We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sugar Palm

The Sugar Palm
Ranked #76 of 1,404 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Nice colonial house in the centrer of Phnom Penh. Air-conditioned restaurant with non smoking or smoking rooms. Traditional food and large diversity.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Situated among many other bars and restaurants in Street 240, i reckon this one is worth looking for.
The menu contains some different dishes from many of the run of the mill places. for example, i had a Pomelo salad, followed by chicken livers cooked in ginger. The livers were cooked to perfection, still soft in the centre with areal kick of ginger. My other half had the Khmer chicken curry which was also delicious.
Strangely when we ate here it was very quiet, we had the top floor to ourselves but at least it meant we could sit out on the balcony and watch the world go by.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClovaTheWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    75
    22
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were in Phnom Penh the last few days before King Sihanouk's funeral so many restaurants in town, especially those near the Royal Palace and along the Quay, were closed. We felt fortunate that Sugar Palm was open. We were able to eat at a table upstairs on the terrace and found it to be quite pleasant.

The 4 of us shared fish amok (wonderful and one of the prettiest presentations of this dish in our travels), a grilled eggplant that was declared "fabulous", a curry and a banana blossom salad. All were tasty, but I avoided the salad as it had raw bean sprouts in it.

Service was quite pleasant. The kitchen was no more slow than any kitchen that is making food to order. Prices were a bit higher than other restaurants, but still low enough to be considered a bargain by western standards.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelingspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Correct food, nice terrace, but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Food is correct but too "westernised" in our opinion. Service is good. The terrace is very pleasant.
Prices are far too expensive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippe_et_Francois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We ate here as it was close to our hotel. We had the spring rolls, sweet and sour soup with fish and fish amok. All dishes were fresh and tasty. Most diners were upstairs on the terrace which probably had more atmosphere than downstairs where we dined. Pleasant staff. Good value.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisAquilae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lautrec, France
Level Contributor
228 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Good value food and drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had dinner here the menu whilst not extensive was fine a mix of European and Cambodian with a bit of Fusion thrown in. Wine at reasonable prices.
We did have to wait quit a while for the food to arrive but maybe that is the style.

Overall a nice easy meal with no hassle and decent service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TC0241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sugar Palm also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to The Sugar Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing