We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu !”

Open Wine Restaurant
Ranked #86 of 1,428 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $50
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great menu !”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Third time in Phnom Penh and, of course, third time at Open Wine. We love this place. Went already twice for lunch and once for dinner. Fantastic French Cuisine, wish there where more places like that!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    61
    24
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit a french touch”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

After 2 weeks eating rice and local food we came to that place recommanded by freind expat in Cambodia. We felt like in France, owners very nice, staff efficient and the most important : great food. $10usd for the 3 course lunch...wouhhaaa!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A major disappointment”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was in PP in may and really enjoyed the lunch we had at Open Wine, so I thought I'd take my 11 Gold and Gourmet buddies there for a dinner. What a mistake that was!

On a Friday night, it was just us in the place, which is never a good sign. We came in, and it felt like we were not a priority. It look a long time to get drinks, we had to ask for refills of the wine, we had to ask to order and once we ordered it took a long time for the food to get there.

The fois gras was too well done, and didnt taste half as good as it did at La Residence. All of us ordered a Rib Beef medium, and let me tell you, it came out just about rare. When we highlighted that to the waiter he brought it back out and when it came out it was just as red. Everyone, all 10 who had ordered the beef, didnt finish their meal. As a matter of fact it was so chewy and dry that most had 2 or 3 bites and left it.

The chef or owner, who stood at the bar two meters away saw the waiter bringing the beef back and forth, but he showed no care at all. One would have expected him to come up and ask what was wrong, but nothing.

We all agree that a visit back to Open Wine will never happen.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikejk_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Deal For Lunch”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I'm a big fan of the lunch specials! $10 for a 3-course menu with possibilities consisting of steaks, fish, and legit salads keep me coming back. I think it is called "Business Lunch" and like the name implies, it is a good place for meetings.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 944JessicaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Open Wine - #219, Street 19, Phnom Penh, Cambodia”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are regular lunch time diners here as their specials are very good.

It's a lovely French / international restaurant with a very friendly and attentive owner / manager, Frank.

This time we went in the evening which is a different menu. The occasion was our wedding anniversary (more than 4 decades) so we wanted to enjoy.

The meal, the service, and the value did not disappoint - one of the nicest nights out we've had in more than 7 years in Phnom Penh. There's a smoking and non smoking section or you can sit outside in the "cooler" months.

Well worth a visit.
Jeff Whittaker.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffWhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open Wine Restaurant also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Open Wine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing