We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is an OK place to stay”
Review of Silver River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silver River Hotel
Ranked #49 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed January 22, 2012

In general I could say that it was a good hotel, I would recommend it.
There are some things they should improve, though:
1) Absolutely noisy if you stay in a room facing the street. Windows could be improved to prevent all that noise from coming in (these are deluxe rooms). If you wake up easily during the night, avoid these rooms.
2) Shower water was hot, but only for two minutes. after that...no more hot water. It is hot on phnom penh all year round, but for those like me who enjoy hot showers no matter how hot it is outside, it might be a little bothering.
3) I don't know if it was plain bad luck, but we got to see a bunch if older western guys having meals at the hotel with prostitutes. This happened during our whole stay.
Maybe for some people this last point is not important, but it made me feel uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Chose rooms that are not facing to the street. Very noisy!!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TatiGarciaMoure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for Silver River Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 515 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

We had a 5th story room overlooking a carpark where the sugar cane stalks would be
slashed and peeled from 5.30 in the morning by 4 or 5 very hard working Cambodians
Makes you consider how lucky we are ..holidaying while they are hacking
Good sized room with spa bath front desk always helpful
No VAT charges etc and GREAT Illy coffee

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This place was little above our targeted budget for Phnom Penh but it was well worth it. Rooms are big enough and well equipped. Breakfast included in the price was adequate for a two nights stay. We’ve also tried some food from the restaurant for dinner and it was delicious and not expensive at all for a hotel restaurant. They also have a happy hour (2 for 1) on very good cocktails!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rozmanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

In my opinion this place is rather a business hotel than a tourist hotel, but ok for tourists as well.
Staff was very professional, wifi was fast, rooms were clean, new and big, with very nice bathrooms. Location is good, too. Breakfast was ok
One of the better hotels I've stayed in Phnom Penh.

Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tompi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I just returned from Phnom Penh where I stayed at the Silver River Hotel for three weeks. On my previous trips there, I have stayed at more expensive hotels but decided this trip to try the Silver River Hotel based upon many positive reviews I read on Trip Advisor. I can say that for the most part, the reviews are accurate. Silver River Hotel is situated only a couple of blocks off Sisowoth Quay which is the street that parallels the Mekong River and along which there are numerous restaurants and places to sit, have a drink, and people watch. A ten-minute walk from the hotel will take you past the Central Market and to the shops and restaurants along the riverfront – a favorite hangout for foreign travelers.

The Silver River is a small hotel of just over fifty rooms situated on a relatively quiet street. My per-night rate of less than $30 included a typical Khmer/Western buffet breakfast. The breakfast offerings are adequate with the typical noodles and/or rice, and “sausage” (although it is what we in the USA would call wieners or miniature “hot dogs”). I suggested to the restaurant manager that occasionally it would be nice to have real German sausage or bacon. It is undetermined as to how seriously my suggestion will be taken. There is also coffee, tea, orange juice, fresh fruit, French bread, regular white bread for toasting, jams and jellies, two kinds of cold cereal, and occasionally beans. In addition, one can order fried eggs or an omelet as well. Lunches and dinners are ordered off the rather extensive menu. Everything I ordered either for lunch or dinner (same menu) was very good – be it Khmer food or western. Also, those staying at the hotel are given a 10% discount on all lunch or dinner prices which are very reasonable even without the discount.

The small lobby has several comfortable sofas and chairs and two free internet computers. I found the internet response time on the computers to be unexpectedly fast. In addition, free Wi-Fi is offered on each floor so if you bring your own laptop, there is no need to use the hotel computers. All of the hotel staff are very accommodating and friendly and seem eager to do whatever the guests require to make their stay at the hotel comfortable and enjoyable. This includes a welcome drink of orange juice for those checking in at the front desk.

My fourth-floor room was on the back side of the hotel and was relatively quiet except for the sugarcane peelers just below who begin their ritual at daylight each morning – chatting away as they peel stalks of sugarcane to later be given to vendors who extract the juice. After a few days I became accustomed to their chatter and it was not bothersome. My room (#412) was average size with one queen bed. I appreciated the enclosed stall shower which kept the water from running all over the floor (common in many lesser expensive hotels in Cambodia) or having to climb into and out of a slippery bathtub to take a shower. My bed linens and towels were changed daily. Some reviewers commented on the lack of hot water. This can happen if one showers in the evening or during the afternoon. I never had a lack of very hot water in the morning. The AC in the room worked very well, and the maid mopped the floor each morning. Smoking is not permitted in the restaurant or in the lobby or hallways and there was no tobacco smell in my room and no ashtrays so it was definitely a non-smoking room. I don’t know if the hotel allows smoking in some of the rooms but my room was thankfully odor-free. Each room is provided with two bottles of water daily however if I wanted more, I just asked and the maid accommodated.

Laundry service is available at the front desk for $2 per kilogram however, immediately across the street one can get their laundry done for $1.50 per kilo. I utilized this outside laundry service several times during my stay.

Don’t expect scenic views from your room window unless your room faces the street at the front of the hotel. I read however, in these reviews, that those front rooms with a small balcony are also quite small – especially for two people. Mine was a single and my room on the back side of the hotel and was very adequate in size.

The hotel manager stated that their primary occupants seem to come from Australia and England. And yes, one occasionally sees an “older” man with a young Cambodian girl in the lobby or restaurant. The complaints I read in these reviews seem to be centered on the fact that these were “old men” with young girls…so apparently if you are a young man with a Cambodian girl that is OK —it is those “old men” who seem to be the most disturbing to some of the reviewers.

All in all, my stay at the Silver River Hotel was very pleasant. Will I stay there again? Undoubtedly “yes” on my next visit to Phnom Penh in May of 2012.

Room Tip: Bring a large bar of soap - the minibars of soap provided by the hotel are difficult to use. If you...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arizonawill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

A hotel just in the midle of most of areas and places to see when in Phnom Penh. This place is located 2 min from the National Museum and some more minutes you are at the Silver Pagoda. Night market and several pub/party places also within a short distance. Service is ..as it should be and what can be expected in Asia..exelent service and nice staff. Rooms are Been in PP for 4 nights and will move on in Cambodia. I will come back to this place.
Price I got was a great value, again i fixed this through Agoda..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Centrally located with friendly, efficient staff. Rooms are basic but comfortable & clean. Would definitely stay here again & recommend. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty_m1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#54 of 270 in Phnom Penh
596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#76 of 270 in Phnom Penh
199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#75 of 270 in Phnom Penh
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#25 of 270 in Phnom Penh
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 270 in Phnom Penh
823 reviews
0.7 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver River Hotel

Address: #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh (Phsar Kandal), Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $24 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the royal treatment at Silver River Hotel located in a bustling downtown called Kandal Market, where business and leisure travelers always make their first choice of the area for their hotels. Silver River Hotel is just a walk away from landmarks such as Royal Palace, National Museum and the spectacular view along Tonle Sap and Mekong rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing