We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't Return there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Macau Phnom Penh Hotel
Ranked #196 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Like many clients, I book my hotel three months before my arrival to avoid problems. When I got there, guess what, the manager told me that my room was not ready and that he transfer me to Diamond Palace, next to the water front, he said. I was simply tired after 23 hrs up in the air to argue so I said ok. The room at the Diamond Palace was small and really dirty, no toilet paper either. The hotel was also located next to brothels and massage parlors. I call the Macau manager back and complained about it. To his credit, he acted quickly and promised me a room back at the Macau for the next morning. Besides that problem, I did enjoy the staff at Macau, friendly and helping.

When I came back to Canada, I saw many rewiews from customers who faced the same situation. I am glad people took the time to write about it and warn future clients.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siek Kim H, General Manager at Macau Phnom Penh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear BANG Kimly,

Greeting from Macau Penh Penh Hotel, Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

Hope you are fine with your family! on behalf of the hotel, we do apologize for our inconvenience cause during your room booking with us. Sure, it really 100% of our mistake because our room reservation system error on that day and caused over room booking with our hotel, accidentally. It forces us to suggest you to stay at Diamond Palace for 1 night as you much understanding and agreed. Otherwise, your review will be read carefully and reflected our indeed. We do promise that we will keep our customers with our best services and pleasure.

We fully hope that you will much understanding with us especially all of my colleagues.
We wish to see you again and have a good luck, happiness...4ever!

Kindly regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Macau Phnom Penh Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 46 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

The hotel facilities is good,the restaurant is good and the food was amazingly good too. the staff in general were very helpful and always willing to help whenever we needed their assassistance. We had a pleasant staying at Macau hotel Phnom Penh.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renato C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siek Kim H, General Manager at Macau Phnom Penh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

Warmest Greeting from Macau Phnom Penh Hotel, Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

We are sincerely thanks and much appreciated for your valued time to express your satisfaction with our hotel services and properties in tripadvisor.com community. Moreover, your recommendation make our feeling very exited to keep and serve our customers from the world wish to stay with us. Honestly to say that we do need more time to build their individual ability to international standard and your positive reviews are helping them to achieve the goal.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends to enjoy stay with us again and again.
We wish you and your family, friends are all the best.

Kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Rather uninspiring hotel in a pretty bad location. Our first room was next to the elevator machine room, and very noisy. Got to change to a room with the window facing the inside of a garage. Had a quite late breakfast (included) and by then the buffet consisted of two pieces of watermelon and ten times as many ants. We were told that we could have either eggs or toast, not both, which seemed a bit cheap.

We booked a bus ticket through the hotel (sidenote: over-priced, really bad bus/driver). When we had been on the tuktuk taking us to the bus for quite a while, the driver suddenly turned around 180 and took us back to the hotel without any explanation. Turned out we had forgot to pay for a 20cl water bottle from the minibar.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siek Kim H, General Manager at Macau Phnom Penh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Dear Valued Customer,

Warmest Greeting from Macau Phnom Penh Hotel, Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

We are very appreciated and much thanks for your valued time to express your satisfaction with our hotel properties. We do apologize some inconvenience cause during your stay with. Please be informed that your commons which make us to be improve all that thing. So, we will double check all of your commons and ideas to keep our properties and services standard.

We hope that you will give us a chance to serve you once.
Wish you all the best in year 2012!

Kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This place is pretty good. Only 2 issues. Location really isn't the best you are a bit far from stuff (walking) but always a tuk tuk driver out the front. And as of right now January 2011 there is construction going on next door starts at 7.30 every morning (yes Sunday's as well) and goes till late at night. I have been bed ridden with a knee injury and trying to sleep during the day just didn't happen. Vibrations through the building. I'd come back but only if the place next door was finished.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zacmac83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siek Kim H, General Manager at Macau Phnom Penh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Macau Phnom Penh Hotel,

We are very appreciated and much thanks for your valued time to write your expression and satisfaction about our hotel services and properties in community of tripadvisor.com.

We do apologize to some inconvenience cause during your stay with us. Otherwise, the construction will be finished soon.

We also sincerely thanks your criticize and encourage us some stories during your stay with us. we will try our best to keep services and properties standards to satisfy our customers wish to stay with us.

we wish you all the best in your life and we look forward to welcoming your next trips and stay with us at all the time.

Kindly regards,

General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The name on the building actually has an "R" "The Marcau Hotel" which was a bit confusing to the tuk tuk driver, seems to be the same place though.

The hotel was fine. I had some mini ants in my bathroom but they were cleaned by the second day. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in a different area than most but there are some restaurants and other small shops nearby. The main downside was that there was construction going on next to the hotel (not something they can control). Overall we found this to be a slightly old but serviceable hotel with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the construction site are quieter. The 4th floor is nice, but he lift only goes to...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siek Kim H, General Manager at Macau Phnom Penh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Macau Phnom Penh Hotel,

We are very appreciated and much thanks for your valued time to write your expression and satisfaction about our hotel services and properties in community of tripadvisor.com.

we do apologize to make you confuse with our hotel name. Otherwise, presently our hotel was changed name to Marcau Hotel to Macau Phnom Penh Hotel in Phnom Penh.

We also sincerely thanks your criticize and encourage us some stories during your stay with us. we will try our best to keep services and properties standards to satisfy our customers wish to stay with us.

we wish you all the best in your life and fully hope that we look forward to welcoming your next trips and stay with us at all the time.

Sincerely regards,

General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

If you plan on booking through a booking agent, don't waste your time booking this hotel. You'll probably end up being told they're fully booked and get moved to their sister hotel The Diamond Palace like myself and a couple of other tourists did. The Diamond Palace is cheaper so you may as well book there directly instead.

I actually booked The Macau 3 months ago and paid in full at time of booking to get a discount. I'm guessing during those 3 months they managed to get a full price booking and decided to relocate me instead.

I actually work in the hospitality trade and would never dream of doing this to a customer as it is incredibly unprofessional.

I have since read on a few travel forums that this happened to others as well, so unless the manager changes his behaviour, he's going to lose a lot of business.

I'm sure if you book directly with the hotel and pay the full rate, however, you'll get the room you booked. It just might have belonged to someone else first.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Banksyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siek Kim H, General Manager at Macau Phnom Penh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Macau Phnom Penh Hotel, Phnom Penh.

First of all, we are much appreciated and much thanks for your valued time to write your expression about hotel services. We also preferred to read even bad or good writing from our honor guests' satisfaction. After, we read your review, we feel that we are so shame and do apologize to you for our inconvenience cause during your nice holiday in Phnom Pen. Regarding to your writing, we would like to inform you as below.

- Three months booking in advance: Sure, we don’t mind to arrange room for you as well.
Unfortunately, our hotel room reservation system was error and fully booked! So, we have tried our best to send you with a nice hotel and best location, especially, tourist sites and not far from Royal palace / National Museum just 2 or 3 minutes by Tuk Tuk or 10-15mn by walk to popular Restaurants along the riverside. Actually, we don’t move you to other partner hotel. As I informed you on that day, we really have 2 hotels. The hotel where we let you stay is our branch hotel in Phnom Penh.

Finally, we really appreciated and sincerely thanks for your kindness choose our hotel services and wish you have nice trips and good holiday to anywhere.

Hope you will much understanding about us and have a chance to having your stay with us next trips.

Kindly regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Let me thanks each one of staff in the Macau Phnom Penh Hotel for the warm welcome and for the unconditional great services, they've rendered to our visit from Canada during our ten days in the hotel. It was a refreshing time with our visit after our daily routine doing some missions work while we were here in Cambodia. The hotel has given us the good services, good breakfast meal, Dinner, very clean room and easy to talk to the personnel or staff on desk.We would definitely bring again any of visitors in this hotel based on that gathered facts from the previous ones. I would highly recommend also to those good friends of mine if they have visits to let them stay in this hotel to experience those good services. Very appreciated for the privilege to share some good feelings about the hotel accommodation based on what our mission trips shared to tripadvisor.com for other visitors.

Edu A. Tamayo

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siek Kim H, General Manager at Macau Phnom Penh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Macau Phnom Penh Hotel, Phnom Penh, Cambodia

We are very appreciated and sincerely thanks for your valued time to express our hotel properties and services in Website:www.tripadvisor.com community from your true feeling and satisfaction. We will try to keep our services standard for our other customers as well. we fully hope that we will have a chance to having your stay with us again and again !

Wish you have a good luck and trips to everywhere in the world.

Kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
Homeland Guesthouse
Homeland Guesthouse
#76 of 333 in Phnom Penh
134 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,509 reviews
1.4 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#35 of 272 in Phnom Penh
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.8 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#17 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#74 of 272 in Phnom Penh
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macau Phnom Penh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macau Phnom Penh Hotel

Address: #78, Street 360, Toul Sleng Museum, | Boeung Keng Kong III, Phnom Penh 00855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $23 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macau Phnom Penh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About 2 km away from Royal Palace and National Museum and by walk 4 minutes to S-21 & 7 minutes to Russian Market and Vietnam Super Market, ATM nearby. Macau Phnom Penh hotel offers 24-hour check in/out, Tuk Tuk and Transportation services, business center, Tour Desk (City Tour programs, bus, boat, air tickets...etc.) with competitive prices and free pick up from companies, fitness room, massages, steam and free Wi-Fi and Parking. The hotel, situated in the city centre, is about 10 km from Phnom Penh International Airport. Room Facilities is Equipped with air conditioning, Cable TV and a private bathroom with hot/cold shower, mini bar, a tea/coffee maker, hair dryer, safety box, internet are included. Some rooms feature a private balcony. Guests could also relax at the hotel terrace on the top floor of hotel, which overlooks the city view and fresh air. The Macau Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, room services, local Khmer and Western cuisine and Asian & Italian cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macau Phnom Penh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing