We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located”
Review of Paddy Rice Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paddy Rice Hotel
Ranked #165 of 334 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very fast check in, even though the first staff led me to the wrong direction. The room was small but clean. It could be noisy in the evening with the bar downstairs, but quiet at night.

The hotel is ideally located along the riverside with plenty of good restaurants from different cuisines at very reasonable price. Then you may find numerous bars for party.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 39 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Booked a standard room through booking.com & the photos are misleading since they are off deluxe room. Upon arrival we came to know that standard room was like a broom cupboard without windows. The AC was just cooling the room enough & had to be left on 24/7 even when we were out since it would take time to cool again.
Bathroom amenities were non-existent not even a soap to wash hands was given. We were 2 of us but had to go down & ask for extra towels etc since the phone was there but of no use.
There are steps in this hotel & were offered no help in carrying luggage.
There are lizards roaming the corridors & their noise was very loud during the night.
Receptionist were always seen watching youtube or on Facebook or chatting on their computer. At night we found the receptionist sleeping in the store room.
Upon asking to shift into the deluxe room we were told everything is sold out till our check out date, which was not true since we saw the rooms being serviced by housekeeping & they were empty.
TV was the size of a small LCD monitor which caused pain & strain to our eyes.
The only good thing is its location on the quay but later while walking around we found lots of other better looking, newer hotels around.
If possible avoid the standard room only deluxe room is worth booking.

Room Tip: Book only deluxe category. Standard category has no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zareen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I requested a non smoking room in 1st floor. Instead I was given a room with no view in the 2nd floor. I have to climb 42 steps and walk another 20 steps with my luggage to get to the room.This hotel has no non-smoking rooms all the corridors smell of smoke. There are no porters to take the luggage to the room. There are no lifts.
There is no room service, no coffee and tea making facility, no massage service , no laundry, no travel arrangement facility. Most of the time there is no body in the reception during day and night.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side has good view but will be very hot during day due to direct sun. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balakrishna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

i flew in from Bangkok.the hotel taxi was there awaiting me.and from that point on, all went 100% stress free.this hotel is perfectly placed.the manager and receptionist are extremely polite, sociable, helpful & English speaking,and a pleasure to spend time with.the food is excellent offering a wide choice of euro/cambo..on this occasions i was Not looking for swimming pools or glittering palace's. i wanted a good budget hotel that i could recommend to our world wide clients that sometimes also wish to visit Cambodia.this one is very recommendable.
there are a choice of several types of rooms.single occ. or couple very cheap and comfortable! or larger for a family, again cheap and even more comfortable with great views of the river and its host of large & small boats..the young ladies who clean are very efficient and welcome you each morning with a lovely smile!this location is ideal for seeing reality Cambodia,
its on your door step.the streets although extremely safe ,do show terrible poverty and extreme wealth.the wealth of the few is quite sickening.the poverty is sometimes quite heartbreaking to see.but we specialise in showing reality for over 15yrs. these poor families you will see, are warm friendly people and deserve your attention.a smile will cost you nothing.a dollar will ensure them 4 meals that day!
i see many comments about the twk twk drivers trying to sell you a ride,It is their only form of income,they have to ask!!!!.a nod and a smile that's all you need in reply. i stayed a week ,i used them on many occasions.all were reliable and prices are next to nothing would certainly recommend paddy rice as a really excellent budget hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are sound proof,all rooms have excellent air / con. 1 type is larger with balcony & s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimmyLamaiLiziJolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Right in the middle of the riverside area. The room was OK, clean enough, although the bed was pretty hard! Breakfast was OK, but that's where the positives end. Our welcome at reception was fairly ordinary, compared to others we have had on our trip. Reception was often unmanned which wasn't terribly helpful. The worst part was the street noise. I had read this in other reviews, so was happy to accept one of the side rooms, NOT overlooking the river. First we had a birthday party happening just outside our window till late, then once that stopped we had an annoying drunk yelling outside for what seemed like hours. If you have ear plugs, its worth a try for the location, but we left Phnom Penh a day early not wanting a repeat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 1 night in a deluxe room. I will start with the positive points.
Location is good, it's at the river front and there are enough bars, shops and restaurants in the neigbourhood. Room size is OK, our room also had a balcony with river view. Dinner and breakfast is good. Friendly staff.
NEGATIVE: The airconditioning in our room (number 102) was very old. It took several hours (!!) before the room was cool again. Also, bring earplugs! You will need them if there is a live band playing downstairs. Last negative point is the kind of public visiting the pub downstairs. The general public that is eating and drinking downstairs consists of older men (50 years and up) from England, with beautiful young Cambodian women beside them... You do the math...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jopie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our room was clean and spacious with a wide range of television channels on the flatscreen TV as well as free wifi. We paid extra for a room with a balcony and it was worth the money as we had a beautiful view of the the Mekong River and the main boulevard. Staff were very helpful and assisted us with getting our Vietnam visas as well as our express boat tickets to Phnom Penh. A delicious breakfast was included in the price of our room. Their restaurant on the main level offered a variety of items on their menu. Noise from the busy main street could be heard in the room but that was not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
#44 of 274 in Phnom Penh
458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homeland Guesthouse
Homeland Guesthouse
#75 of 334 in Phnom Penh
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#33 of 274 in Phnom Penh
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,535 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#17 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddy Rice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy Rice Hotel

Address: 213 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Hotel Class:3 star — Paddy Rice Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing