We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Velkommen Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Velkommen Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Arriving after a long bus ride we were warmly received. A staff member carried our bags to our room and offered us all sorts of tourist advice. The room was clean and spacious and the bathroom newly renovated. Only complaint is that the window did not let in any light as the building next to us was a mere 12inches. Great location for bars and restaurants, and close to the royal palace and food market. Around the corner is the river and the main downtown street. May try to negotiate a lower price though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    133
    43
    15
    7
See reviews for
18
125
80
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Having stayed at this clean ,comfortable and friendly guesthouse on more than one occasion now.I feel compelled to write my first ever review.I would totally recommend this place to stay,as the rooms a very reasonably priced,and are kept squeaky clean (something that i find quite rare in Asia.I would also like to say the staff are some of the most helpful people i have come across in this part of the world,nothing is ever too much of a bother for them.It has a nice friendly bar and restaurant,with good quality food.I can not pick a fault with this place,even its location is spot on.Very satisfied customer,sure to return..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 914Gregk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I booked a standard 4 bed ensuite from Velkommen expecting a 4 single bed. Arrived and was told that the 4 beds room was taken by someone else and we have to take 2 double room. We were fine for the 1st night thinking that we will move to 4 bed room the next day. We did move the next day but to a 2 double bed room, which I think it is totally different from what I expected from the booking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tham1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I am a repeat stayer with Velkommen, so that says plenty in itself. This time I stayed 2 weeks,in the top penthouse suite. This is a spacious, comfortable room with a large balcony overlooking the river in one direction and towards Central Market in the other. Great to sit out there with a cold drink and watch the approaching afternoon thunderstorm. The hotel is in an excellent location, close to the river and all the bars and restaurants, but without the thumping music of nightclubs to disturb your sleep. The staff are very friendly and helpful - I observed many backpackers using the travel service to book onward bus tickets. The hotel is also the base for the Phnom Penh Hash House Harriers running group for those interested in getting out into the countryside and seeing a bit of the real Cambodia. I will be back at Velcommen Inn in a months time for a running weekend, and am bringing friends along.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KangaStevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kells, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The room was very nice....very big and clean with a good ensuite and shower. It had a fridge and WIFI as well. Bed was good size but pillows were terrible and bed was uncomfortable and aircon dripped onto our head at night. We went to S21 and Killing Fields with a tuk tuk that is outside the guesthouse, they have a few tuk tuks outside all the time. The guesthouse is beside the river and has lots of restaurants and bars beside it.
The staff, however, were not very helpful. We booked a bus to Siem Reap through them which they told us were new, very comfortable and reliable. We asked them about the Mekong Express but they said that this was the bus to get; it was more expensive but worth it and much better. The bus was a tiny minibus which never arrived to pick us up in the morning and was poor in comparison to the Mekong Express bus we got to Phnom Penh.
The morning we were leaving they kept trying to make us sit outside instead of inside when we had checked out. We asked them a few times if they were sure the bus was coming for us and they lied to us, laughed at us and never rang the company. Finally, when we insisted they ring in front of us, they did.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uichonduibh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We satyed in a $35 room the first night- it was massive, comfortable, and very clean. We stayed in a $16 room for the next three nights- it was so teenie tiny, but clean and functional. The small rooms don't have a fridge, too bad. There were also alot of small ants in the room (not the big room though). The noise from the surrounding buildings/bars/street is quite annoying- but it is a big city, and it is located right by the waterfront. You can walk to some of PP's sights, and restaurants. We booked our tuk tuk through them to go to the killing fields, s-21 and Russian market $15. Staff are friendly. Breakfast is not included, but is fairly cheap. Hope this helps!

Room Tip: big room #5 is awsome. #7 is small, and there are lots of steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baivw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is a very good guesthouse. I stayed 6 days and room, 203, was adequate to my needs, clean, with a good sized, modern bathroom, comfortable bed and with other extra amenities I appreciated like a closet and fridge.The staff was always very helpful. Because of the area it can be quite noisy.

For me the location didn't work, but I'm sure it would be great for some. The area focuses on tourist bars and alcohol which I found the slighty sleazy. While I'm sure it would be perfect for some, there are other equivalent guesthouses in more charming areas in PP more oriented to Cafes and boutique shopping in quieter, tree lined streets, like around St 51 near the Independence monument.

Room Tip: I wouldn't choose a room in the front if you need quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#26 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.1 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#52 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#64 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.8 mi away
PRASATs Boutique Hotel
PRASATs Boutique Hotel
#35 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.1 mi away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velkommen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velkommen Guesthouse

Property: Velkommen Guesthouse
Address: #18 St 144, Riverside | Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Velkommen Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Velkommen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velkommen Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing