We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
Ranked #48 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Eureka villas is a decent place.The major plus point is its location- close to the Royal palace, museum and a short walk to the River side area. We stayed here for 4 nights.Our room, on the ground floor (close to the reception) was huge and clean but not really cosy.Breakfast was very ordinary and nothing to rave about.The tuk-tuk drivers who wait outside the hotel charge quite a bit for even a short distance (2-3 USD for less than 5 minute ride ). That's ridiculuous! But if you haggle outside with other tuk tuk drivers, they agree for 1$ usually
So, the manager was not really helpful with his advice on taking the tuk tuks from outside the hotel. He said that a trip to Killing fields and S-21 Prison would cost us 15$ USD. We then enquired with another tuk tuk guy & he was more than willing to take us to both places for 10$(I'm sure we would have gotten it even for 8$).When we asked the manager about the mekong cruise,he said that the 1 hour evening cruise would be the best option and its very beautiful as the sun sets right behind the palace. But let me warn you, its not the most scenic cruise if you have been on others. The Mekong waters are murky and the area around the Sisowath Quay is not exactly pretty/calm since there is a lot of construction happening all around and we saw no pretty sunset...
They could do better!

Room Tip: The ground floor room is very close to the Dining area and reception. We heard the fax m/c ringing l...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgtraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eurekavillas, Owner at Eureka Villas Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Hi

Thanks for your feedback on your stay at Eureka Villas, and sincere apologies that it was not as enjoyable as you hoped.

The tuk tuk drivers out the front of the hotel are not employed by us, however are endorsed by us to our guests at fixed rates which are fair for the guest and the driver. We endorse these drivers because they are trustworthy, speak reasonably good english, do not take commissions and are safe drivers, which we guarantee. There are a lot of tuk tuk in Phnom Penh that will drive for cheaper rates, but most of them will try and take you to places were they receive commissions the subsidise the low fare. The staff and management of Eureka Villas do not receive any commissions for travel bookings and arrangements, and we aim for our guests to enjoy there time in Phnom Penh, knowing they are safe and being looked after.

The Meekong Cruise is something that unfortunately is out of our control, we have many guests that enjoy it, and there is often a very beautiful sunset over the city.

Please feel free to contact me directly at paul@eurekavillas.com if you would like to provide further feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
There are newer reviews for Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 455 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

We are staying here 2 nights before we head off to Vietnam. Great pool area, huge rooms which are airconditioned and very clean and comfortable. Close to the royal palace. Food was great - we ate here as we arrived very sick from a bad meal in Siem Reap so it was nice to have some decent western food!

Room Tip: Room 13 - out of the way and just up the stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Our family stayed here the last night of our time in Cambodia. We were returning from the beach, which is always hard to do! But the pool was beautiful and my friend that I had made arrangements to meet at the hotel, beat me to there. They were very hospitable and let my friends take a dip in the pool while waiting for me! I thought that was really nice.

The hotel itself was beautiful and the day I was there completely packed with fire fighters. The staff was incredibly friendly and the rooms were clean and well kept. I think we enjoyed the most about the hotel was the staff itself, everyone was warm and kind and I was also happy as another reviewer stated, that they were well paid and treated properly.
I would highly recommend and I will probably book a family suite when we go back for our holiday next year. oh I have 4 kids and we all fit into a family suite. (small children)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanDance2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

wonderfully clean, lovely pool, staff and brekkie...HIGHLY recommend this place...

Room Tip: all rooms are great
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SupaPrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We only spent 2 days and nights and it was great a little oasis. The manager shivorn (sorry if spelt wrong) was very helpful and accommodating and always willing to offer advice and organize tuk tuks. Would recommend if you want to relax in a central location with great staff and a great atmosphere

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzLordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

In February, my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Eureka Villas. The owner has done a great job of establishing a fine hotel with great service, cleanliness and a fun pool with an attached bar. We were on a dental mission to serve children throughout the country and uses the hotel as a home base. It was so relaxing to rest by the pool after a hard day. The breakfasts were terrific too. I can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night when travelling from Siem Reap to Kep in order to break the journey. It was a lovely guesthouse with the most wonderful bedroom which was based overlooking the pool and with a huge balcony, complete with garden furniture etc, this was their superior suite and our boys had a clean twin room downstairs, both with tvs, DVDs etc. breakfast was ample and the owner organised a taxi for our onward trip. Overall a great little guesthouse.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Sarahandthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#35 of 272 in Phnom Penh
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saravoan Royal Palace Hotel
Saravoan Royal Palace Hotel
#26 of 272 in Phnom Penh
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#17 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,171 reviews
0.5 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 272 in Phnom Penh
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#16 of 272 in Phnom Penh
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eureka Villas Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eureka Villas Phnom Penh

Address: 24 Street 184 | (Behind the Royal Palace), Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#23 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#23 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $28 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eureka Villas Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh is a boutique hotel, restaurant, and pool bar catering for all your holiday and business needs in Cambodia. Our friendly staff, quality rooms, and selection of additional specialist services make Eureka Villas the perfect place to relax and enjoy your time in Phnom Penh. Eureka Villas is located right in the heart of Phnom Penh, providing easy access to all the sights and attractions the city has to offer. Less than a five minute walk to the Royal Palace, National Museum, and the popular riverside dining and entertainment precinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eureka Villas Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing