We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice in Phnom Phen!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lone Star Saloon Bar and Guest House
Ranked #38 of 331 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Lone star Saloon and guest house is a perfect choice for staying in Phnom Phen. Very spacious rooms! Perfect for both short and long stay's. The guesthouse in centrally located and has it's own tuk tuk service that gave us a very nice tour and brought us everywhere.

The guesthouse and bar is runned by a family that makes you feel home immediately.
The family makes you feel very welcome and there is a bar downstairs (lone star saloon) with very good food. There is no noise upstairs from the bar so don't worry.

Next time in phnom phen I have only one choice, Lone Star Saloon and guesthouse. I had one of the best stays ever here!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexander656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Lone Star Saloon Bar and Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 88 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

My stay was very brief, only 2 nights, Fri 18th and Sat 19th March.
I arrived Fri afternoon about 5pm and was greeted by Gregg, who offered me a welcome drink. Unfortunately I could not accept as I wanted to shower and get to "Chaktomuk Theater" on the riverside before 7pm ((60 or so performers from the Ministry of Culture and Fine Arts' Department of Performing Arts Fridays from 7pm, $10 for foreigners)) , and had drunk enough on the previous "St. Patrick's" night.
My room was massive and clean. There was always a friendly atmosphere in the bar, with Greg sitting at the front entrance corner end ((playing online poker?)), and chatting to various guys along the bar. The female counter staff were quick to serve or offer food menus.
The nightwatchman was friendly and didn't mind letting me in after 1 or 2am. In summary western standards with Khmer friendliness. Pity my stay was so brief!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stayed here twice. Once for 1 night to break up the journey between Siem Reap and Sihanoukville and then for my last 3 nights in Cambodia.

They have 4 rooms in total. Rooms 1 and 3 are twin bedded rooms, and rooms 2 and 4 are king beds. I was travelling with my friend, so we stayed in room 1 on the one night and then room 3 on the 3 night stay. Both rooms are huge with a separate entrance hall which has a fridge in it. There's a 32" TV on the wall and there are fans dotted around the rooms in case the aircon isn't enough for you.

Like the title says, the staff here are fantastic. They have a great sense of humour, are always willing to help and they really do make you feel like you're at home.

The food is very good and plentiful and the beer is nice and cold.

Be aware, a lot of tuk tuk drivers have no idea where street 23 is. The easiest tthing we found was to tell them to go to the Cyclo Hotel on street 172. It's on the corner of 172 and 23, so once you're there the Lone Star is just around the corner.

It's also very handy for the nightlife area called street 51 (or Rue Pasteur 51) as it's also known. There are several clubs here and plenty of bars to choose from. If you prefer to head up to the riverside, its a 10 minute walk or $2 by tuk tuk.

If you choose to stay here, I hope you enjoyed it as much as we did.

P.S. Give Navy and Danya a hug from me !

Room Tip: Room 1 is cooler in temperature than room 3 and on a lower floor.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Banksyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Only stayed one night on a stopover in Phnom Penn. booking was very easy on the Internet. Room was truly huge, a king and a double bed and still more room. Had a tiny balcony that we didn't use.
Was picked up by their Tuk Tuk driver at the bus station and taken to the airport the next day. Rates were very reasonable.
Enjoyed the bar and the bar food.
Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johncuk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I stayed at this centrally located and family-run guesthouse for two weeks recently and can safely say that you will not be disappointed with this as a choice of accommodation.

The email reservation was handled swiftly and upon arrival check in was lightning quick and I was immediately made to feel very welcome and sincerely so!

The large first-floor room ($25) was very well lit, with excellent AC and a couple of thoughtfully placed fans, plenty of power points, fully stocked and reasonably priced mini-bar, flat screen TV with in-built DVD, balcony, fast and solid wifi, and a writing desk.

The bathroom was a good size, with good water pressure. Perhaps the addition of some extra shelving for toiletries and towel racks wouldn't go amiss but all in all it was fine.

The food downstairs was good, mainly American and Asian food, it was good value and the portions were pretty big. They often have food specials on so make sure you check out the blackboard, I had a really good Reuben sandwich there one day. You can get room service too. The coffee was great with free refills, certainly not the usual weak, insipid stuff you normally find at Denny's.

The atmospheric bar downstairs has some really comfortable bar stools, a huge choice of drinks. It was well ventilated and the service was friendly and prompt.

The room was cleaned quickly but very thoroughly each morning, usually whilst I was downstairs eating my breakfast.

Trust me - you won't regret booking the Lone Star.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ro11ing_Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed at this small, family-run guesthouse for two weeks and must say I thought it offered fantastic value for money ($25 and $30 per night) in a superb location - a nice quiet street bang in the center of the tourist area of the city.

The room was big and bright and extremely well appointed (DVD, flatscreen TV, sofa, fully stocked fridge with big bottles of water and beer etc, solid and reliable wi-fi throughout the hotel, room service, desk, huge comfortable bed, balcony, fully working and cold A/C and most importantly they were well cleaned, quickly each day!

The bathroom was also bright and spacious and has good water pressure. An extra couple of shelves for placing toiletries on wouldn't go amiss, however.

The bar downstairs offers good American and Asian food (available for room-service delivery too) and the service is quick, excellent and sincerely friendly. They have very nice filter coffee with free refills all day long. The barstools are very comfortable indeed! You won't want to get up.

The laundry was very inexpensive and always smelled fresh, plus unlike most places in Cambodia they don't use bleach. I'm pretty sure the clothes were machine-washed.

The phone numbers are +855 12 577 860, email is INFO AT LoneStarCambodia DOT com

Be warned this place gets booked up quick! You will not regret choosing the Lone Star.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voyagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed at the Lone Star for 3 nights on our tour of Cambodia. Huge room, flat screen, air con and two fans and a large fridge.Bathroom was ok bit tired but everything worked. Even a balcony but not much of a view. Breakfast was great served at the bar but not included in the price. Good location - 5 mins walk to the river and the bars and restaurants and sights. Staff were great and very friendly always ready for a chat and even took us to the local nightclub for dancing one night! Greg the owner was very helpful and a nice guy to chat to. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Cyclo
Le Cyclo
#111 of 270 in Phnom Penh
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lovely Jubbly Place
Lovely Jubbly Place
#45 of 246 in Phnom Penh
198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Good Morning Guesthouse
Good Morning Guesthouse
#20 of 331 in Phnom Penh
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sundance Inn & Saloon
Sundance Inn & Saloon
#21 of 331 in Phnom Penh
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fancy Guest House
Fancy Guest House
#14 of 331 in Phnom Penh
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rachana Hostel
Rachana Hostel
#31 of 246 in Phnom Penh
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Star Saloon Bar and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Star Saloon Bar and Guest House

Address: 23 #30, St., Phnom Penh 76012, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $23 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run American Bar/Grill and Guest House that specializes in southern cooking. We are primarily an expat bar and can offer expert advice to help you with your stay in Cambodia. We can arrange transport to and from the airport and can arrange tickets/travel to other parts of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lone Star Saloon Bar and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Star Saloon Bar And Guest House Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing