We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but somewhat overhyped...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
Ranked #47 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2011

As my first review was only posted in half, i will try to repost the whole review:

Well, i had really high hopes for Eureka Villas, not only based on the
reviews at the Tripadvisor site, but also on other websites. Maybe my
expectations were to high, but i think its not only that. Having stayed in
a few hotels in my 4 weeks in Asia, which were sometimes much cheaper, i
felt this place was missing a lot, that i had in these other hotels. I
can't really single out a point, where it is really falling apart, as there
is nothing which is really bad. It is just that you have seen it all
elsewhere and often much better.

Let's do a thorough analysis.

The location of the hotel is not bad. It is located behind the royal
palace, not far from the national museum and the riverfront. You can easily
walk to the riverfront and the myriads of restaurants.

The hotel is located on a noisy street. This is nothing special in Phnom
Penh, as almost every place i have visited in Phnom Penh was noisy. I guess
you can't do much about it, if you don't want to be located away from
everything. I have read a lot of reviews which complain about construction
work going on nearby. Well, i didn't notice. I noticed all kind of noise,
but no construction noise (or i wasn't able to single it out). I heard a
lot of loud music, from across the street, from the bar below me (hotel
bar) and street noise, which kinda mixed together to an undistinguishable
mix of noise. Well, thats Phnom Penh anyway... But i'm still puzzled why
the bar must play loud music, when another place across the street is
already playing music so loud, that you can easily listen to this music.

You can already see from my text that i had a room directly above the bar.
There are some rooms more behind, which may be quieter. I must add that my
room itself was not so noisy, but it had a large terrace, where you can (in
theory) sit and relax. Of course with all the noise there was no way that
somebody could relax in that environment. My terrace directly overlook the
pool, which is located in front of the bar and which is ice cold. I really
mean it. After 5 minutes i left the pool and never really tried it again
for more than 2 minutes. I enjoyed the pools at my other hotels sometimes
for like an hour, but here...no way. The poolside was also very crowded
every time i had a look. Not much room and quietness here.

As i mentioned the bar, i can also mention the food. While not being cheap,
it was not much more expensive than at the riverfront and well...i liked
it. The portions were a bit on the small side, but i liked the quality.
Though it was not outstanding (try this Vietnamese restaurant "Mangnolia"
for an outstanding Luc Lac). The breakfast on the other hand was really
medicore, with only some toast to eat and eggs for order. Don't expect
asian breakfast to be on the menu, though they will do it on request (i
don't really know if they charged me for that, but i will give them the
benefit of doubt).

Well, let's get to my favorite part of a review: The room. I should have
seen from the pictures at the booking website, that the room furnishing
will not be compatible with what i normally would call a very nice hotel
room. Well, the room decor looks somehow a bit lost between different
styles, which don't really fit together and it looks a bit if they had some
furniture as left over and tried to fit it with some other furnishings they
could buy for a good price somewhere else. I never had the feeling to be in
a room with high quality amenities, but rather in a not so expensive
guesthouse. But, the biggest complaint i have with the room is that i had
booked a SUITE, which was advertised as being 42 sqm big with a terrace.
Well, nobody told me that my terrace would be much bigger than my room. I
had a big terrace, which had only two chairs (not really comfortable
chairs) to sit down and not even a bench for sunbathing. How bad is this ?
How can you not use this terrace more ? The room on the other hand was
quite cramped and not like suite at all. The bathroom on the other hand was
decent in size and looking much better and more modern than the room
itself. While the the cleanliness of the room was overall satisfying, they
didn't really clean the bathroom on the third day of my stay or maybe they
cleaned it in a hurry, but i found a lot soap leftovers where i put the
soap dispensers and nobody seemed to care about cleaning it. Well, you
could hardly not see this big mess, that i accidentally left.

I was also missing some amenities that i had in other hotels of the same
pricing, like a bathrobe, slippers and even a second glass for the
toothbrushes, as i had booked a double room.

On the positive side, i must say i had not a bad sleep. While the matress
made not a really premium impression on me (spring matress ?), it was comfortable enough for a

good sleep, though it was a bit to short for my liking. So if you like huge beds, this is not

for you.
I also didn't like the curtains to much, as they weren't able to keep the light out in the

morning. If you are a light sleeper, you should also consider that.

The last point i would like to mention is the service from the staff, as some reviews rave

about the service. I must say that all people are met are friendly and helpful if you ask them

for any help. But, i never felt really looked after. This may only be my impression, but i

never had the feeling that i recieved some pro-active service. It was more a reaction to my

needs, when i told them about it. It started when i arrived, that nobody was really caring

about it. It was more like: "Ohh, you are here. Good !", but nothing of an outstanding warm

welcome, which i recieved in other places. And while all people were nice and often up for a

chat, i seldom had the feeling of an really professional service all arround. It was more like

a guesthouse atmosphere, were everybody is friendly and relaxed, but not overly service

orientated. Well, this might be only my impression, but sometimes its good to hear a different

opinion, i guess. Maybe i just had a bad start, when i was assured by mail that i can have a

pick up by tuk tuk arranged, but when i called like 5 hours before my arrival i was told that i

should just pick up a Tuk Tuk at the bus station, when i arrive, as it is easier for the hotel

than arranging a driver which has to wait for me(well, if you hat haggling, you will probably

like that attidude from the hotel). This was okay with me (apart from the excessive haggling

with the drivers), but i wonder why other hotels can do this and this one was not able to or

just didn't want to have the trouble.

All in all the hotel is decent, if you view it as a guesthouse. But for that it was to

expensive for my liking, even considering the not to bad location. I guess you can find better

for the same money in Phnom Penh. But if you like to live in a relaxed, though a bit noisy

place, in a somewhat Guesthouse-like atmosphere and place, you'll probably like it here. If you

look for an exlusive boutique hotel with high class rooms and high class service, look somewhere else...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3d-razor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
There are newer reviews for Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 455 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2011

Ideally located small hotel, in the heart of Phnom Penh, right behind the Royal Palace. Service was very good and the bar makes some very strong cocktails! Be sure to ask for the services of Mr Lim the tuk-tuk driver. He speaks exceptionally good english, very knowledgeable regarding not only Phnom Penh but world affairs in general. Please be sure to ask for him if you require going to the Royal Palace but also to visit S21 & The Killing Fields, he certainly helped broaden our knowledge & understanding of Cambodia.
The pool area whilst small, is perfectly adequate for a quick dip after a day of visiting various sites in and around Phnom Penh. The hotel booked us our bus tickets from the hotel, travelling back to Saigon, Viet Nam aboard the Mekong Express bus, definitely to be recommended!

Room Tip: we had a triple room on the ground floor- absolutely fine
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaineandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The Eureka is close to the major points of interest and so walking around is an option from the hotel and of course the tuk tuks are everywhere when you need them. The rooms are basic and functional, the deluxe are spacious enough and wifi works well. Breakfast offers some variety and is adequate. From a cost standpoint the hotel is reasonable. On a negative note the hotel is noisy, when we stayed there was building going on nearby and the sound a circular saws when on until around 22.00 hrs and beside that there was the sound of bars too, our sleep wasn't affected though it takes away from feeling relaxed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eurekavillas, Owner at Eureka Villas Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Hi David L

Thanks for your review of Eureka Villas. My sincere apologies for the noise from the construction site next door. The site is a new hotel which is due to open within the next week, and despite our pleas have been working long hours to meet their deadline. I am happy to say that the construction is finished and they are putting the final touches on now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Nice small hotel with a very good location although not many restaurants in the neighborhood. You need to walk some blocks. comparing to other hotels such as Blue Lime for instance it is rather expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoine761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eurekavillas, Owner at Eureka Villas Phnom Penh, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Hi Antoine 761

Thank you very much for your review of Eureka Villas, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Prices of hotels in Phnom Penh are vary greatly depending on location and facilities. Eureka Villas and Blue Lime prices are very similar for quality Boutique Hotels in this area. Eureka Villas has a policy of having fixed nightly rates for all room types regardless of where people book to ensure all guests get the same value from their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

From the moment I contacted Paul at Eureka Villas, enquiring about availability and costings for accommodation for a school trip, I had nothing but great service and assistance.
The place is lovely, the staff are tremendous and nothing was ever a problem, no matter what our requests (most very last minute!) were. Whether it be doing 2 very early sittings for breakfast, helping order tuk tuks, making bookings at a number of restaurants or organizing a birthday BBQ for one of our students...
Everyone was super helpful and the local staff had very good English.
The Villas are very convenient and walking distance to many of the main tourist attractions.

I would highly recommend staying here any time! We'll be back again next year for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Eureka Villas is a hidden gem. The staff is excellent and extremely accommodating for special requests. The hotel is tucked away in the Central Market area near a number of sights and is just a 5-10 minute walk from the riverside. The breakfast is great and they don't skimp on eggs or bacon. The only downside is that the downstairs rooms are close to the kitchen and it tends to get noisy in the evening as the walls are not well insulated. It's still great value for the money.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We changed our hotel in Phnom Penh at the last minute, wanting to have the use of a pool. We were glad we chose Eureka Villas. The place is right next door to the Royal Palace and a pleasant 5-10 minute stroll from the river-front. Behind the manned gates is a small shaded pool area (with amply-sized pool) and in-house restaurant where we ate once - delicious. There is a communal iPad, small bar, and the minibar is also reasonably priced. The room was very clean, modern feel, modern bathroom (slightly bodged plumbing). The extensive menu appeals to Anglo-Saxon tastes but plenty of Asian options. Not very low price but good quality. Breakfast was on the smaller size portion-wise, but we never choose based on breakfast anyway. This is a classy little hotel in a great location and I doubt you can get the same for this price in many other places in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Saravoan Royal Palace Hotel
Saravoan Royal Palace Hotel
#28 of 270 in Phnom Penh
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 270 in Phnom Penh
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 270 in Phnom Penh
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#17 of 270 in Phnom Penh
864 reviews
0.5 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eureka Villas Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eureka Villas Phnom Penh

Address: 24 Street 184 | (Behind the Royal Palace), Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#22 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#23 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $28 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eureka Villas Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh is a boutique hotel, restaurant, and pool bar catering for all your holiday and business needs in Cambodia. Our friendly staff, quality rooms, and selection of additional specialist services make Eureka Villas the perfect place to relax and enjoy your time in Phnom Penh. Eureka Villas is located right in the heart of Phnom Penh, providing easy access to all the sights and attractions the city has to offer. Less than a five minute walk to the Royal Palace, National Museum, and the popular riverside dining and entertainment precinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Eureka Villas Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing