We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the Same, PERFECT every Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonoma Oyster

Sonoma Oyster
Ranked #758 of 1,405 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Sonoma Oyster House is the Only Oyster Bar/Restaurant in Cambodia that boasts the most varieties of Oyster dishes on its menu. In cozy California-style ambiance, the capital’s premier Oyster House is open daily from 5:00PM to 11:00PM. Oyster lovers can enjoy half a dozen of freshest plump Rock Oysters for US$7.50. The restaurant’s signature Sonoma Oysters (US$8.50) are delicious fresh Oysters topped with Norwegian Smoked Salmon and sour crème they certainly hit the spot. Not to mention the mouth-watering BBQ Oysters with special house butter sauce, and Fresh Oysters served the Khmer style with deep fried red onion, spicy and sour sauce and tomtet vegetable.Our BBQ is open every evening and we don’t just have Oysters. Sonoma also offers fantastic imported Lobsters, Scallops, delicious fresh Norwegian Salmon fillet and smoked salmon for seafood lovers. We are also big on Steaks. Sonoma offers outstanding Australian Lamb Rack, Rib Eye, T-bone, Tenderloin Steaks as well as Pork Ribs and Chops.You don’t have to go to France or anywhere fancy in the world and have Oysters.
Lichtenstein, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just the Same, PERFECT every Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

There is something very special about the Sonama! It is always exactly the same! PERFECT. The food is very good quality, the service is very great and very friendly, and I am always impressed. It is by no means the cheapest meal in Phnom Penh (but no where near the most expensive either), but it is very good value for money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“THE best oysters in town and a great place for a cozy dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I am a very picky when it comes to oysters, I don't eat them unless they are very fresh and this means even avoiding them at the 5 star hotel buffet lines.

Sonoma's oysters is sublime and over the past 5-6 visits I have covered the menu pretty well, so here are my recommendations :

There are only 2 kinds of oysters here, Pacific and Rock oysters.

Most of the raw oysters are good, what stood out for me was trying it Khmer style which was served with a bunch of fragrant herbs and the most incredibly delicate fried shallots and some chili sauce.

For the cooked oysters, I liked the BBQ Oysters and the Kilpatrick as well as the cheese backed ones. The fried oysters was a little doughy and greasy and I dont recommend it.

Oysters are between USD8-9 ( If i remember right ) for a half-dozen.

Other recommend is the chowder, a rich creamy broth with plenty of shellfish, the BBQ pork ribs which is grilled on order and the clams.

What i did not enjoy was the carpet bag steak, the fish and chips and the pasta which is normal at best.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Micchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“One of our favourite places to eat in Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I live in Phnom Penh and always relish a visit to Sonoma. The oysters are exquisite since the owner imports them into thi country himself and takes great care in their preservation and presentation - and we love the barbecued oysters as well as those served fresh in the shell.

Every experience here has been wonderful - from a surprise birthday dinner to an intimate meal for two to a brief interlude at the bar with a glass of crisp white wine and a dozen oysters.

Other dishes on the menu are also good and we've enjoyed the fish and chips as well as the fish sandwich.

The service is delightful and we're always excited about a visit to Sonoma.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Grichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Expensive but Worth It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is a wonderful dining option in PP. The restaurant is small with a pleasant, very clean, modern looking interior. There are 3 tables downstairs and another couple of tables upstairs so the place can fill up pretty easily. However, the bar is very pleasant and a nice place to eat if you are alone or with one other person. The food is very good- I have eaten here three times. For the most part I stick with the oysters which are fresh, salty and prepared any way you like them. My dining companion on my last visit also had a sandwich which he said was quite nice. The oysters are served either raw, baked or fried. Each oyster comes 6 to a serving and it is nice to order a number of different plates, share them and compare the various offerings. The owner has been on premise each time I visit and he is a very nice but totally unobtrusive. The bar is fully stocked with a nice wine selection. In addition to being a good dinner destination, this is a great place to meet for an pre-dinner drink and have half a dozen oysters before moving off to another place for the main course.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hspfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Gave Phnom Penh Seafood one more chance - Big Mistake.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Again, sorry for the poor review, but after all the rave reviews of this place we figured we would probably enjoy Sonoma Oyster as fresh oysters are some of our favorite treats. Which we did try and enjoyed what we were served while we were there. It's a nice little friendly place that is relatively clean, but after our dinner of "fresh oysters" on the half-shell and we left to enjoy the rest of our evening, both of us had the worst stomach cramps you can possibly imagine. Two days we wasted while our bodies tried to purge whatever we were fed there and we can promise we will never, ever try any type of seafood in Cambodia AGAIN! Maybe the rest of the reviewers really enjoyed their meals, but we can only be honest and tell you what happened to us. Our advise; try at your own risk.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank Mr-Mrs_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonoma Oyster also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Sonoma Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing