We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Velkommen Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Clean, basic rooms. Good location, really close to the riverside. The place has around 7 floors with no elevator, so be prepared to climb a lot of stairs. The owners helpful and the staff are friendly enough, but they get confused easily, so make sure they understand what you want. Stayed late Dec 2012 in a double room with a/c for 16USD, breakfast wasn't included.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lana315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 335 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights. The hostel id Very we'll located, rooms are próspero in space, just that our room didn't have window but I don't thinks is a problem. Staff is average helpful And we noticed tuk tuk's from hotel are a little mire expensive. Breakfast is good with affordable prices. Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcposada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and loved every second. The staff were incredibly friendly and genuine and made me feel at home! The location was perfect close to the river with plenty of places to eat and drink. We rented bicycles from Grasshopper right across the road and the sites around the city were easy to get to. The manager Gavin helped us arrange an ATV adventure with Blazing Trails which I highly recommend! A special shout out to all the amazing people that work at the Velkommen especially Phara, Tut and Borin. All in all a must stay while in PP. Cheers guys!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie9979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellent place! Nice rooms, friendly staff, good location close to the river, safety box in the rooms, free WiFi. British manager Gavin is a great guy – will help you with anything you need. I highly recommend this guesthouse. I stayed there for more than a month, in different priced rooms. The penthouse suite on the 6th floor, with a huge outdoor space, is awesome value for $45 – there is nothing even close to this suite for this price in Phnom Penh. The balcony room for $35 is large and impressive. The standard double for $16 is good value for the quality and location. If you are on a tight budget, go across the street to Velkommen Backpackers, which is also good quality. James from USA

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

stayed at the double queen room, enough for 4 people. the room is big, bathroom big, no balcony and small windows. no problem if you use the place for sleeping and bathing only. got TV, wi-fi signal not that reliable but it's there. Nice lounge area at the Ground floor. I won't have any doubts if I need a place to check in here again. Staff are friendly and helpful, Arranged a nice tuk-tuk driver for a reasonable price to tour the city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waleos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My favorite and eight other friends during our long journey. Very nice, spacious rooms, clean bathrooms, good location because it is very close to the edge of the river and a five minute walk to the night market :)
All in all, We felt Velkommen provided excellent value for its cleanliness and location, I would recommend this place to everyone!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here with 3 friends, and it was awesome. big clean room, newly furnished bathroom, large balcony with seating and coffee table, tv, fridge, free wifi and most of all great location, 1-minute wallk to the riverside. we got a spacious room and overlooking the Velkommen Dormitory, right opposite the guesthouse. You might want to stay there, if you want to meet and mingle with other backpackers, but if long night-baby sleep is what u are looking for, so this is the perfect spot to stay.

The only thing is the entrance will bu shut at midnight. so u have to knock to enter. and in this case, the Velkommen dorm wins.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haikal_Hazman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
Vacation Boutique Hotel
Vacation Boutique Hotel
#30 of 275 in Phnom Penh
161 reviews
1.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#17 of 275 in Phnom Penh
1,193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Good Morning Guesthouse
Good Morning Guesthouse
#19 of 333 in Phnom Penh
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 333 in Phnom Penh
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europe Guest House
Europe Guest House
#2 of 333 in Phnom Penh
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Artist Guesthouse
The Artist Guesthouse
#8 of 333 in Phnom Penh
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velkommen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velkommen Guesthouse

Address: #18 St 144, Riverside | Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $16 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Velkommen Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velkommen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velkommen Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing