We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like home, only better!”

The Flicks Community Movie Houses
Ranked #2 of 19 Fun & Games in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Flicks Community Movie Theaters are the really unique locations in Phnom Penh where you can enjoy the blockbusters, documentaries and the classics on a big wide screen, in "uber-comfy" air conditioned movie rooms, from before there were big cineplexes. The Flicks are the ONLY legit movie theaters in town also, fully approved by the Ministry of Culture and the Cambodian Department of Cinema. The Flicks 1 on Street 95 is the legendary little movie theater from the time there was no other big screen in town, located in an original wooden Cambodian house and features an all air conditioned bar and a leafy outside terrace. Its movie room seats 32 people. The Flicks 2 is its little brother in the city center and also screens the must-see movie for all visitors, The Killing Fields, daily in its 16 seats movie room, located on the 2nd floor of a backpackers hotel. Enjoy your movies for only $3.50 per day, with a drink, snacks and homemade fresh popcorn!
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just like home, only better!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A great place to watch some great films. I watched 2 films here while I was in PP and both were superb. Both festival films that it would be hard (or impossible) to find at traditional cinemas.
You can lounge in mattresses or, if you for some reason prefer to be upright, there are couches too. $3.50 buys you entrance for the whole day, so you can stay and watch up to 3 movies back-to-back. A great way to waste a rainy day!
The is air con, a bar, snacks (including popcorn), and you can even order meals to be delivered from nearby restaurants.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank filmchick81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    60
    15
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Change of pace”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Easy to get too,,along street 310 and down street 95 and its on the right..there is a sign so you won't miss it.
The films and times you can get on the net,just walk in through the gate and up the stairs right in front of you..
It's all wood and you tend to bounce abit,well I did,..
Take of your shoes and buy your ticket,order your sweets pop corn beer juice,what ever and enter the viewing room.
There is beds on the floor,chairs with cushions and a massive wall screen about 20 feet in front of you..
It was class,drank a few beers and totally relaxing atmosphere..
It's different and I loved it.try it when your here,you will not be disappointed ..an experience ..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leon9mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The most comfortable movie experience in Asia!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I love The Flicks Movie House and would highly recommend it. The owner, Ramon, is more than hospitable, and the volunteer staff are also happy to help with anything. They show an excellent mix of films, such as old classics, Cambodia-related material, popular television series, and new blockbusters, all for only $3.50 for the whole day. It's a great place for backpackers as well as Phnom Penh expats. The place is comfortable, has delicious food and drinks, and Ramon is constantly running around to make it even better... new cushions and carpet, aircon everywhere, etc. You can tell that he really cares about the place and the guests' enjoyment and satisfaction. Good job Flicks!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amylynn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“movies in SE Asia”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

after watching DVDs in backpacker hostels, this was a real treat. feels like one is in a real city!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank laura b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great for backpacking cinema junkies”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Before I set off backpacking for a year I used to go to the cinema a lot. So really miss it. This place really scratched my itch. We could only go one particular night but that didnt matter because they have great films every day of the week. Whoever picks the films has great taste.

When we arrived (shoes off on arrival just makes it even more comfortable) a party had rented a showing and were watching Lost Boys and seemed like they were having an awesome time. I really wish we got to do that.

Snacks are good. Drinks are good. Staff are friendly. I wish I worked here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flicks Community Movie Houses also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to The Flicks Community Movie Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing