We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional French cuisine at outstanding prices for lunch, more expensive for dinner”

Open Wine Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 1,404 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $50
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional French cuisine at outstanding prices for lunch, more expensive for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just had lunch at Open Wine - what a delight! Had an excellent three course lunch with salade de chevre, rumsteak with pepper sauce and french fries and a wonderful dark choclolate mousse for dessert - all for incredible $10. The restaurant also offers an excellent choice of wines by the glass (generous servings) at very good prices (French Merlot at $4 for a glass). The meat is by far the best I have in Cambodia. The dinner menu is more expensive than the lunch three course offering (at least twice the lunch prices), however if the level of quality I experienced for a quick lunch is any indication, it should still be worth it at the higher dinner prices.

Service was impeccable, efficient delivery of dishes and attentive serving of water and (warm) bread throughout the meal.

Having lived in Phnom Penh for several months, I'm sorry not to have found this place sooner. I'm flying to Paris tonight, but the next French meal I look most forward to will be in Phnom Penh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank espry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    60
    24
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“(Open) Wine”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a wine 'restaurant' that seeks to be a cut-above but doesn't know how to present a wine list - certainly not a by-the-glass list. Note to The Wine Restaurant / The Open Wine Restaurant - each wine needs to be listed by name, variety/ies, vintage, origin. In your case, as an up-market establishment, 'origin' means region and country. Also the food was so expensive (not cheap even by Australian standards), that we were already thinking twice about eating there. Then when the wine list failed to give the most basic of information about wines by the glass, we lost confidence in the ability of management (not waiting staff), to supply a meal worthy of the price. As a party of 2 and keen wine tasters we rarely buy a whole bottle of any one wine, preferring instead to try a variety of what's on offer. The experience became more unpleasant when we sought to settle our bill and leave after a glass of wine each. Something of a Fawlty Towers dining experience with agro. Nasty.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Palitja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good food (mostly) but should be better for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Just eaten here for a final splurge before flying back to England and certainly acclimatised us back to European prices ! Some of the food very good, really enjoyed my goats cheese salad starter but $14 was a bit exorbitant. Most of the starters are $10-20 and the mains are $20-30, so about 5 times typical Cambodian prices. The service should have been excellent for these prices and unfortunately it wasn't. The food should have been brilliant not just very good. My 'rib-eye' steak was good but I'm sure it was a sirloin. On the whole a bit disappointing .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbottomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“delicious food & excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I had dinner here whilst on holiday in Phnom Penh in October. Sat outside on a lovely warm evening and sipped champagne! My starter of 'house' smoked salmon was excellent. For main course I had the duck which was delicious and an excellent green salad. The young waiter who served me was very knowledgable of both the food and wine menu. A lovely evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lv9059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This place is amazing! How the owner can serve such delicious food at that price!?

Coming from Bangkok, I dream about such value for money.

The lunch menu is at 10 US$ net, including appetizer, main course and dessert!

Finaly a real bread, baked brown, crusty and well seasoned. All the food are well prepared, well seasonned, large portion.

The owner is really nice and respect the clientele. If you go to Phnom Penh and you want to try a real French restaurant with an exeptional value for money, I strongly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open Wine Restaurant also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Open Wine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing