We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sugar Palm

The Sugar Palm
Ranked #71 of 1,382 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Nice colonial house in the centrer of Phnom Penh. Air-conditioned restaurant with non smoking or smoking rooms. Traditional food and large diversity.
NYC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

First taste of local cuisine....recommended by hotel. Nice ambiance, sat on veranda overlooking street, good service and food not bad. Not sure how authentic, but worth a visit. All the other guests looked like tourists or expats.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    74
    22
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely Food, Great Price, Nice People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went to Sugar Palm on the advice of our hotelier. We were not disappointed. Just 5 min by TukTuk from the hotelmwe arrived at a small but pleasant but pleasant restaurant.

We ordered spring rolls to start, followed by a couple of dishes with crispy noodles and rice.

The food was promptly served but very fresh. The spring rolls were delicious - so much so, my partner ordered a second portion after main course.

The food was deliciously prepared and well presented. Portion size ample for us greedy Westerners! We had 2 dishes, 1 pork the other King Prawn, both were delicious and found ourselves fighting over them.

There is nothing pretentious about this restaurant! Good food, simple environment, well priced.

We met the owner afterwards and spent 15 min discussing Phnom Penh and Asian cities.

I would definitely recommend Sugar Palm Restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“raving about Pomelo salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I also had a good fish-based salad here. The Pomelo Salad is outstanding and the most refreshing thing you could eat in this heat and humidity. Later on in my trip, I ordered one in a very fancy pants restaurant at a more fancypants price and came to appreciate the genius of this salad even more. (Not to take anything away from Sugar Palm--it has a simple classy ambiance, good wifi, electricity, gracious service, a lovely balcony AND pretty good prices. )

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AllMimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food. Great price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Ate here twice. Food is beautiful and not expensive at all. Lovely setting on a large verandah. Liked the service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudithSAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Decoration is simple, warm atmosphere, calm place, good staff! Nice place for a lunch there. Prices are not cheap but normal for the area. To eat khmer in a western style is a good place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lolalaparisienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sugar Palm also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to The Sugar Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing