We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not excellent”
Review of The Vegetarian

The Vegetarian
Ranked #126 of 1,468 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: Cambodian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Breezy, comfortable and friendly restaurant serving wholesome Asian and Western cuisine with all natural, healthy, and fresh vegetarian ingredients. The price range is from US$1.50-$4.00. Moved from Street 200 in Aug 2012 and have merged with The Treez Recipe which is now also The Vegetarian. Price: Inexpensive Vegan-friendly, Organic, Asian, Western, Juice bar, Fast food, Take-out
Nuremberg
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok, but not excellent”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

One of our dishes was very good, the other one rather average. The servant was quite unfriendly... but four stars because of the cheap prices.

Helpful?
1 Thank jensbe1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    88
    48
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Vegetarian food”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

There aren't many all vegetarian restaurants in Phnom Penh, so we were thrilled that our hotel recommended this one. We had pan-asian dishes.....from China, to Malaysia to Cambodian and they were all tasty. The restaurant is on a reasonably quiet side street. We ate outside in a comfortable but simple setting. While the restaurant doesn't serve alcohol, they did have good fruit drinks and teas. Everything we ate was of high quality and the owners and help staff were helpful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Keep coming back”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Family and I keep coming back. Clean, fresh food preparation. Staff nice and helpful. We really like the vegetarian pho. Some other dishes could be a little tastier but overall a very nice meal and a nice setting.

Helpful?
Thank charles v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Really good food, great setting”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I've only been here once so far, but will definitely eat here again. The prices are excellent! The fresh mixed fruit juices taste great! There were four of us at dinner & we were completely satisfied with our meals. Nice portion sizes, fresh & good flavors. The setting is very pretty - great patio! I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 101travelerNo_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent Khmer Soup and curry!!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We went after visiting Royal Palace but got the message outside that it was closed and would open after 10:30 AM. So we looked at the Genocide Museum and went back again, but boy!! We ate one of the best breakfast cum lunch out there in Phnom Penh!!

We ate along with our local friend and ordered for Khmer Curry with rice, 3 different type of fresh fruit juices (orange juice was the best) and Veg Soup with soya and other vegetables.

Soup was delicious and so was their curry. Liked their mustard sauce a lot which they later told is the one which is easily available in most supermarkets, but we could not find it anywhere (bad luck!!).

Their portions were good and they had a nice fresh feel to all their dishes. Liked their soup a lot!! But yeah, go only if you like vegetarian food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank muditkag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vegetarian also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to The Vegetarian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing