We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Silver River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silver River Hotel
Ranked #50 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The SilverRiver Hotel in Phnom Pehn has everything going for it. Great location, great staff and good rooms at a reasonable price. It is located a five minute walk from the riverside dining/drinking area. To get there you can walk through the markets and see ordinary Cambodians going about their working business. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean. I found that in the morning, even if you pop out for 30mins, as soon as you get back you find that your room has been cleaned. Outside are a regular bunch of tuk tuk drivers who are friendly and not aggressive/pushy. One in particular is very nice and reliable, called Channy, who I pretty much used for all my trips in my 4 days in PP.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    257
    95
    14
    10
See reviews for
37
177
133
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed at Silver River for 3 nights and enjoyed my stay there. The included breakfast wasn't the best I had in my stay in Cambodia, but that isn't much to go by. The staff were very friendly and helpful when we asked about places to go and how to get there. The room was clean and had a nice view of the city (I stayed on the 5th floor) and the lift was reliable. The street the hotel is on has great local restaurants with very low prices and the noise was minimal at night. It was also extremely close to Tonle Sap, the National Museum, the Royal Palace, and great riverside restaurants. Tuk Tuks to both the Central and Russian Markets were also cheap and fast. All in all - great location, friendly staff, clean room and great value. As a couple we payed $135 for 3 nights. I would go back to River River if I ever return to Cambodia.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmorg94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Hotel Silver River had the most beautiful rooms of all hotels in which I had stayed during my trip in Cambodia. Silver River is a very clean hotel and from my point of view it is located in one of the best spots in Phnom Penh. The Hotel is NOT located on the Riverfront but rather close to the Royal Palace, Nationalmuseum, restaurants, pubs and a pleasant walk (15 to 20 minutes) from the Central Market.
Principally I dissuade to book a room in one of the hotels on the Riverfront because there are many beggars, street hawker, dealer and it is a notorious area for bag snatching as well.
There is a kettle, a fridge, cable TV, phone, AC (quiet), free WIFI, en suite bathroom as well as a safe in the room. 2 free bottles of water per day and the breakfast is included in the price. I suggest to book in advance with hotels.com so that you can save from 10 to 20% off the regular price. Hotels.com offers 10% coupon almost every month, which you can find onine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colino1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the silver river hotel. The rooms were quite outdated, however still clean and relatively comfortable. We don't normally comment about bad breakfast, however, this breakfast was a bit of a let down. Not much to choose from and what was there was pretty average. Ok for one night only.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Boss_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

The group I am traveling with booked this hotel for me. As far as three star hotels in southeast Asia for US$35 a night it is a great value for centrally located, clean, good sized room, with comfortable bed, no bugs, free breakfast, free working wifi and friendly staff that speaks decent English.

Hotel located in heart of downtown On a busy tourist street that is lined with pubs, cafés, restaurants, massage parlors, supermarkets, and other 2-3 star hotels. I arrived at 6pm and didn't even have to leave my street the first night I arrived! I got a hour long massage at the hotel for $5! And then ate at local restaraunt for another 5bucks! Afterwards plenty of pubs/cafes to lounge at, mostly filled with tourists.

Local attractions are all within walking distance and I felt safe walking around on my own as female traveler.

The room itself is standard with two comfortable bed and can easily accommodate 2 people. They provide complimentary tea/2 water bottles. Only downside is no view, which I didn't care for anyway as I'm here to sleep and shower. Also hot water runs out if your used to taking showers for more than 7minutes.

The pics posted of hotel are very accurate so I won't post anymore.

I'm from India...and so far Cambodia reminds me very much of home!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Silver River's rooms are good: spacious, decent selection of tv channels, clean, comfy beds. Hot water ran out quickly but who cares of it's warm outside.
Difference is made by the staff. Friendly and able to communicate in English. Not only did they help with a tuk-tuk to killing fields etc., they even helped me retrieve a camera lens that I left in the safe!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Why_not322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a very basic hotel but its has everything I needed for my short stay. The location is very good , all the sight within walking distance and plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Staff was friendly and speaking good English. WiFi was ok most of the time. Breakfast area can get busy and will find unable to sit down. Breakfast is not that great ! Hot water can run out quickly !

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel as the rooms located at the back overlooking a large dem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventuresOfZolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#58 of 267 in Phnom Penh
587 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#45 of 267 in Phnom Penh
353 reviews
2.4 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#49 of 267 in Phnom Penh
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#25 of 267 in Phnom Penh
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#74 of 267 in Phnom Penh
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#35 of 267 in Phnom Penh
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver River Hotel

Property: Silver River Hotel
Address: #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh (Phsar Kandal), Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the royal treatment at Silver River Hotel located in a bustling downtown called Kandal Market, where business and leisure travelers always make their first choice of the area for their hotels. Silver River Hotel is just a walk away from landmarks such as Royal Palace, National Museum and the spectacular view along Tonle Sap and Mekong rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Silver River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing