We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average value, average room”
Review of Khmer City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khmer City Hotel
Ranked #200 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Decent value here... average room.Not too clean... toilet had not been and pretty dusty overall. Shower not too clean. Location was great, pretty easy walk to bus drop, mall, and city center attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thGrassyKnoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Khmer City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 19 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

As a solo, retired, female traveller, I found the Khmer City Hotel good value for the money. I always felt safe in my room and walking in the neighbourhood. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the hotel very convenient to Central Market, Sorya Shopping Mall, Street 51 restaurants and is a 15 minute walk to the Riverside and Street 172 restaurants. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are quieter - mine was half-way back and I slept well. Choose a room with...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlj332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I am also the hotel owner, so i understand about the hotel very well. The room quality is reasonable with the price, Wifi is very slow, the owner's face is not welcome and seem not to remember us at all even though we stay there a couple of time. There are many thing need to improved in term of cleanliness and services.
the best thing about this hotel is quiet and look safer than another hotel around soriya shopping centre.

Room Tip: Stay in room on the left side of the build has window.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landingpoint h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Location good. Furthermore, a bit dissepointed. Rooms not so clean. Staff doesn.t know how to smile, especialy the owner. He only smokes all day in the lobby. Noisy, in the evening in the hall.
My female friends did not feel safe at all due the strange sounds at night time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 17Siddhartha11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We booked 2 rooms because we are 5 people. We booked a double and a triple room. The double room was a disaster. It had no window, the bathroom was dirty, no toilet paper and worst of all, it smelt like someone had just finished smoking a pack of cigarettes in the room. When we complained, they tried to resolve the problem by spraying some air freshener which only worsened the smell. When we asked for another room they said we had to pay an extra 5$ because the room available was more expensive. We had to say we would leave for another hotel if they didn't solve the problem nicely. Only then did they give us another room without extra charge.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanessa1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Smallish room -many of them giving on a very busy avenue. Convenient when you have to catch an early bus at the station around the main market but the neighborhood is far from enticing. Could be interesting on Sateurday evening when upper-middle class young Cambodians swarm the shopping mall nearby. Nothing to call home about at that location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFLR187198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed on this hotel Aug 11-13. We stayed on the 3rd floor on their basic room. The room is perfectly clean.It has an en suite shower and bathroom plus an LCD tv with cable tv.The room is very cheap for $15/per night.The receptionist during the morning and evening shift were both extremely helpful and speak good English.They even helped us arrange for the tuk-tuk when we asked for the city tour for $20 whole day (5persons!). The location is perfect for it is walking distance to Sorya Mall which has everything you need. Very near as well to the river quay which is one of Phnom Pehn's main tourist belt.

The only negative issue is that the lobby on the 3rd floor smells like cigarette.There is also no food on their cafeteria most of the time. The reading materials on the lobby were not properly kept as well.

For $15 a night for two, this a very good value! Dorm types usually cost around $7-10 a night here, and you a with total strangers. Location and attitude of the staffs are also a plus! I would definitely go back again for my next visit!

Ove

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmetoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
3.1 mi away
Homeland Guesthouse
Homeland Guesthouse
#76 of 333 in Phnom Penh
134 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,509 reviews
3.7 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#35 of 272 in Phnom Penh
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
3.5 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#17 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,171 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#74 of 272 in Phnom Penh
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khmer City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khmer City Hotel

Address: 154 #90h, Street | Dekcho Damdin, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $15 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Khmer City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khmer City Hotel is a 40-room hotel located in the historical centre of Phnom Penh, sitting between the beautifully restored art-deco central market, the busy riverfront with its trendy restaurants and bars, and the must-visit Royal Palace.Our rooms are well equipped with all the necessities for a comfortable stay. All rooms have private bathrooms with in-room WI-FI, satellite TV with a comprehensive choice of international channels, air-conditioning etc.We strive on keeping our rooms very clean as we know more than anyone that this is critical for a nice stay.All rooms are fully equipped for your comfort:- Private bathroom with instant hot shower- Air-conditioning- Complimentary in-room WI-FI- Satellite LCD TV with comprehensive international and local channels (HBO, BBC, Star World, AXN…)- Comfortable large mattress- Complimentary daily bottle of water- Refrigerator- Elevator to all floors. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing