We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Phnom Penh”
Review of YK Art House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YK Art House
Ranked #3 of 335 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I would definitely recommend to anyone to stay at You Khin House.
When you first open the guest-house's door you feel good, the staff is great, friendly, helpful. You know that your stay will be great !
The food of "the four ladies kitchen" is fresh and delicious. The rooms are perfect, clean and equipped with AC. Also, you have free wifi everywhere in the house.
I would even suggest to anybody who is interested in booking a room at You Khin House to contact the guesthouse directly, you will have a very fair and reasonable price. Plus you will make sure that the money you spent there goes to support the school next door.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 280 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Part of the profits from this hotel go to supporting a school for disadvantaged children, which is quite a noble cause.

There is a small pool in the courtyard of the hotel, which was a nice touch. We also liked the artwork in the common areas of the hotel.

We only stayed here for one night, but were not particularly impressed with this hotel. The room was quite basic and there was no tv. The free bottles of water provided were smaller than what we had received in most other hotels in South East Asia on our 6 week holiday. The breakfast included in the price was quite sparse. There was some fruit, coffee and jam and bread.

The ensuite bathroom was hidden away curtain so we didn't realise it was there at first. However it was quite a nice bathroom with a separate shower (other places we stayed at in Cambodia just had a showerhead over the toilet).

The location of the hotel was fine. It was down a side street but within easy walking distance of many restaurants and cafes.

The hotel appeared to have a mosquito issue, and there were a lot of signs around warning guests not to leave their doors open for too long or insects would get in.

The room was quite cheap, and for the money we paid we were quite satisfied with what we got. As we were only there for a night, it suited our purposes, but it was not a stand-out hotel in our opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Tucked off a busy street down a quiet shaded road, this beautiful guest house is a perfect place to recharge while in the city. They have a restaurant on site - the food is fresh and delicious - and there's a dipping pool for cooling off. One of the most beautiful common areas we saw on our trip. Art gallery and fair-trade shop included. This guesthouse is connected to a school for young children. Every dime you spend here helps the work. You can also take a quick tuk tuk or leisurely walk to the river bank.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucha68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

On arriving we felt so comfortable and at home at You Khin House. We knew immediately we'd made the best choice. Cambodia touched our hearts in so many ways on so many levels, and our stay here played a huge part in that. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean, and the entire house is tastefully decorated. The staff are friendly and always on hand to help, and their mango juices are second to none! What made You Khin House unique for us, however, was the delightful atmosphere created by the attached school, along with the love and commitment behind it. The story of this guesthouse is truly inspirational, and the positivity and warmth that is born from it is definitely not to be missed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building if you're not an early riser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We only stayed a night but found it to be a sanctuary within the busy city. It is down a side street that we were impressed how tidy and clean it was. The pool slopes so it is perfect for both our five year old and ourselves. We were catching a late plane the next day and we were allowed to store our baggage in reception while we went and explored the city and then came back for a swim. The tuk tuk driver that is attached to the guest house is knowledgeable about where things are and when we asked for him to suggest somewhere to have lunch he took us to one that suited our family perfectly. We would have liked to stay an extra night in Phnom Penh just to be able to stay here another night. If you buy a scarf, check the quality, ours looked good but once we got it home and unfolded it there were lots of extra threads. It is a very welcoming place

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karris21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed in You Khin House for four days. The rooms re very cozy and comfortable for the price. The benefits of the earning from the hotel goes to a school,which is more appreciative. The employees are warm and service minded. I wish they know a little more about the local places,which help tourists. The breakfast can be little more better. I was happy and comfortable during my stay. The owner of the hotel is very kind towards the guests. If I go again I prefer to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nallatambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

You Khin House was by far our nicest accomodation experience in Cambodia. Everyone working in the hotel and restaurant is very amiable and goes out of their way to make the guests' stay pleasant. The director Mrs Muoy Khin is a very impressive lady whose plight for the children of Cambodia is worth every support. The ladies who run the kitchen prepare some excellent food. The rooms are nicely furbished and decorated. Rooms facing the courtyard are nicer than the other ones. The house is an oasis in buzzling Phnom Penh. It is a bit of a walk or Tuktuk ride to the major sights.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vorkoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#84 of 278 in Phnom Penh
377 reviews
0.7 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#15 of 278 in Phnom Penh
1,231 reviews
1.1 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#10 of 278 in Phnom Penh
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#24 of 278 in Phnom Penh
1,687 reviews
0.4 mi away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 335 in Phnom Penh
594 reviews
0.5 mi away
House Boutique Eco Hotel
House Boutique Eco Hotel
#5 of 335 in Phnom Penh
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YK Art House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YK Art House

Address: 830 13a, Street | Sangkat Tonle Bassac, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 335 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $27 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YK Art House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YK Art House, your very special hideaway while traveling through Cambodia’s capital Phnom Penh. After a day exploring this bustling city you can retreat to an oasis of tranquility and friendliness . You’ll enjoy our secluded setting, clean accommodation and amenities such as swimming pool, art gallery, snooker, and bar. The rooms are decorated simply and practically, with a desk in each room. Your stay supports Seametrey Children's Village, located an hour away from Phnom Penh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your YK Art House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
You Khin House Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing