We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always good”

Armand's - The Bistro
Ranked #155 of 1,414 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Armand's classic menu, which includes steak, duck, baked Alaska and unique personal touch have provided the solid foundations on which his Phnom Penh reputation has been built. Come anytime, you can get a tournedos rossini at 11pm if you want to... With the grace of a master artisan, Armand works before his guests splashing on cognac into a pan before setting it alight and frying the tenderloin in a blue glow. As the flames flicker out, Kampot pepper sauce is added to the pan and Fois Gras is folded in. The meat, ever centre stage, is cooked in the sauce, reaching perfection before being plated. Busy each night with friendly people, you will never regret your visit at Armand's Bistro...
uk
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We always start our trip to Phnom Penh with dinner at Armand. Very French which is both good and amusing, no, you can't have anything that is not on the menu, but I like the eccentricities. We do splash out and the food is always good but the foie gras starter I had last time was small, not that good and too expensive @ $20. Never mind I will avoid that next time but will keep returning and we have had many nice evenings there, thank you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    67
    10
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best steak in Phnom Penh”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Title says it all. Very good and about $70 for two with drinks and appetizers included. House red wine is great.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lostinmacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely overrated”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Armand is an institution and quite famous in Phnom Penh. Maybe the reputation as one of the capital's premier dining places was well-deserved in the past, but things have certainly changed. We ordered the steaks and got them cooked in front of us with fire and everything. However, the meat was not of good quality and had a strange taste to it. The sauce was tasteless like the appetizers. In sum, the food was mediocre at best. If you combine that with the prices, then Armand probably has one of Phnom Penh's worst price-to-value ration.

Phnom Penh has so many good dining places. Considering the prices at Armand, it is absolute not worth going there other than the atmosphere. Topaz comes well-recommended for a good steak, while Zino and Bouchon are excellent for a good glass of wine and reasonably priced food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens Bech P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“When you feel like real french taste in Phnom Penh”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

At Armand, you feel like you are in France, in one of those small addresses you want to keep for yourself and your friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bardelacote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bussy , good”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Most of the times i went its weekday , not to late becaurse can get quick full, always very good starters , steaks even flambe , wine list excellent..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank pierre g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armand's - The Bistro also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Armand's - The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing