We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plenty good enough if you're passing through Phnom Penh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paddy Rice Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paddy Rice Hotel
Ranked #167 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Could be anywhere
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Plenty good enough if you're passing through Phnom Penh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

If you want a clean and decently equipped room in Phnom Penh, particularly near the river, Paddy Rice works. It's not a luxurious spa-retreat but it's not bottom-of-the barrel, either.

I often do dirt bike riding in Cambodia and between trips I want to have a decent room in Phnom Penh. Paddy Rice will be my go-to place from now on. I got the top floor "deluxe" or whatever, the one with windows on two sides. Nice room and the price is fair enough, especially since it includes breakfast.

The music downstairs is outstanding, and stops at midnight so you can still get a good night's sleep.

Location is great if you want to visit local nightlife, as well.

Room Tip: Get one of the corner rooms, either 105 or 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank expatsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
8
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We booked the Deluxe Room with Balcony and we got such an amazing view of Tonle Sap. The room is very comfy, clean with good bed. Our unit is exactly at the corner on top of the restaurant (they call it 2nd floor though it is actually the 1st floor from the ground). Eventhough there are always people at the restaurant, music blasting out and sports channel on all the time, the noise did not get to us but the noise of cars passing by especially those that honks are the one that kind of disturb my sleep. If you request for upper floor, be ready to climb the stairs 'coz there are no elevator here so choose wisely between upper floor less noise or lower floor with noise from the road just outside the room.

For the complimentary breakfast that comes with the room, it is a choice between eggs, toasts, jam and butter or a bowl of muesli with honey and yogurt and beverage of either coffee or tea though sky juice is free-of-charge.

Free WiFi is a bonus and the speed is fantastic!

Getting around is a breeze as restaurants, pubs, shops, night market are just within walking distance. Tuk-tuk and taxis will always be outside or beside Paddy Rice with Tuk-tuk charging from USD2 per destination.

We really like Paddy Rice and would recommend it to friends and relatives.

Room Tip: If you can take the stairs, ask for upper floors with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina-NF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel;bourne
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

I spent an initial 4 nights there and feeling very comfortable and well looked after booked in again for my last 3 nights in Cambodia after my trip to Siem Reap. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, if they had trouble understanding my request they always found someone else who could help. Food very good especia, homemade bread, the Best! The rooms are being updated, I stayed in 2 different old style which were very clean, and light. No request was too much trouble for the manager Darren and he was full of advise for site seeing. I would happily stay at Paddy Rice on my return to Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: All are good, Delux is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crowds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

There are better options in Phnom Pemh. The rooms without any window are "standard" and are nothing more than a concrete box. Think "solitary confinement" and you get the general idea.

There are rooms that are better, at half the cost at other properties.

The location is good and convenient.

The management is genuinely concerned about customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kovanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkk
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Rooms very small , very basic but the best breakfast in cambodia, very good food i had several items on menu all first class and clean, near lots of nightlife and security staff very good!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spacemanBkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

We stayed at Paddy Rice for 2 nights following our stay in Siem Reap. We arrived by bus (Mekong Express – takes 5 or so hrs from SR) and the bus drops you off at the company’s head office – right on Sisowath Quay. Paddy Rice is situated slap bang in the middle of all the bars/restaurants on Sisowath Quay & it’s only a 10 min walk to the National Museum & Royal Palace so location wise it’s great. Reception is on the 1st floor (no lift). Check in took all of 10 seconds as the young woman on the desk didn’t seem to speak any English. Our room was on the next floor (no lift & it’s an outside staircase). We were lucky as although we only booked a standard room, we still got a window (very tinted though as was overlooking a bar so it didn’t really let much light in). A lot of the rooms that we saw were even darker or had no windows so seemed quite dingy. There’s also a bit of a lack of lighting in the room or what lighting there was, didn’t work. Wanting a shower after our long journey we were disappointed as there was no hot water. We had to mention this twice but it was resolved later that afternoon. We also had a bit of an ‘ant issue’ in the bathroom. The bathroom is a standard Asian budget style bathroom (i.e shower being open with no curtain or door but we had got used to the floor drenching by now). Unfortunately there appeared to be some sort of small red ant infestation in the drain in the corner though so hanging towels on the wall hook/leaving toothbrushes etc out was a no no as they really got everywhere. Washing them back down the drain didn’t seem to work either! The thing that really makes this guesthouse is the breakfast – a really great Irish cooked breakfast! There are other healthier options but I would definitely take advantage of the ½ Irish brekkie – a welcome treat after streaky bacon scrimpets & chicken sausages elsewhere! Breakfast is served 6.30 until 10 pm!!!! Yes, pm! Great if you want to do some early sightseeing & eat later on in the day. A big thank you to the guy who works on reception on the late shift – he was really friendly & helpful & as we were leaving very early to fly to KL, he wangled it so that we could have our last breakfast the day before as the kitchen wouldn’t have been open when we were leaving. As a result we had our usual morning breakfast & then we had another one that evening! So good we ate 2 in one day! Would I stay here again - maybe, although I think there are other cheaper/nicer options available.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intrepidtraveller39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

Booked on Agoda last minute as preferred places all full due to CNY. On arrival they did not have the room as requested - had twin instead of double beds 1st floor balcony. Cost of USD60 - worth about $25. Toilet was dirty so asked it to be cleaned. Cleaning staff had gone home but front of desk cleaned the bathroom himself (and was helpful for other problems). Room itself not well kept. It was one of those rooms where you didn't really want to touch anything you did not have to - and you checked the sheets to make sure they had definitely being changed from the last guest. NO SENSE OF PRIDE from our perspective. On arrival back from dinner - the aircon had leaked all over the bed. At this point - the friendly front of desk offered to change the mattress and pull the bed forward for us as there were no other rooms available. We rang the manager - they arranged to pay for a room across the road at another hotel - that was clean and spacious but cost only USD35. We received NO REFUND but kept the inclusive breakfast at Paddy Rice. Breakfast - pub food - you may like if you have a hangover or used to average cooked breakfasts. After 5 days in Cambodia this was a disappointing end. Location - fine if you like the girly bars next door, massive rats in the alleyway, piles of rubbish but on the main street across from the river.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelalotJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#62 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#33 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.0 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#82 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
#45 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#54 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Suites
Riverside Suites
#55 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddy Rice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy Rice Hotel

Property: Paddy Rice Hotel
Address: 213 Sisowath Quay (corner of Street 136), Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Hotel Class:3 star — Paddy Rice Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing