We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad they can't fool me...”
Review of Warung Bali

Warung Bali
Ranked #68 of 1,468 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
Description: halal muslim foods in Cambodia
Restaurant details
Description: halal muslim foods in Cambodia
Bromma, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sad they can't fool me...”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Had my brunch @ Warung Bali and I am quiet disappointed. I ordered Ayam Goreng Bumbu Bali (Bali-style marinated fried chicken) and what did I get? A fried chicken soak in sweet chili sauce mixed with crushed ground roasted peanuts. No side condiments like cucumber or a piece of lettuce leaf, at all. Will never return back to this place for sure.

Atmosphere... they gotta do something about it, It felt so old, dark and stuffy.

Service wise... gotta call the staff twice to order my food and twice again to pay my bill.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AsianEDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    65
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Valuable food. Palatable prices.”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Sweaty tourists and jaded expats alike tend to lower their expectations when budget dining in Cambodia. Don't make that mistake here. The menu is not bloated with American favorites, khmer usuals or the seemingly always available and never good Carbonara (on 9 of 10 menus here in the Kingdom.) No, it is focused, and god bless them, thoughtful!

Valuable food. Palatable prices.

Go forth and Warung Bali.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haaraloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Indonesian food”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Balado ikan is the best. The portion size could be a bit bigger, if they can serve a bit more, it would be perfect. It was located just a 5 minute walk from my hotel.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“feel at home!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

always visit this restaurant whenever i am in phnom penh for my country food. yeah! for an indonesian living in cambodia, warung bali is the answer for my crave of indonesian food.

tempe is what makes me keep coming back as i cannot find tempe in siem reap, where i live. but sure, while here, i always spoil myself with lots of food. i particularly like the balado ikan (fish in spicy sambal), fried tempe (oh yeah!), gado-gado and tahu telur.

feel at home!

oh have i mentioned that price is cheap?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nananias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Blooming amazing, I have been raving about it since we went!!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

I love this place it is ridiculously cheap and sooo tasty, almost whatever you buy. I think it is a true locals place as it is not ostentatiously decorated and quite hard to spot but definitely worth looking for. If you re walking in front of the palace parralel to the river it is left. I reallllyyy recommend this !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rossssiiiieeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Bali also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Warung Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing