We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, nothing special”
Review of Silver River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver River Hotel
Ranked #55 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed April 13, 2013

An average hotel, with nothing special to mention. It's clean and confortable, in a central location, with a good bed. Price is interesting and staff properly trained.
For breakfast, you can easily find better value and location outside, in the street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thierry222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 523 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean room and good shower, good bed. WiFi. The hotel is very near to almost all the sightseeing spots of Phnom Penh. Excellent buffet breakfast (eggs any style, sausages, french toast, best baguette bread we ever had,butter, jam, cornflakes, milk, juice, salad, fruits, fried rice, chicken legs)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 64RichardH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I spent 2 nights at this hotel and and I like above all its central location. The staff is very friendly and the room was very comfortable, clean and quiet; the food in the restaurant is very good.The price is extremely good value! I had a great time there and I regret, that I didn't know about this hotel before.
Dr. M. L. Kauz, Switzerland

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie-Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

we stayed four nights on two separate occasions at the end of march and beginning of april 2013

tuk tuk from airport us$7.00, visa issued on arrival no hastle pay $20 and done very quickly, immigration also a pleasure and happy to see you, no visa required for Thai wife

Hotel very central clean room very comfortable beds, better than some 4 star hotels

All ammenities in bathroom, toothbrush, razor, coffee water and minifridge

Reception and all servise first class

ordered massage in room first night, wife also in attendance, think she was loathed to leave me alone with very cute masseuse, one hour $5.00

resteraunt godd choice both asian and western meals at good price, happy hour 5 to eight pm gin and tonic 2.00 for two

Room Tip: Ask for one with maseuse but do not tell the wife
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlandPawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We reached the hotel at 6.00pm as scheduled from Siem Reap. The staff were polite, helpful, patient and friendly. More comfortable compared to our stayed at Tanei Guesthouse in Siem Reap. USD40 for a standard room with an extra bed with breakfast.
Booked an aircon taxi via hotel reception. Taxi was punctual.Buffet Breakfast provided by the hotel was satisfactory.The staff helped us to book a taxi to the airport. The taxi came punctually. Driver spoke very good English.
Our room was on the 4th floor, therefore, no traffic noice disturbance. Overall, We were happy with the stay in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Room at the end lot is very quiet. Higher floor will have a better views. If you need a triple roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

There are some basic requirements for us now as mature travelers. Hotels must be clean, well located, offer decent wifi, security for valuables and fit in our budget. The Silver River met all these criteria and more. The location was excellent - many good dining options very close, as well and the Royal Palace, National Museum and lots of shopping. The staff were very courteous and helpful, and the breakfast buffet satisfying. Our shower was spacious with lots of hot water, and the A/C never let us down. The hotel laundry service was excellent. All this at a very attractive price.

Though we feared street noise, our room (301) was at the front of the hotel, and noise was never a problem. The bonus was a full-width balcony that allowed lots of street-life views.

This was our first time to Phnom Penh and we loved it. Our return will include the Silver River.

Room Tip: Front rooms on the street (X01 & X02) offer great balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wasagadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I booked the hotel through email. Hotel sorted the airport pickup for me through an independent taxi driver for USD10. Not a problem cause its my first time to Phnom Penh. Next time I'll negotiate with any taxi at the airport for slightly less. Hotel was decent enough with a good breakfast although limited choice. Wifi never worked for me. Asked them for a password which they gave but none of my devices could connect. After asking a couple of times, they mentioned that there is this problem sometimes. I might have needed to play with my IP settings or maybe its just me having bad luck with it. Room bulb on the ceiling in the middle of the room burst for no apparent reason. Aircond took a lot of time to be cool. Very important cause it was really warm outside.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iarvinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#60 of 278 in Phnom Penh
608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#84 of 278 in Phnom Penh
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vacation Boutique Hotel
Vacation Boutique Hotel
#27 of 278 in Phnom Penh
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#89 of 278 in Phnom Penh
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
#44 of 278 in Phnom Penh
467 reviews
2.4 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#56 of 278 in Phnom Penh
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver River Hotel

Address: #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $29 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the royal treatment at Silver River Hotel located in a bustling downtown called Kandal Market, where business and leisure travelers always make their first choice of the area for their hotels. Silver River Hotel is just a walk away from landmarks such as Royal Palace, National Museum and the spectacular view along Tonle Sap and Mekong rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing