We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Comfortable and close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden House International
Ranked #68 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean Comfortable and close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights. The manager and staff were very hospitable.
Breakfast was limited but around the corner were many restaurants to please even the fussiest eater.
We had a front facing room but noise was not a problem and I consider myself to be an extremely light sleeper. Whilst this place ticked all the boxes we probably would not stay here again as we found a bigger room nearby which was also cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    75
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
44
61
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
177 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

sure the location (not in a posh area) is convenient. You are in the midst of nightlife, average to fine dining restaurants,the central market, a mall and even a local wet market - phsar kendal which is active during the morning . the vendors sell all kitchen requirements and a walk through this market gives some insight into the khmer food range.

the staff are hard working and well motivated and despite working long hours are always ready to attend to guest needs.

the breakfast is freshly prepared according to one of the three options, with minor variations to suit people with special needs ( not medical) like vegetarian. Not luxurious but a good starter with freshly squeezed orange juice, tea or coffee, eggs to order and french bread of toast.

at first sight the guests get the impression that the building is not elderly or invalid friendly but there is an access to the lift through the ground floor which is currently being used as a garage.
guests with heavy luggae may use this access to the lobby and to their rooms from there.the normal access to the lobby area is via a flight of steps which are definitely challenging for the elderly to climb.

there are many other similar kind of accommodation properties around this place but this hotel is way above in terms of cleanliness and resonse to client need.

good wi-fi connection (including the rooms) is an additional asset,

good for families.

my only wish is that the bathroom be fitted with a shower curtain as the whole floor tends to get wet while a person is having the shower and locate the towel rack near to the shower area.

Room Tip: request for a room away from the roadside as nightlife activities go on into early hours of morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajamanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Perfect location for nightlife and restaurants, this place is great - clean, friendly staff, free pickup and dropoff to airport. They didn't do Khmer breakfast though, only Western, so I found myself heading out. There are some great local restaurants, and the night markets are just around the corner. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toothfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel recently : comfortable room with all amenities and a spacious bathroom with tub. In-room safety box and desk. Helpful staff. Breakfast was included in the price and it was delicious. The hotel is situated in a busy area (bars, pubs and restaurants) near the riverside : an excellent location. There is a booking service (we booked our bus to Ho Chi Minh City there which was convenient as the bus company picked us up at the hotel). Excellent price/value! It was a nice experience and I recommend the place to everybody.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights on way to sihanoukville . And we are going stay back on the way back as well. Excellent is all I can say great service great location would defo recommend. Staff are very friendly, rooms are really good and modern. The breakfast is also really good there are bars next door and opposite the hotel as well. Really a steal at $30 a night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was able to stay here again for 2 days ,Sept 19 an 20. The location is excellent to all tourist possibilities. I found it to be clean both times and the front desk very helpful. I was able to get a room for 30 U.S a night. Breakfast included. Bed was comfortable and everything in the room worked. properly Would recommend if you are single traveler and want a decent place , decent price and right in the middle of the bar and night life. One block to the river promenade.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ron r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've been staying here every trip over the last several years. Always a clean quiet room. Friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast. Fast internet. Being right on Riverside, plenty of food, attractions and nightlife. Moto rental just around the corner. Moto parking in their basement.

Room Tip: Just decide if you need a window in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachump2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#133 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#100 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#62 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#79 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#27 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden House International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden House International

Property: Golden House International
Address: Building 23-25 St.136, Phsar Kandal 1, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#25 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden House International 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden House International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden House International Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing