We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Steaks, Superb French Onion Soup”

Armand's - The Bistro
Ranked #148 of 1,403 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Armand's classic menu, which includes steak, duck, baked Alaska and unique personal touch have provided the solid foundations on which his Phnom Penh reputation has been built. Come anytime, you can get a tournedos rossini at 11pm if you want to... With the grace of a master artisan, Armand works before his guests splashing on cognac into a pan before setting it alight and frying the tenderloin in a blue glow. As the flames flicker out, Kampot pepper sauce is added to the pan and Fois Gras is folded in. The meat, ever centre stage, is cooked in the sauce, reaching perfection before being plated. Busy each night with friendly people, you will never regret your visit at Armand's Bistro...
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Steaks, Superb French Onion Soup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I always visit Armand's when I am in Phnom Penh. Armand, who is a flamboyant character, consistently serves probably the best steaks, lamb and duck breast in Phnom Penh. The French Onion Soup is the best I have ever tasted and is worth the trip itself. The house red, Merlot Grand Sud, is excellent and he has a very good, if expensive, wine list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alibaba50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    67
    10
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't go unless you like your steak rare and don't mind smokers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were a group of 5 and booked here for a friend's birthday dinner. Armand was helpful with ordering but the rib eye for two was very big and it was VERY rare. (I found it too rare to eat, but my husband, who enjoys medium rare steak, could enjoy some of it. One friend had the duck breast which was tasty. Another friend had the filet mignon which she enjoyed but again it was quite bloody. We had the house wine which was fine. Service was good, but I had to ask for glasses of water numerous times before water was served. Unfortunately there were two smokers at the table next to us. The ventilation was good so we were not bothered too much but why allow smoking in an indoor air conditioned place? I agree with another reviewer that Armand is a bit arrogant. One note, the restaurant is across the road from the night market so you might want to plan to visit the market either before or after dining.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronandjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

friends that live in phnom penh took me to this place.
a paradise for meat lover although you can find anything you like.
homely food, good wines and a great atmosphere brought on by the most colorful host i saw in Asia. a place to go and to return to

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank i_comme_iker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Although a little expensive for a family dinner, we kept a wonderful souvenir of this restaurant and its fabolous steaks. Very good service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“indifferent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

i had high expectations and whilst the steak was good everything was a bit of a drama. wine was expensive. i would go back though

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank thecritic t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armand's - The Bistro also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Armand's - The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing