We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but in a not so good location.”
Review of Silver River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silver River Hotel
Ranked #49 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but in a not so good location.”
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Hotel will arrange tours. Ask for tup tup driver Saswy. Hotels and restaurants along the Sisowath Quay are recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllaOco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    257
    95
    14
    10
See reviews for
37
177
133
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2011

When my sister and I got out of the bus from HCMC, tuktuk drivers offered us several hotels.
Given the budget that we have, we were taken to this hotel.

It looks nice from the outside so we immediately decided to stay here since it's already getting dark.
We just booked for 1 night first to see how the hotel was.

We were amazed when we entered our room. It was very nice.
However, we had a problem with aircon and sockets (not working) but it was immediate resolved.

This hotel is just a short walking distance from most tourist attractions and the staff was accommodating and helpful.

We tried to search for a better hotel in the area but we can't find any with the same price!

We extended our stay for another night and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giahnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Stay there 5 weeks, great deal, super clean, the mop the room very day whit clean water.
Sony flatscreen TV, hairdryer, koffie and thé free and 2 bottles water.
Water boiler, Safe in room big enouch to put laptop in.
Very friendly staff, and exellent security.
Fast room service and on the firts floor full massage parlor.
And last but not least an elevator.
Superdeluxe.
Have nice time over there,
Kiekeboe

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henri_Kiekeboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I love this hotel compared to The Regency Park, stayed there for 3 nights and LOVED IT, the location is great as its just within walking distance to the river-side. they have in-room massage.

The sheets are clean, does not smell funny - toilets are REALLY CLEAN, the services are great. I would recommend anyone to stay in this hotel if they going on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

This hotel would have been the most upmarket tha I stayed at on my trip, and the rooms/bathrooms were spotless clean and newly rennovated. The location is good, next door to a great travel agency/cheap massage, and also near the river is a short walk from Royal Palace/Silver Pagoda etc
I also left some luggage here for 4 days while i toured the south coast. Nothing was missing when i returned :)

The bad.... breakfast was bit dodgy, as is the case with all continental breakfast anyway in the world, any cafe on the street will do a better job for $2. At $30.night (for just 1 person) it is not good value by PP's standards (but obviously still very cheap by the rest of the world!!) and there is a terrible nightclub situated across behind the hotel which made a bit of noise till about 12 midnight, but this is only becuase I am a light sleeper that I noticed this....

overall i think you be happy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

My friend and I stayed here our first night in Cambodia, and had such a nice stay, we decided to book it again for our second leg in Phnom Penh. The rooms are really nice and clean, we loved the balcony off our room, the staff was friendly and the location was great (a quick walk to the Palace, museum, riverfront, etc.). The ONLY thing were the obvious prostitutes in the hotel that were brought back there by men staying there. That bugged me a lot, to see them in the lobby, in the hallways, etc. But other than that, we had a great stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dscalifornia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormstown, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Found by chance on line, this is a gem of a place. With tremendous attention to details like high ceilings and crown moldings, real art on the walls and coffee in the rooms, free wi-fi and sparkling modern bathrooms, this fantastically located hotel also shares a lovely and helpful staff. The beds are comfortable, the furniture heavy wood, the lobby attractive and spacious, and the restaurant excellent value. At $30.00 USD per night, it feels like so very much more.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoppiewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#56 of 267 in Phnom Penh
590 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#53 of 267 in Phnom Penh
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#72 of 267 in Phnom Penh
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#25 of 267 in Phnom Penh
727 reviews
2.4 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#48 of 267 in Phnom Penh
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver River Hotel

Property: Silver River Hotel
Address: #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh (Phsar Kandal), Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the royal treatment at Silver River Hotel located in a bustling downtown called Kandal Market, where business and leisure travelers always make their first choice of the area for their hotels. Silver River Hotel is just a walk away from landmarks such as Royal Palace, National Museum and the spectacular view along Tonle Sap and Mekong rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Silver River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing