We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“thanks”
Review of Silver River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver River Hotel
Ranked #54 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
antalya
2 reviews
“thanks”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Last year ı stayed and ı lıke verry much. was to much frıendly and clean hotel ıf ı go back to phnom penh ı wıll stay thıs hotel sinan

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinanaktoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    257
    94
    14
    10
See reviews for
37
176
133
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We started our Asian journey at this hotel (after the 36+ hours of travel) and couldn't be more pleased with our stay. Updated bathrooms, great view from the balcony, cheap laundry service, and surprisingly delicious food for a hotel. Would stay again, and recommend the buttered prawns.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms have great views of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pau
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We used the hotel for our stay before and after our trip to Siem Reap and Koh Rong. The rooms are quite small but clean, and everything worked as it should. Good bed, nice hot-water shower, WI-FI, cable TV, fridge, free bottled water, a safe, wardrobe space. Our 1st stay was at the back-end of the hotel, which was mostly quiet, except for the cleaning staff in the mornings. Our 2nd stay was at the front of the hotel, and while we had the benefit of a balcony, it was much noisier, with tuk-tuks and construction and all sorts of noise all through the day and night...so ask for a room at the back! The food was very good, but about 25% more expensive than the restaurants on the street outside. The inclusive breakfast changes each day, but usually provides eggs, rice, fruit, pancakes, coffee, tea, OJ etc. The location is very good, 5mins walk to the National Museum, 10mins to the main restaurants along the riverfront, and there are always tuk-tuk drivers out the front of the foyer. Finally, the staff. They are what make this hotel a pleasure to stay in! I've never met a friendlier bunch of people in all my travels! They go out of their way to help you with whatever you need, and for that reason alone, I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuzzmasterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed hère on two separate occasions and was treated extremely well both times. The manager, Chour Sun was as a delight, always helpful. I will not hesitate to stay here again. Phnom Penh is a marvellous city but some hôtels are truly dreadful. Not so the Silver River. 1 1/2 blocks from the river in a quiet street, not overburdened with hustling tuk tuk drivers, it represents the perfect peaceful bolt hole from the bustle that is SE Asia.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AcapulcoAcapulco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

For the money this isn't a bad place to stay. The hotel is in a neighborhood full of 1960s shopfront apartments, and part of the walking tour of Phnom Penh. The staff was helpful, and everything I wanted to see was either within walking distance or a tuk-tuk ride away. The free breakfast was not inviting, the room was not particularly clean (especially the bathroom, with the urinal grate on the floor), and the in-hotel massage for $5 was a cross between a deep tissue massage and a mugging, but I was traveling on a grant and the Silver River helped me to keep my costs down.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank kwellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in mid July and were more than happy with our room and the amenities provided by this hotel.

Check in was easy (we had booked through Agoda) and the room, air con, flatscreen TV and bed was comfortable and quite roomy (we did not have a balcony)

My only tip would be to spray for mosquitos at night - I could not see them in the room or bathroom but after a quick spray found a lot of dead mossies on the floor so they were loitering somewhere However we found this in all the hotels we stayed in Cambodia so the tip is to buy a can of "Raid" at the local store and spray every night before going to bed.

The location is good with many eating places and bars in the immediate area without the need to go down to the river (which is about a 10 minute walk anyway). Friends Restaurant is just down the road and around the corner (5 minutes away) so you do not have to go far to be fed and watered so to speak.

Although the hotel does bus bookings etc we went next door to a travel agency for the Mekong Express Bus to SR - no commission added and pickup from hotel included - worked like clockwork.

Breakfast was more than adequate - eggs to order etc. The hotel appeared to be full with mainly Western foreigners so it must be doing something right to receive this type of custom.

I would recommend this hotel for its price, location and would very much consider staying here again should I visit PP in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bpos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Hotel staff were not as friendly as the others we met in other hotel in Cambodia. There's no complementary airport transfer even though the website claimed there is. Decent hotel with free wifi, looks crappy but hotel room is clean, good location

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sialee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#58 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#63 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#35 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#44 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.4 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#47 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#65 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver River Hotel

Property: Silver River Hotel
Address: #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh (Phsar Kandal), Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the royal treatment at Silver River Hotel located in a bustling downtown called Kandal Market, where business and leisure travelers always make their first choice of the area for their hotels. Silver River Hotel is just a walk away from landmarks such as Royal Palace, National Museum and the spectacular view along Tonle Sap and Mekong rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Silver River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing