We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not brilliant but what did i expect for £6 a night!”
Review of Kha Vi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kha Vi Guest House
Ranked #192 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here on our first ever night in Cambodia. The tuk tuk dropped us off and ushered us in to what we thought was pretty dam good for £6 a night..lovely room and then after settling down we went to find the bar and there was a hot tub there...fantastic we thought, until the staff came to find us and we realized we had booked into the wrong hotel ha ha ha!! We were next door at the kha vi. We had booked into no 9 hotel accidentally, which incidentally is lovely!! So off we went to be bitterly dissapointed with the kha vi and much amusement to us and everyone else doh! Anyway we were ushered across the road to another building and our room, which was a bit old and dirty, but there you go for £6. It was ok for what we wanted to do whilst in phenom, breakfast was ok, and we booked a bus to siem reap with them too, which was fine. I would recommend staying at no 9 next door though or closer to the riverfront! You're quite close to the grand palace and river front if you like walking and plenty of tuk drivers outside offering their services and whatever else you might need ha ha!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Kha Vi Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 107 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We initially booked into the Lazy Gecko down the road for a fan room for $10 a night. We had to move after the first night because there was no ventilation in the room and there was lots of building going on outside. Just a small way down the road we booked in to Kha Vi and got an air-con room for $12. The room was clean and was in a great location. It was a good size and we also had wifi in the room which was nice. The staff we also very nice and we'd definitely stay here again if we ever came back to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geegCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is the worst guesthouse I have ever stayed at. The sheets were dirty and ripped, the television did not work, the sink did not have running water, shower tap was broken and drain was clogged. There was urine on the toilet seat when we arrived and the room was never cleaned. Terrible rooms, horrible service. There are plenty of quality guesthouses at this price range - I will never consider this guesthouse again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzAbroad1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

1st night we stayed in a 'cheap'/fan room for $10 - couldn't even breathe it was sooo moldy (note: room is much smaller than pictured on Agoda) & there were creepy bugs on the wall.
We were forced (due to outside circumstance) to stay one more night. We got a bigger room across the street for $15 - still bug infested & dirty, but with a/c & less moldy.
Much better guesthouses for the same price in Phnom Penh that are closer to the action anyway - ex: Golden Noura Villa

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

i rate it as average in general of overall feeling of the hostel. actually, i would rate my feeling on my first room as `good, happy, satisfied', if not excellent, for its quiet privacy, cleanliness, well-maintenance, most importantly, the comfortable feeling that i could sleep with the light off w/o fear, despite of its narrow size & situated at a high level that takes 40 stair-steps. The wifi was good & quite fast for the first 2 nights. the last night I shift to another bigger room with a nice purple curtain at a lower level, but i regretted it b'coz the bathroom was dirtier & it was much more noisier.sleep quality wasn't good in this new room.
i hope the housekeeper would change the floor mat b'coz i didnt dare to dry my feet on the dark mat.
staffs are decently nice & helpful.But girls, be aware when u r approached by someone there who suggested u to go for a shooting games on a hill, alone, with him (alone) bringing u there. it could be just merely commercial, but...just wanna rise up a concern here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indcpps7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Kha Vi with a little bit of trepidation as we'd read some unfavourable reviews on Tripadvisor. When we arrived however, we were checked in politely and efficiently by the English speaking reception staff and shown to our room. This was across the street in another building and they staff helped lug our heavy bags into the room.

The room was large with 2 3/4 sized beds, a small TV, aircon and a fan. The aircon was the best we've had so far on our travels through SE Asia and it could be left on when we went out which is unusual.

We were worried being on the ground floor would be quite loud but, apart from an obnoxious guest shouting at the night porter at around 7am, we slept very well and were undisturbed by any comings or goings. There were building works going on on both sides of the hotel but they weren't all that loud.

Kha Vi is located about 3 minutes walk to the Royal Palace and there is a park at one end of 258 street and the river at the other end. There are plenty of tuk-tuks waiting outside and all of the drivers are friendly and quick to joke with you when you start seeing them regularly.

We also ate breakfast at the hotel on one morning and the food was tasty and similarly priced to other restaurants on the road (a little bit more expensive than other areas).

We have booked a morning bus to Kratie through the hotel and we got a fair price.

Overall, our stay at Kha Vi hotel has been excellent and we would recommend the hotel to other travellers in a heartbeat.



  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoungSmudger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

It's a nice guesthouse,in a little street full of guesthouse and massage spa.
The room wasn't so big and the air conditioner didn't work proply but very cheap.
It's near the nightlife's center (10 minuts by walk) but near the guesthouse everything is closed late at night.
Good if you don't want to spend so much,have a good trip ;-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#25 of 272 in Phnom Penh
746 reviews
0.0 mi away
River Home Boutique Hotel
River Home Boutique Hotel
#87 of 272 in Phnom Penh
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen Grand Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
KhaVi Villa
KhaVi Villa
#14 of 333 in Phnom Penh
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Same Same Backpacker
Same Same Backpacker
#48 of 246 in Phnom Penh
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lazy Gecko Guesthouse
Lazy Gecko Guesthouse
#18 of 333 in Phnom Penh
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kha Vi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kha Vi Guest House

Address: 7DD1 258 Street, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly Sweet Home Guest House)
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $10 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kha Vi Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Kha Vi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Home Guest House Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing