We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent, comfy and chill place for a reasonable price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Orussey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orussey Hotel
Ranked #217 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A decent, comfy and chill place for a reasonable price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel, it's located above an old market place in Phnom Penh. A good form of exercise to walk up the spiral slope that links to the hotel lobby.

You can find a gym centre, massage parlour, KTV centre and restaurant inside the building. No issue coming back late in the morning like 2-3am after partying. No concern on the security level. Front desk staffs might seem a bit confused at times but friendly and helpful. No issue to ask them to get a taxi for you.

It was a decent place to bunk in and considering the reasonable price for a hotel in Phnom Penh. Nothing to complain about unless you have extra spare cash to opt for hotels like Intercontinental, Naga World etc.

Conclusion
- A safe and decent place for business and leisure purposes.
- Affordable price
- Chill and quiet location when night falls. Bearable noise levels from 6am - 5pm.
- I will stay here again the next time

Cheers folks.

Room Tip: Go for room with windows and near to their wifi router, else you will have intermittent connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoukersg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    19
    7
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
28
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Booked a twin bed which had a bath on hotels.com 31 and half dollars,
The room was excellent,the bathroom was very good ,same as they say on the web site
Cleaned every day ,water left. tea and coffee left free,kettle.
Only thing was the tv was a tad small for such a big room.
You also get to yous the gym which was very good
The steam room as well and the jacuzzi ..
There is an on site massage which they do khmer massage on comfortable chairs,,very strong sometimes so ask for soft.
Bad thing as every one says is location..on top of a smelly market.
Get a few numbers of tuk drivers or motodops and make sure they are ok to go up the car parking ramp.you will need this.no tuks outside the hotel.you can walk down the stairs into the market and get transport but not at night as this is not a safe area to be walking at night.
I really liked the room but the location will put a lot of people of,
Maybe me as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leon9mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Pen, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Right on top of Orussey market, very convenient to go down and explore one of the better markets (selection and price, the one most of the locals prefer) in Phnom Penh. Lots of shops around the market as well, and fairly central to just about everything while being far enough away from Riverside to not get caught up in all the tourist/backpacker madness.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OracngeDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Oh my goodness, how should I start this? Do I start with the empty condom wrapper found by my bed, the stained pillow cases from some unknown fluid, or the hairs that were not mine?

So I chose this hotel since the ratings appeared great on Agoda.com and the price was amazing. I was also looking for internet and gym which they both have. Honestly the only thing I liked about the hotel was the gym located below the hotel with the massage area. The massage I received was unsatisfactory and incomplete but I am not sure if that was part of the hotel since nobody there was proficient in English.

If you want an English speaking staff, or a staff that is readily available or a clean room, a window the DO NOT stay here. Now about the atmosphere...... If you watch the movie The Shining with Jack Nicholson you will have an idea of how this place feels. The layout is weird and getting to the hotel from the street (hotel is on top of a building and not easy to get to since you have to walk up 3 stories of stairs or parking lot) is not an easy task so unless you're looking for a physical challenge to get to your hotel, do not stay here.

Imagine a building that kept adding places to it. First a run down restaurant, then adding a massage room on top of that, then adding a hotel on top of that. Now i know why I only paid $16 a night because nobody wants to stay here. The previous ratings about how weird and inefficient this place is, is accurate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank studentoflife82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
County Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

OK so the entrance is a little weird - you have to walk up the spiral ramp (for cars) from the market and then go up in a lift after walking through a soulless cafe. But it isn't really that hard if you know what you are doing and the market is a great place to eat and drink at night.

The staff seemed a little confused and inconvenienced by having customers but they were friendly.

The room was excellent. Really, really excellent. Huge, clean and decorated to a very high standard.

Unfortunately for one of the four nights we were there there was a big Chinese New Year celebration going on either above or below us and this was extremely noisy, but I guess it only happens once a year.

I really liked this place, an oasis of luxury, and I grew to love the quirky entrance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danpea80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

arrived very late at night to phnom penh, having booked online. taxi couldn't find the hotel, finally called them and got there. above a very dirty and dodgy market (not evident at night, as we had to go around 5 stories of a ramp to get to the hotel - lots of high end vehicles and sex trade workers and dealers about the entrance (2am). room cleanish (definitely lots of wear and tear, broken shower door, no toilet paper, some lights and power points worked, some didn't. no international calls from room or desk, staff speak no english, although very friendly. found out later the cambodian gold exchange is in the building as well. happy to leave.

Room Tip: avoid unless you really need a cheap place and will spend very little time there. if price is an is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynmariehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is big,and the entrance is the weirdest I've ever seen.You have to go to a parking garage and walk the same route as cars use.Room is very big (deluxe-room).Be careful when you check in:they try to give you standard room although you have booked a deluxe one.And once again:keep your earplugs near,because the karaoke and disco starts very early.But hey,you are in Phnom Penh and there's always some noise (sometimes loud and sometimes even louder).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Orussey One Hotel & Apartment
Orussey One Hotel & Apartment
#78 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.3 mi away
V Hotel Phnom Penh
V Hotel Phnom Penh
#72 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balconitel Boutique Hotel
Balconitel Boutique Hotel
#40 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#60 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rose Emerald Hotel
Rose Emerald Hotel
#92 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orussey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orussey Hotel

Property: Orussey Hotel
Address: Orussey Market, 3rd Floor, Sangkat Orussey I, Khan 7Makara, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orussey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orussey Hotel locates in the center of the city, just 5 minutes away walking distance to central market and shopping center. We offer 04 room categories standard, deluxe, junior suite and executive room with comfortable, cleanliness and reasonable room rate, nice and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orussey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing