We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good normal hotel in phnom penh” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orussey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orussey Hotel
Ranked #225 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good normal hotel in phnom penh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

The room itself is really nice based on what we paid for. location is great because it is only below the Mekong bus terminal which is convenient to us because we are travelling to siem reap and ho chi minh. The location wise is strange because you need to go through the carpark area before you will see the hotel. staff not so bad very quiet type of staff. restaurant expensive. will still recommend this hotel because it is cheap, and the room itself because it looks like a 3star modern hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rfgbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    19
    7
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
28
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

We were only passing through Phnom Penh and stayed at this hotel. The tuk tuk took us up the ramp to the hotel entrance - but later we had to walk up and down and its a bit of a drag. The hotel was clean and modern and we had a very large room with a window and they supplied a good breakfast in the morning. Large monsoon shower was fab. In fact we used the same hotel again when we came back to Phnom Penh five days later. The bustling market below was not a problem. We didnt hear it at all at night and it was really fun to eat there and enjoy the smells and sights of late night Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

It wasn't awful but it wasn't great. Pictures looked much better than it was in real life - dated, not well maintained and not super clean either, I just didn't feel comfortable.
Tuk tuk driver also made me pay extra to drive me up the multi-level carpark ramp. First he took me to the wrong hotel and then when he "realised" which one I meant asked for more money for the distance and more again for the ramp.
Back to the hotel: location was not great, even without the ramp. I arrived at night and went to find something to eat. Only time I have felt really unsafe in Cambodia and Vietnam and I often wander around at night by myself. Poorly lit, smelly, rubbish everywhere, and constantly stepping over it along the footpath. The whole place felt seedy.
Wouldn't recommend it for a long stay, fine if you can get the rooms really cheap I guess.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthAussieGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Nice staying here with helpful staff. Hotel location in small street that seem hardly to find for guests and driver. Room and beakfast good. Short itme in this city but nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h_samuel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Spent two nights there and enjoy with quality of room even it's a bit difficult to climb up to the top of Market to get into Hotel. Nice stay for me.

Room Tip: Deluxe is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sokhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed with a friend for 2nights. When we arrived we were told that they couldn't find our reservation. The manager was called and he explained that because it's only a 3 star hotel their Internet system isn't great so they don't always get reservations!-strange excuse we thought! Then it took them ages to book us in and when they did they tried to get us to sign to pay for 3nights not 2. Our room was nice but had no window and the shower was hot for less than a minute and then went cold-when we complained to reception about this they said it was normal?! The hotel is located above a market and the only way to street level is to walk round the spiral vehicle entrance-not very safe or practical! When we checked out after 2nights they tried again to get us to pay for 3nights even though it was the same staff that checked us in so surely they could work out we were only there 2nights?!! Basically we felt we paid more than this hotel deserved-wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petalia_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our tuk tuk driver could not find this hotel after we told him the name of it, tip- write the name of the hotel on a piece of paper and give it to the driver because there is another market with a similar sounding name. Once we did find it above the o,russey market, we were a little overwhelmed by the bustling none tourist oriented market outside. The hotel cannot be accessed by tuk tuk so you have to get dropped off at the car parking lot and than walk through the car park to the 5th floor. The hotel is mostly for wholesale buyers to stay in, so when we arrived they asked us what company we were with. The double room we stayed in for $19 usd did not have a window, the bed was comfortable and felt more like chain hotels in the U.S. The shower still had lots of hair from the last guest on the floor, but other than that the room was clean. The gym is awesome, the best we have seen in 4 months of traveling around SE Asia.

Room Tip: The standard double bed does not have a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jc4326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#62 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
V Hotel Phnom Penh
V Hotel Phnom Penh
#71 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.6 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#27 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#32 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orussey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orussey Hotel

Property: Orussey Hotel
Address: Orussey Market, 3rd Floor, Sangkat Orussey I, Khan 7Makara, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orussey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orussey Hotel locates in the center of the city, just 5 minutes away walking distance to central market and shopping center. We offer 04 room categories standard, deluxe, junior suite and executive room with comfortable, cleanliness and reasonable room rate, nice and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Orussey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing