We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast!”
Review of Veiyo Tonle Restaurant - CLOSED

Veiyo Tonle Restaurant
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Authentic Khmer dishes and irresistible charcoal-fired pizza! Established in 1998 by Neth and his wife, Thavy, Veiyo Tonle is a family restaurant with a vast food offering. Nestled along the picturesque riverfront, Veiyo Tonle is the convergence of western cuisine classics and Cambodian local delights like Loc Lac (stir-fried beef) and Fish Amok. Art is the soul of a nation, a soul of each country. Cambodian government has been trying to show its arts to international guests to know about Cambodia; especially Cambodian government has been encouraging Cambodian in this generation to study art classes or even allowed them to study arts with free of charge. Each government is trying very hard to inspire its people to preserve arts that there is an ideology raised "When the arts fall down, the nation will be destroyed, but when the arts is glorious, the nation will be prosperous." Make sure you drop by on the weekends for a treat of traditional Apsara dances performed by the multi-talented NCCLA children. Take in the scenic views of the Tonle Sap river at Veiyo Tonle, which is nestled at the heart of the breath taking riverfront. Intricately decorated in fine rattan infused with the local Cambodian crafts, Veiyo Tonle packs in an authentic Cambodian dining experience you wouldn't want to miss. Veiyo Tonle restaurant Open Daily for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner (Monday - Sunday) From: 6:30am till Late
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Recommend by my guesthouse's owner. I had my breakfast here. The breakfast was really good. Definitely will try again if I have a chance to go.

I go for the 2nd time for my dinner. However, the pizza is not as good as I expected. Deep fries spring roll on the other hand is good.

Worth to give a try if you are nearby.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BP_MOk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veiyotonle, General Manager at Veiyo Tonle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,
We love your reviews about our restaurant on TripAdvisor - As we promised we serve everything only the best to customers!
Looking forward to serving you again for your next visit, hopefully in the near future.

Note:
During Chinese New Year, our restaurant will still be open to serve you as usual, please be informed.
Many thank you!! Happy Chinese New Year!!
May you, your company and your family be blessed with eternal peace, prosperity, good health and every success!

Best Regards,
Lay Neth
G. M of the Veiyo Tonle restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 155 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

I found this restaurant last year and make an effort to visit at least once every time I am in Phnom Penh. The food is very good, especially the Khmer food, the staff are wonderful, and the cause (the children) is heart-warming.

It will always remain on my list of restaurants when I'm in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SaigonExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veiyotonle, General Manager at Veiyo Tonle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Valued Customer,

We love your reviews about our restaurant on TripAdvisor - As we promised we serve everything only the best to customers!
Looking forward to serving you again for your next visit, hopefully in the near future.

Best regards,
Lay Neth
G. M at Veiyo Tonle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This restaurant serves very good Khmer food at the same time it looks after very young children while the older ones work in the restaurant to gain work skills.
A great place to sit and eat while giving something back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veiyotonle, General Manager at Veiyo Tonle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the representative and the entire team at Veiyo Tonle Restaurant, we would like to express our heartfelt and sincere gratitude for your wonderful comments about our restaurant services which have been shared with all of our staffs with great pride. Please pass my special thank you to all your friends in country for their kindly support our work.

It is too far away from your country to Cambodia but our heart is very near to each other. Again! Thank you for choosing Veiyo Tonle restaurant as the good place to eat and drink and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Lay Neth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Of all the riverfront places only here and Cantina have ice cold large beerlao bottles, and they are only $2.50 at this place, with an ice frosted glass. This is the main attraction for me, but also had one of their pizzas - blue cheese and anchovie - and it was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bluecramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veiyotonle, Owner at Veiyo Tonle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear valued customer. Thank you for choosing our place. We will try to improve even more for you on your next visit. With the best drinks (and really even the food, did you try it?) -- cheers!


Best regards,
Lay Neth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Found this place and sister restaurant a few 100m away along river front, by searching for orphanages in PP, all profits from these 2 restaurants go back into helping the kids, the food is very good and well priced, staff are the older kids from the Orphange who are at school or studying at uni, all speak English well, I ate here breakfast every morn while I here , and dinner a few times, the spaghetti Bolognaise is very good. I went around corner and visited where the kids live, it is in a bld up on top floors,no grass or yard for kids to play , I will be back in PP soon, and will purchase a 50 kg bag of rice , it will last 2 weeks for them, this Orphange has no gov support, just money from restaurants and tourists helping out .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gary094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veiyotonle, General Manager at Veiyo Tonle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

General Manager at Veiyo Tonle Restaurant
May 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
On behalf of the whole team at Veiyo Tonle restaurant, we would like to express our heartfelt and sincere gratitude for your wonderful comments which have been shared with all of our staffs with great pride. Thank you so much for your support our project! Again, thank you for choosing our place to eat & drink.
We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Lay Neth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veiyo Tonle Restaurant also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing