. He helped us find a tuktuk for a city tour and he warned us to keep our cameras in our bag and clutch to it the entire time.

We booked a triple room and it was really decent. Squeaky clean bathroom and comfortable beds. No view in this room though, but I heard the balcony rooms are great and have great views.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in Velkommen and had a wonderful time. Its a basic guesthouse, some will find walking up the stairs a bit troublesome but Im ok with the stairs. Clean room, mine had a/c, hot water & tv. The toilet is big and clean. The location is PERFECT! Walking distance to River Front or Sisowath Quay (less than 2 mins walk) Lots of places to eat, drink and chill there. Very helpful and friendly staff. You can also walk from Velkommen to the Central Market, National Museum, King's Palace & Silver Pagoda.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goluxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Clean, basic rooms. Good location, really close to the riverside. The place has around 7 floors with no elevator, so be prepared to climb a lot of stairs. The owners helpful and the staff are friendly enough, but they get confused easily, so make sure they understand what you want. Stayed late Dec 2012 in a double room with a/c for 16USD, breakfast wasn't included.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lana315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights. The hostel id Very we'll located, rooms are próspero in space, just that our room didn't have window but I don't thinks is a problem. Staff is average helpful And we noticed tuk tuk's from hotel are a little mire expensive. Breakfast is good with affordable prices. Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcposada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and loved every second. The staff were incredibly friendly and genuine and made me feel at home! The location was perfect close to the river with plenty of places to eat and drink. We rented bicycles from Grasshopper right across the road and the sites around the city were easy to get to. The manager Gavin helped us arrange an ATV adventure with Blazing Trails which I highly recommend! A special shout out to all the amazing people that work at the Velkommen especially Phara, Tut and Borin. All in all a must stay while in PP. Cheers guys!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie9979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#27 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.1 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#51 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#65 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Europe Guest House
Europe Guest House
#2 of 317 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velkommen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velkommen Guesthouse

Property: Velkommen Guesthouse
Address: #18 St 144, Riverside | Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 317 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Velkommen Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Velkommen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velkommen Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing