We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Green House
Ranked #232 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

i stayed in a double room at the green house. the room was clean and very spacious except it always smelled stuffy for some reason. the staff were friendly but didn't have any maps to give and didn't know much about the area. the location is close to the russian market which was good but the walk to and back from the hostel at night for a girl could be a little unsafe (that's what we heard at least). there's a computer in the lobby but the mouse was not working most of the time and the staff were helpful trying to fix it or try another one but it was always a hassle to just check my email for a few minutes.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank nadaatalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
1
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

While not in the "heart" of Phnom Penh's tourist district, the neighborhood surrounding the Russian Market offers a great way to experience the city and feel a little like a local. It's easy to get around and down to the Riverside, by tuk tuk, moto or bicycle.

The Green House offers nice, clean rooms in a hotel setting, but with staff that made it feel like a guest house. Everyone was so nice and tried their best to help, even if they didn't have immediate answers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rdetata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I enjoyed my stay and will be staying here again when I come back! Staff were very friendly! There's a computer in the lobby you can use. My only complaint was going up the steps to my room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

When I first was looking for a hotel to stay at in Phnom Penh on Agoda.com in the price range of USD$10-$15 I found this hotel that had very nice pictures of it. So I booked it and when I turned up the lobby was very tidy and welcoming and seemed all good.
But after checking into my room I soon found out why it was so cheap. The bed linen was old and didn't seem very clean. My view out of my window was of a very old derelict building. On Agoda it said they still had rooms available with a balcony and a view onto the road which I asked about, but they said they were full (which I have my doubts about). The worst part was the bathroom which seemed like it had never been cleaned before. The lower walls were absolutely filthy. Also the location was bad....which was my fault as I didn't research that part well enough.
Overall, I would not stay here again, but I guess you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you do choose to stay here, make sure you get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KiwiDiverAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.0 mi away
PRASATs Boutique Hotel
PRASATs Boutique Hotel
#32 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#33 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Property: The Green House
Address: #48FGH, St.488, 03Village | Psharderm Thkov, khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Hotel Class:2 star — The Green House 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing