We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Clean Hotel that serves great food and has a great happy hour”
Review of Silver River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silver River Hotel
Ranked #49 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Surrey England
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Comfortable Clean Hotel that serves great food and has a great happy hour”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We travelled here on the 15th August 2012 and stayed four days. It was our first time to Cambodia and we liked it so much that we stayed longer and pushed our travel plans to Thailand further back. Having travelled to Phnom Penh from Ho Chi Minh we were met after our coach journey by a tuk tuk driver named "Lucky." We were recommended the Silver River hotel so we decided to go and have a look at this hotel but we did not promise anything, We were pleasantly pleased with this hotel and its low prices. The rooms are clean and had free complimentary water,fridge and tv. The hotel can boast of an excellent restaurant that serves local cuisine and western food. We ate out alot and found Cambodia to be much cheaper than Thailand. The food portions were so generous. Happy hour was great at the hotel and cocktail drinks where so cheap to buy. The staff were friendly and trustworthy here, they all wanted you to enjoy your stay in Cambodia.

We hired the same tuk tuk driver for our four day stay. Our driver was safe, the tuk tuks don't go as fast as the Thai''s. We arranged for Lucky to take us to The Killing Fields and S21 where we met two survivors. Lucky also took us around Phnom Penh to see other attractions, we hired him for the whole day so he waited for us after each excursion. At all times we felt totally safe.

Cambodia is still virtually new to tourism so the people and country are refreshing, wonderful and welcoming. We will be returning and we would not hesitate at staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SangaSang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    258
    95
    14
    10
See reviews for
37
177
136
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed in room 402 located at the front of the hotel overlooking the street. Although the hotel is located in a busy area of hotels, restaurants and bars, we experienced only minor street noise during the evening. The room had a balcony with a table and a couple of chairs that provided a great spot for relaxing with a cold drink and watching the passing street life below. The room was clean and comfortable and included TV, aircon, Wi-Fi and complementary water. Computers are available in the lobby for guest use. The staff (especially the evening shift) were very helpful in providing directions and information on available tours. The riverfront, Royal Palace and museum are within easy walking distance

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil-Sheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights when travelling around south east Asia. We got our room for 28$ per night for 2 people. The rooms were clean and well equipped. with mini fridge, air con and safe (which is handy in a place like phnom pehn!). The location was quite good, only a 3 min walk to the water front, where the bars and restaurants are and about the same to the palace.

Breakfast was simple enough but something for everyone, cereal/pancakes/toast etc. They booked our bus onward to Vietnam with a very good company and we got a lovely bus. They also arranged for our tuk tuk to the killing fields for 13$, which is usually 15$ if you try to arrange yourself. I would stay in this hotel again....however I will probably never return to Phnom Pehn!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vonbe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is in good location which is near national park, royal palace, river... The room is clean, quite big with a big bed. Staff are friendly, speak English very well. However, the breakfast is not interesting, just few kind of food like fried rice, bread, pasta, egg...
I dont care about breakfast much so I probably will stay at this hotel again if I come back Phnom Phenh

Room Tip: If you are couple, you should book in double room which is not in Agoda. We book a room for 2. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night on asia trip Vietnam-Cambodia-Laos-Thailand. The day before we stayed in other PP hotel. We choose this hotel for its reasonable rating on Tripadvisor, combined with the Roomrate (USD 30 offered at frontdesk the day before our check-in). What can I say... on holiday you want good bed to sleep and possible decent shower, internet and breakfast. All these requirements were fulfilled. Even satelite television with movie chanels like HBO. Would stay next time here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetravelerNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We only stayed here for one night, but were very impressed by the hotel facilities, service and value for money. It is situated in a good location (a short walk from the riverside, Palace and National Museum) with cable tv, kettle, fridge, wifi, aircon etc in the rooms. Based on first impressions, it looks alot better than the other hotels in the area and the service was impeccable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The hotel is nice, clean and is in a good location right next to the silver pagoda.
The staff was helpfull and friendly.
We spend 30$/night for a room so it was one of the more expensive hotels we stayed in.
The hotel was a bit sterile and in retrospect it might have been better to stay in a smaller guesthouse with a more personal atmosphhere, but it was still a nice stay.
They also organised our bus ticket to kampot. This worked out well but the bus itself was a very low standard which was not as advertised or at least he looked much nicer on paper.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank wayfaringden_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#55 of 267 in Phnom Penh
590 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#58 of 267 in Phnom Penh
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#73 of 267 in Phnom Penh
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#25 of 267 in Phnom Penh
727 reviews
2.4 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#48 of 267 in Phnom Penh
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver River Hotel

Property: Silver River Hotel
Address: #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh (Phsar Kandal), Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the royal treatment at Silver River Hotel located in a bustling downtown called Kandal Market, where business and leisure travelers always make their first choice of the area for their hotels. Silver River Hotel is just a walk away from landmarks such as Royal Palace, National Museum and the spectacular view along Tonle Sap and Mekong rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing