We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, inexpensive, clean and recommended.”
Review of Salita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salita Hotel
Ranked #83 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, inexpensive, clean and recommended.”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A decent mid range hotel that wouldn't look out of place in Sydney or Singapore or anywhere. Staff were helpful and friendly, rooms were clean, breakfast was basic but good and the breakfast hostess was quite charming with her limited English and her discussions with us on the ubiquitous Hong Kong action movies on Cambodian TV.

Front desk staff spoke good English and were quite helpful. The TukTuk driver we found (he seems to have adopted the hotel as a home base) was Mr. Hy (+855 (0) 16515655) who is an honest man with a perpetual smile and a shiny, new TukTuk that we made good use of on several occasions. We gather Mr. Hy is new to the TukTuk industry as he had to ask directions frequently (including how to get to the international airport terminal) but he always got us to our destination and we really enjoyed his company. By the time you arrive he'll be an expert.

The only drawback to the hotel we found was a lack of a swimming pool. On the last day in Phnom Penh we moved to another hotel with a pool (and used it for 15 mins).

We would certainly recommend the Salita hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1963backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    116
    50
    13
    5
See reviews for
26
86
52
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel is situated well outside the usual tourist spots, which in my opinion is an advantage in terms of quitness. Touk touks can easily be found just outside the hotel for a reasonable fare(average of 3 USD). The area is secure , even at night times. The staff is very friendly and helpfull in helping to organize tours. Especially ms Amey at the reception is of a great help and patience.
The only negative point I have to mention is the very limited choice of breakfast,
(perhaps the price to pay for late sleeping).
Will certainly return on my next trip to PNH.

Room Tip: Take a VIP room on a higher floor to enjoy the view ans the quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANH1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I visited Phnom Penh in Nov 2011 for the first time and stayed at Salita Hotel for 10 days. I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and spacious rooms. I had a decent breakfast which was a buffet spread. The staff were great and had a good command of english and various other languages. Today is my fifth stay at Salita Hotel. I go for a jog in the mornings at the Olympic Stadium. Great Choice for all.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east and west at 5th storey gives you a wide view of colorful buildings in Phnom Penh C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDRABOSS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

For only $30US a night this is a great value hotel. It is new with very good size rooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is average, more asian than english but it is included in the price. There are places to eat and drink, as long as you like local.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gribbz
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

My husband and I had 4 nights at Salita and overall we had a pleasant comfortable stay. The room was of adequate size, we had good working aircon, a tv with a good selection of channels and complimentary small bottles of water and tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom was clean and amenities were provided. Fridge and mini bar are available.

While there was a fair amount of food on offer with the buffet breakfast my husband and I didn't enjoy the selection.

Wifi was available throughout the hotel and it provided a good connection during our stay.

 We did notice that our area had a few blackouts which seems to be common in Phnom Penh thankfully the hotel was equipped with a suitable generator and the blackouts did not affect our stay.

The location of the hotel was out of town. We paid $2 to get to the river front in a tuk tuk. We did walk back from the royal palace one day which took about 30-40 minutes. While it was interesting to walk  back to the hotel it was mostly local business, garages, homes and local street side restaurants. 

We did enjoy 50 Cent draught beers at the place just opposite the hotel. There was a restaurant that we ate at and enjoyed about a 10 min walk called Yumi. It is Japanese but pricey for Cambodian standards. 

There is a shopping mall with a good supermarket and cinema (showing english films with khmer subtitles - we didn't go but from memory it was about $3 per adult ticket) just the other side of Olympic stadium called city mall. It was $1 usd each way from the hotel in a tuk tuk but could be walked in about 15-20 mins. 

On our last night we ate at the hotel restaurant. It was an average meal not amazing but not bad either. A satisfactory option if you don't want local eats or to head to the river front.

The staff were friendly enough but we found it disappointing that they did not have a map (apart from the hotel card) or any information for sightseeing in Phnom Penh. These were readily available for free at restaurants and bars on the river front and made our stay easier. I mentioned on check out that this could be of benefit for the guests of their hotel. 

Overall a comfortable stay. If you don't mind being out of town then this place is for you. If you're more interested in the river front and sights around there then you might find this place just too far away.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gribbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We started our tour in Phnom Pehn and stayed at the Salita for 5 days. The staff were very friendly and helpful,the room was big and clean and the breakfast was OK.The only con is that it is not near the riverside we paid $3 for a tuk-tuk every time.Would recommend it

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mspitstop63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Rooms are clean, the hotel is new so thats a plus! The service was not great however, especially compared to what we have had in Cambodia. There is no western breakfast so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug1987HR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.4 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#47 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#63 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rose Emerald Hotel
Rose Emerald Hotel
#96 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relax Hotel
Relax Hotel
#219 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#44 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.5 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#77 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salita Hotel

Property: Salita Hotel
Address: #70, St European Union 143 | Boeung Kengkang II, Khan Chamkamorn, Phnom Penh 00855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salita Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Salita Hotel Phnom Penh, a brand new hotel that is designed to accommodate guests from all parts of the world. If you are looking for a comfortable home away from home, it's a reasonable choice. The 10-story hotel has 62 tasteful rooms with a panoramic city view. Salita Hotel is surrounded by many locals attraction such as: Historical Independent Monument, Olympic Stadium, S-21, and Russian Market; we are 5 mins from these locations. Start your day with complimentary coffee shop and a newspaper in our lobby with free Wi-Fi and join us at full breakfast buffet. Whether for business or pleasure, our friendly and proficient staff take pride in anticipating and satisfying your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing