We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Option”
Review of Silver River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silver River Hotel
Ranked #49 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Option”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I recently stayed at the Silver River in both a Standard Room and in one of the Suites. The Standard Room is great for a single traveler if you are after an inexpensive option (around 25USD).

I also stayed in a suite room for 3 nights when my family joined me in PP. These rooms are great value for money. It is on 2 levels joined by a steep staircase. The bottom floor is the same as a standard room with King bed, ensuite, big TV, balcony etc. The upstairs is a much larger room with all of the above, but much more room. It is a great option if your traveling with kids and is good value at approx 50USD.

Breakfast is simple yet in-line with the room price. The service was very good. There was wifi throughout the hotel and free internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee_Erm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    257
    95
    14
    10
See reviews for
37
177
133
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

I stayed in PP a couple of years ago and this place wasn't anything special but it has since been refurbished and is a gem. Although the price had gone up by about 30%, I thought my room at $25 was good value.
The room itself was tastefully decorated and included tea/coffee making facilities, LCD televison, fridge, writing table and decent WiFi. The breakfast was a bit sparse but that would be my only criticism. I had originally booked in at another hotel in PP but had walked out without staying due to it's dreadful condition, I was so happy to have found this place again and would have no hesitation staying here should I visit PP again. Plenty of dcent bars/cafes and travel agents on the same street as well.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boris24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

As soon as I saw the room it reminded me of a little Marriott. The beds have clean white sheets, everything is shiny, new and perfectly clean. The bathroom was amazing with beautiful new tiles and the best shower I've had in all of Asia!

The staff are young and eager to help, although their English is not wonderful. Our room was cleaned immaculately everyday, they even wash the floors. The breakfast is included and had fresh fruit, baked beans, toast, noodles/rice and your choice of egg made fresh for you.

We also had room service one night and ordered off the full restaurant menu instead of the one in the room, and they didn't have a problem with this.

For $30 US, I thought it was wonderful value....and it's only a short walk to the waterfront and around the corner from the National Museum!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokomolady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed here 4 nights at the end of our month's stay in Cambodia and found it all that other reviewers have stated it to be. Clean, efficient, and on a quiet (comparatively), central street. It's well worth trying the restaurant. We found some of the best (and most reasonably priced) Cambodian food that we tasted on our trip throughout the country.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malc0lm64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stumbled upon this hotel by chance on our return trip to Phnom Penh. The hotel looks very new with all the modern conveniences of AC, flat screen TV, elevator and hot water. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the bed was the most comfortable one we have experienced yet in Cambodia.

The location is excellent as the Palace, Museum, restaurants and the river are all within 5 minutes stroll. All the major attractions are within a short moto ride away as well.

The staff were very sweet and helpful and were very happy to organize stuff for us.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1countryatatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Stayed at the Silver River Hotel in Phnom Penh for 4 nights. We found the hotel by accident, and could not fault it. The staff are really nice, speak excellent english and are happy to help with anything. There is a restaurant in the lobby with a large menu, all the food we had was excellent. The rooms are well furnished with 32" Sony LCD TV's, safes and minibar in every room. The WiFi is quick and reliable. This hotel is great value for money (our room was $30 a night). Booking can be done through there website, email or over the phone but not on websites like wotif, expedia etc.
The hotel is close to the river and some rooms have a view of a nice buddist pagoda (others have views of the local area and if your really unlucky the side of a building). But the view is not important as its a cheap hotel in a great location. The only downside is there is a loud nightclub nearby, which is great for us, but if your a light sleeper might be an issue. Other than the nightclub, it is a great hotel. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Discovered by accident as we intended to go next door, Silver River appeared to be the best hotel in town (furniture, staff, atmosphere, location ...) like a little Marriott we like for instance in Lisboa but for the fourth of the price. And we known what we say as we compared with the serie of "heaven class" hotels in Phnom Penh like Cambodinia.... much less attractive.
We highly recommend this brand new hotel with a fair price and good value,and as we said the best value for money in town.
Monique and Eric from Bruxelles Belgium

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monico-leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#56 of 267 in Phnom Penh
590 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#55 of 267 in Phnom Penh
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#70 of 267 in Phnom Penh
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#25 of 267 in Phnom Penh
727 reviews
2.4 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#48 of 267 in Phnom Penh
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver River Hotel

Property: Silver River Hotel
Address: #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh (Phsar Kandal), Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the royal treatment at Silver River Hotel located in a bustling downtown called Kandal Market, where business and leisure travelers always make their first choice of the area for their hotels. Silver River Hotel is just a walk away from landmarks such as Royal Palace, National Museum and the spectacular view along Tonle Sap and Mekong rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing